We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have stayed at both Somerset on Elizabeth as well as the apartments at QVII (twice) now, and I have enjoyed both locations immensely. They were very central for my needs and clean and well set out - I would have to say the one at QVII was my favourite as it was over great eateries and the chocolate place! Any time I need to stay in Melbourne for more than a couple of nights, I will stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2013

I had a long stay at the somerset for business from mid Oct 2012 thru to Jan 11 2013. I came to the Somerset with apprehension after reading a few reviews here. From what I could tell other reviwers were upset with the noise from construction work (A large department store is being built right next door) and the noise from Elizabeth St (trams etc). I found the noise levels to be quite acceptable. I was in room 911 facing SE towards Burke St mall this meant I didnt directly face the construction work or Elizabeth St though.
My room was clean, small and nice enough. 1 bedroom with LCD inset wardrobes and a king size bed. It has a window which you can open in it. The living room was on the smaller side with dinning tabe hard up against the wall a 2.5 seater lounge small coffee table and very small 1 seater lounge. Across from all this was another LCD screen.Both tv's in the room did NOT have digital service, which did get quite annoying after 3 months. They do supply some cable channels though fox sports fox 8 CNN etc. In the corner was the business work space which has the internet port (no wifi) 2 power sockets etc. The living room also has a small kitchenette with a 2 burner gas top, dish washer, fridge/frezzer and sink. The bathroom is a very basic design. Toilet, Bath/Shower combo no drawers or cabinet just a shelf and to one side is a washering machine/dryer combo which I take issuse with, only because I tend to destroy my clothes in them. All in all its a pretty basic apartment which is functional. If your looking for a luxury romantic getaway this isnt the place to book. If you need a place in the city then its fine and the perfect location!!!
The staff were great I had a few moments throught my stay where I called on them and everytime my requests were dealt with quickly and professionally.
Just a note.. NO room service was available. The hotel offers one of those 3rd party room service leaflets. I didnt use this service and I'm pretty sure its not 24hr. Someone might verify that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewF116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great location, walking distance to everything in the city. Train lines close by and tram stop right out the front.

The rooms are a good size, with separate bedroom and lounge/kitchenette area. This was great with a baby as we had space to hang out while she had her day naps. The kitchen was small but functional to prepare simple meals and baby food.

The hotel is looking a little aged, with the hallways a bit dingy and dirty with scuff marks along the walls. But the rooms were kept clean and fresh. Staff were friendly and helpful with dining suggestions.

There was construction going on behind the hotel, but we were on the street side and heard very little of this. On the 5th floor we were able to hear the traffic/tram bells, but this was quite background noise and we did not find this a problem. I would recommend avoiding the construction side if you intend to be sleeping in your room during the day.

The gym had everything you need for some basic exercise and the spa was great.

Room Tip: Avoid the construction side if you intend to sleep in the room during the day. Street side was not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDSBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The location was great - right on the main street and close to Flinders station. The apartments were very clean and well equipped. Except for a few small points (the washing machines didn't work, the remote control didn't have a cover, a couple of glasses were broken in the cupboard) the only real issue we had was the internet was slow. All in all though, good value for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Somerset is as always very well located downtown. But this is the only advantage there. I have been used to much better at Somerset in other cities. First the furnitures of our 2 bedrooms appartment were very basic. Then the rooms were very small, although the beds were good. View was blocked by a big wall. Bathrooms were far to be well equiped (ridiculous small and single sink, very few and poor amenities). Lights are very white (cheap bulbs) and aircon not individual. Bedight in one bedroom did not work. Look also at the lift which looks like from the 70's, well refurbished but don't expect the doors to open when they meet an obstacle. At least the staff was nice. When you consider the high price you pay for this, you should better find another place.
Still we had good time there as we had our Xmas in this hotel with our kids...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Love this location which is within walking distance to all shopping malls and if you have the mood to walk further, you can reach Crowne Casino. Lovely staff who are always ready to help. Car Park is pretty limited and is not exactly attached to the hotel - it is closed after 10pm so be watchful over that. Rooms are decent and clean. I will stay here again when I next visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paseo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hotel is in a good location. Close to Melborune Central and Bourke street mall. Building going on next door but had no issues. Room was comfortable and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Not a bad place to stay for a girls weekend afterall most of the time we were out shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackiesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#101 of 162 in Melbourne
853 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
1,946 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £89 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M including popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing