We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be staying there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Powlett Apartments
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Won't be staying there again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed there recently on a Saturday night. We wanted to be close to the CBD and this hotel looked like it would be good. It was cheap at $99 a night including parking. We arrived in the afternoon and should have realised very soon how awful it was going to be and move. It was incredibly noisy, our room was right by a fire exit gate, the walls were paper thin and it seemed that every other guest was talking to their neighbours at the top of their voices. The room was clean enough, a lumpy bed, but we thought for the price it would be okay.
We were out til 12am, arriving back in the room it seemed there was a generator on that stopped by 1am or so, we realised it was someones room heater that they left on til they got home, but it was so very loud. Then people arrived back at various times during the early hours, some using the fire exit to go have a cigarette, not using their 'inside voices' either.
The worst was at 4am when some young girls arrived back, talking loudly, and one of their friends was locked out, so she yelled as loud as she could for her friends to let her in. It took them about 15mins to do this.
There was no 24 hour desk to go ask for help, nor a phone in the room or any notes with contact numbers.
In all, we had 3 hours sleep because by 7am or so the cleaning trolley was rolling past our door.
We told the receptionist of our bad stay, she said she would look into it, we don't blame her, but hope something is done to stop this happening to others.
Perhaps if you stay during the week it is fine but be aware, because of the cheap price and proximity to the CBD and sporting stadiums (where they hold concerts) you will get loud drunks and it really isn't worth paying less, unless you are one of the loud drunks and none of this bothers you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sulink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    43
    45
    21
    33
See reviews for
38
43
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Look, this isn't the Grand Mercure or Hilton, it's a clean room, comfy & warm beds, a kitchenette & a clean (if old) bathroom. We just stayed here for 10 nights & apart from the upstairs hike each day, found the place more than adequate for our needs. The staff (Lauren, in particular) were friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. Our room was spotless when we arrived and when we had a minor roof leak during the recent downpour, we were immediately moved into the adjoining room without hesitation. We'll happily return as it is SO close to trams, buses and trains, that it negates the need to drive. Yes, it can be a little noisy on weekends, but that's the fault of the guests, not the venue. The rooms had new inverter A/C with more being fitted while we were there and the water pressure was excellent.

Inexpensive, no-frills and secure. All you need.

Room Tip: No lifts, so be prepared for stairs! You only receive one key, but there is an afterhours system in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuckf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Hi. This hotel is as other reviewers say, but its location to the mcg and rod laver arena make up for it. What do people expect for that price, seriously, at $150 it's never gonna be a palace. Anything else that accommodates 4 people in Melbourne cbd is in excess of $300.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank er81892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

No frills accommodation in a prime location. Not the cleanest, however the beds were & fresh towels each day. You get what you pay for - somewhere to sleep, wash & eat. Perfect location for walking to most major sporting events, 5 - 10 minute tram ride to Flinders St & city center. Can be a little noisy on weekends - doors banging, voices outside & thumping plumbing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrunchyMilkshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

No security after dark, people running up and down the landings banging on doors, door to the balcony would not shut or lock, sticky substance on the floor of the small bath, shower curtain blows in on your legs, light bulbs missing, camp style chairs not at all confortable, oil heater lost one wheel, room was not serviced at all. Air conditioner was over the single bed, too bad if anyone was to sleep in that bed.

Room Tip: I do not believe there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 331Susanmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
339 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

It's simple and has a great location. Not the cleanest place I've stayed but handy to the 'MCG'
I also got a late checkout which was very much appreciated!
Parking included which makes it even better value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stay here for a weekend to go to footy, there is only about 5 parking spaces (for small cars) there is very limited street parking, the room size was great, but that was the only good thing about the room, customer service was poor at best, after staying here we are now spending extra on accommodation to have something better

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNRBoots_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on Jolimont
Mantra on Jolimont
#91 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Court Boutique
Magnolia Court Boutique
#143 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#68 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest East Melbourne
Quest East Melbourne
#4 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Powlett Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Powlett Apartments

Property: George Powlett Apartments
Address: 30 Powlett St | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George Powlett Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Powlett Apartments is located in the quiet exclusive area of East Melbourne, just a short stroll to the CBD, Markets, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Fitzroy Gardens. The 43 Studio Apartments are suitable for up to 3 people and include ensuite bathroom, kitchenette, airconditioning and limited free car parking. Guest laundry and ironing room, Same day dry cleaning service, Business fax and photocopying service, Easy public transport access to CBD and many Melbourne attractions, Rooms serviced regularly (except Sundays). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Powlett Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Powlett Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing