We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - quiet rooms even at New Year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Metro YHA
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hostel is good value with friendly staff, a roof terrace with stunning views over the city, use of a a barbecue, friendly informative staff, free sun screen on the front desk, spotless rooms and comfortable beds.

Despite staying at the hostel over New Year, with all the associated celebrations, the room was always quiet and we weren't disturbed at all by noise.

It is very welcoming. If you are travelling alone (or even as a couple or in a group) there are 'get to know you' organised activities taking place every night. We didn't join one but they all look fun.

The kitchen (in true hostel fashion) does get a bit chaotic when it is busy but the staff do their very best to keep in clean and tidy. The fridges are really well organised and cleared regularly. If you are cooking for yourself the Queen Victoria Market is nearby for all your provisions; it is well worth a visit even if you don't need supplies.

I would definitely stay here again if I were in Melbourne.

And, finally, the hostel serves superb pancakes at breakfast! Worth going just for those!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskywhiskymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hostel is nice and clean, especially the lounge room looked very nice. It is a little bit far from the airport and the rooms looked a bit 'oldish', but it's good enough to stay a few nights. Had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astriddegeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed in one of the private rooms and were given a family room for just the two of us which was very spacious. The beds were very comfy and the room was clean. It did get hot but the fan helped and we did stay there during one of the hottest weeks of the year. I think the location was fine, for a start there was cheap parking, and it was only about 10 mins walk from the CBD. But there were some nice places around the hostel down on Victoria Street or Errol Street. The cafe in the hostel was handy for breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyLane87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This Hostel has all the usual amenities you can come to expect from a YHA, friendly staff, good sized rooms, plenty of personal space and a great kitchen. Only its location far out of town lets it down, but then that's a minor thing and the walk into town takes about 10mins!

The size of this place is much bigger than the previous hostels i have stayed in but then don't let that put you off, as the many room are spacious and well appointed, with two bathrooms on each floor which double up as shower rooms as well. The corridors are wide and allow for bags and backpacks to be carried through with out having to squeeze past anything or fear of knocking off pictures from the walls.

The key card entry is a nice touch and makes the rooms feel secure, just don't forget to take one to the bathroom as you need it to get in! towels in our room were huge and fluffy and actually dried very well considering the room were not that warm and there was no way to stop the A/C from blowing out the air! The sheets were a little thread bare but otherwise did the job just fine! One good point is that the WiFi worked in our room on the 3rd floor!

The public spaces in this hostel were huge and we had no problems finding a place to read after dinner, which was prepared in a manic but spacious kitchen overflowing with all the pots, pans and cooking equipment you will ever need. One small complaint was the cramped food lockers, they were in a corner and tricky to get at, although the fridges were huge and the freezer equally as good!

We liked the free sun screen that was on offer, a nice touch considering the weather and the staff were all friendly and polite, with a good amount of local knowledge that helped us settle in. They also were able to arrange the pickup for the airport shuttle bus which was great!

Highlights and plus points:

Spacious rooms
Good sized kitchen
Huge public space
Friendly and knowledgeable staff
Free maps
Secure and safe
Great kitchen
WiFi worked in our room
Clean and tidy rooms and corridors
Loads of activities each day

Negative points:

Cold rooms even with the heat outside
Cramped food storage
Thin walls
Distance from town

Overall though it was a good stay, lively and comfortable! If you don't mind the distance out of town then its worth a shout, if you don't like walking, maybe check out a Central!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Even though the place is nice there are some
Things that make me go somewhere else. The staff behaves like they are giving you a favor and the rooms only have one power outlet.
It is far form the city. The failures are nice, the kitchen and the rooftop.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuilleNiebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I had a very good experience at this hostel. It might be a litle bit out of the city, but the hostel itself and the staff make up for this. It was the last hostel I stayed in during my travel in Australia, and I sold my car there. I had paid for a week to put the car in the very secure garage, but when I sold the car after 2 days, the hapilly refunded me the difference. The hostel has a very nice rooftop terrace and a well equiped kitchen. Also the little restaurant had awesome dishes for low prices. There were renovations to the sanitary when I stayed, but all was done to make the inconvenience as inexistent as possible. Only little down: the 8 bed dorms could be a little bit bigger...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I loved my 4 day stay. Even though it is far from city, I loved this hostel.
Super clean!!!! and the shower room and toilets were plenty so I never had to wait!
They had an elevator and it was so helpful carrying my luggage.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yejinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#35 of 155 in Melbourne
433 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 155 in Melbourne
425 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#52 of 155 in Melbourne
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 155 in Melbourne
654 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#32 of 155 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#13 of 155 in Melbourne
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Metro YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Metro YHA

Address: 78 Howard St, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Metro YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Metro YHA is a modern hostel located on the city fringe in leafy North Melbourne. This hostel is your relaxed home away from home that's only minutes from famous Queen Victoria Markets and walking distance to all the major attractions - the best of both worlds! Facilities include a tour desk for all your tour and transport needs within Victoria and Australia, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus option also available), fully equipped self-catering kitchen, communal lounge areas, launderette, secure car parking (subject to availability - $10 per day) and DVD's for hire. Enjoy the rooftop with panoramic city views as well as a BBQ and lounges perfect for socializing and meeting fellow travellers. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Bathroom facilities are shared. Guests can choose from a range of bed types, including 4 and 8 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional en suite, and family rooms. We can also book groups of up to 120 people, ideal for schools, sporting groups and international exchange programs. Within the hostel there are always lots of great activities on including movie nights, Safari Pete travel auctions, free comedy, wine & cheese nights and a great weekly pub crawl! Activities are updated regularly so check with our friendly reception to see what's on and to get the best local tour and travel advice. Talking about what's on, Melbourne is the events and sporting capital of Australia! Getting around is simple with a free map and MyKi cards available for purchase at the hostel reception. A tram stop is located just 500m from the hostel and the $5 Melbourne Visitor Shuttle Bus stop is only 5 minutes walk which loops Melbourne's best attractions. Take advantage of the cities vibrant events calendar including the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Open Tennis, AFL matches, Melbourne International comedy festival, Melbourne Fringe Festival, Melbourne Festival, Melbourne Cup and year round markets, live music, film, food, art and fashion activities and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melbourne Metro YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metro Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing