We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're into film”

Australian Centre for the Moving Image
Ranked #3 of 77 Fun & Games in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Australia's only national museum of film, video games, digital culture and art - situated at the very heart of Melbourne in Federation Square.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you're into film”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you're into film you will see here why Australians are good at it.
You don't have to know the history, Australians have been making films for a long time. [Robbery Under Arms was one of the first Australian feature films made in 1907.]

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank knute99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    388
    81
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Screen Worlds exhibition”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am a teacher who recently attended the Screen Worlds exhibition at ACMI with my grade 5/6 class on a school excursion. The exhibition was excellent in itself, but I couldn't help noticing there was one member of staff who kept scolding my students in a contradictory, mocking and unfair way. When I confronted him, he simply brushed me out of the way and said that I was overreacting. An unforgettable experience for all the wrong reasons. Thank you for ruining everyone's day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thaolethu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mind blown”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Theres just so much going on there. I went there for the Dreamworks Animation event that will be ongoing until October 2014. And I went to explore the centre of moving image and i was blown away with everything that was in there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JustLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dreamworks”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved the DreamWorks exhibition. If you are an adult go early before the school groups arrive - much quieter. Helpful and friendly staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
977 reviews
554 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Has improved a lot”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This venue is hitting its stride. In its early days it seemed hard-edged and uninviting. Now it has a shop, a café-bar, an array of unusual and not necessarily commercial movies, a permanent exhibition about the moving image, interactive attractions, and big temporary exhibitions in its vast basement. Some of the temporary exhibitions have been very popular and family friendly, others too obscure to draw non-specialist visitors. Outside fronting Flinders Street there are often brightly coloured and quirky things (signs, models, banners) drawing attention to the venue, which otherwise is hard to distinguish from the adjoining buildings surrounding the square. There are escalators and lifts between floors, pleasant staff offering directions, and ample bathroom facilities. Seats and benches are scarce in the area where you get your movie tickets and connect with friends before the movie. Surfaces are hard, with grey used a lot, so at first glance ACMI may not appeal as a fun venue, however it is definitely worth investigating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alys-Schatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australian Centre for the Moving Image also viewed

 

Been to Australian Centre for the Moving Image? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing