We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit far out - but good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Metro YHA
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Metro YHA is a bit further out than I was expected - about a 45 minute walk into the city.
(I tried taking the tram but ended up paying a fortune!)

There are get-to-know-you activities organised but the one I went to, everybody seemed to already know each other and didn't seem up for chatting to new people which was a bit awkward.

I ended up leaving early and paying a little extra to stay in the Central YHA.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs! This place seems to attract snorers ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinkgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our five night stay here in a mixed 4 bed room :)

Pros:
Very very clean hostel!
Close to Queen Vic markets
Good vibe, quiet place
Great cafe, cheap dinners
Most people in our room were friendly :)

Cons:
Bathroom door would slam at all hours!! People don't realise others are sleeping at 4am.. (Get earplugs)
Lockers in the room can't fit suitcases. You can hire one in the basement for $2 a day, and it's $2 each time you opened it. We took most of our stuff out and put it in the locker in our room.
A little out of the city but easy enough to catch a tram down the road

FYI don't put your food on the free food shelves or it'll be gone before you know it! Pricey mistake we made :/




Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KA2456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I spent a weekend in Melbourne and stay here for one night. The room and toilet are very clean. The staff are helpful. The location is good just a few minutes to Queen Victoria Market. I have met some fellow traveller and share both our experience!

Room Tip: Clean, location is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ming Ho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed for a couple of nights and find the easiest way to do this review is in a list
Pros:
Big clean kitchen
Excellent cafe
Great staff
Quiet location

Cons:
1. They start playing music at 7am which could be heard in our room (twin) - it woke me up and is quite loud. I don't understand 1. Why it's necessary at 7am or 2. Why it's necessary in a corridor that has only rooms? This was a HUGE con for me because the location is otherwise quiet!
2. The hostel is literally in the middle of nowhere - there is no food around, no supermarket around, nothing - so you are basically forced to eat the food from the cafe (which was quite good though - very friendly tall guy behind the counter). Difficult to get your bearing because it's so residential.
3. The wifi was absolutely terrible. I am used to crappy wifi in hostels but this was beyond a joke - it dropped out every 10 mins then wouldn't reconnect, why bother really?
4. There was nothing to hold the bathroom door open, sounds a bit petty but the door was really quite heavy! Also the fan in there went all night!
5. The plumbing in the wall (from the room beside us) was deafening - again something that would wake you up!

The staff were lovely and helpful, obviously all these cons aren't their fault also the cafe was a nice place to hang!

While we were there it was very hot but our room stayed nice and cool without air con which I appreciated, however, I would not stay here again..I would prefer to pay more and stay somewhere else than deal with that music in the corridor ever again! Unbearable!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joeblowreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I currently sit here at 2:30am trying to get to sleep, (for the past 3 hours), the rather large older lady in the bottom bunk is snoring EXTREMLY loudly, so loudly that it's vibrating the bed. A fine definition of a sleep apnea patient.
I recorded this said lady and wandered down to reception to be advised there is nothing he can do to help. No compromise! Nothing! My only option being to wander the streets at 2:30 to find an alternate room.
I know this isn't the hostels fault, but the fact I paid an over pricey $38 for a bed and can't get any sleep. A little inconsiderate!
Yes the rooms are clean but this room is very small. And getting smaller by the second!

I've never stayed at a YHA before but always thought they had a better reputation. Not this one!
Never again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank KLL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here with my daughter. It's a little way out of the city centre, but within walking distance of all the major sights. The rooms are clean and spacious. We booked a private room with shared facilities, which were just across the corridor. This was good in terms of convenience but a bit noisy with the bathroom door slamming until late in the night. The shared areas are good, plenty of room in the kitchen area etc. The roof top terrace is great and quiet when we were there. The car parking was a bonus for a city centre, but you need to book it in advance

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marj10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hostel is good value with friendly staff, a roof terrace with stunning views over the city, use of a a barbecue, friendly informative staff, free sun screen on the front desk, spotless rooms and comfortable beds.

Despite staying at the hostel over New Year, with all the associated celebrations, the room was always quiet and we weren't disturbed at all by noise.

It is very welcoming. If you are travelling alone (or even as a couple or in a group) there are 'get to know you' organised activities taking place every night. We didn't join one but they all look fun.

The kitchen (in true hostel fashion) does get a bit chaotic when it is busy but the staff do their very best to keep in clean and tidy. The fridges are really well organised and cleared regularly. If you are cooking for yourself the Queen Victoria Market is nearby for all your provisions; it is well worth a visit even if you don't need supplies.

I would definitely stay here again if I were in Melbourne.

And, finally, the hostel serves superb pancakes at breakfast! Worth going just for those!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskywhiskymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 153 in Melbourne
430 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#17 of 153 in Melbourne
424 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#51 of 153 in Melbourne
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 153 in Melbourne
639 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 153 in Melbourne
816 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#32 of 153 in Melbourne
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Metro YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Metro YHA

Address: 78 Howard St, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £19 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Metro YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Metro YHA is a modern hostel located on the city fringe in leafy North Melbourne. This hostel is your relaxed home away from home that's only minutes from famous Queen Victoria Markets and walking distance to all the major attractions - the best of both worlds! Facilities include a tour desk for all your tour and transport needs within Victoria and Australia, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus option also available), fully equipped self-catering kitchen, communal lounge areas, launderette, secure car parking (subject to availability - $10 per day) and DVD's for hire. Enjoy the rooftop with panoramic city views as well as a BBQ and lounges perfect for socializing and meeting fellow travellers. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Bathroom facilities are shared. Guests can choose from a range of bed types, including 4 and 8 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional en suite, and family rooms. We can also book groups of up to 120 people, ideal for schools, sporting groups and international exchange programs. Within the hostel there are always lots of great activities on including movie nights, Safari Pete travel auctions, free comedy, wine & cheese nights and a great weekly pub crawl! Activities are updated regularly so check with our friendly reception to see what's on and to get the best local tour and travel advice. Talking about what's on, Melbourne is the events and sporting capital of Australia! Getting around is simple with a free map and MyKi cards available for purchase at the hostel reception. A tram stop is located just 500m from the hostel and the $5 Melbourne Visitor Shuttle Bus stop is only 5 minutes walk which loops Melbourne's best attractions. Take advantage of the cities vibrant events calendar including the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Open Tennis, AFL matches, Melbourne International comedy festival, Melbourne Fringe Festival, Melbourne Festival, Melbourne Cup and year round markets, live music, film, food, art and fashion activities and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melbourne Metro YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metro Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing