We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Oaks on Lonsdale(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
367
374
125
34
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
374
125
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselizabeth streetgreat locationwashing machinehardware laneserviced apartmentspa poolliving roombourke st mallwithin walking distancedavid jonesone bedroom apartmentthe heart of the citystreet noisecentral locationsmall kitchenettebreakfast roomqueen victoria market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I are in the middle of a 9-week stay at Somerset. We booked through Corporate Keys International - they specialize in long stay accommodation/serviced apartments. I’m really glad we chose to stay here. For one thing, everything is close by. You’re really at the center of all the action in Melbourne - food, the laneways, night life, shopping, public transport, banks, offices, malls, entertainment, live street performances and more. The train station that connects you to suburbs and the rest of the state is just a block away. I’ve read quite a few comments on here about the noise of the construction on one side of the building and the traffic and trams on the other. Honestly, we haven’t really noticed much noise and besides, it would be a little eerie living in the downtown area of any city and hear pin drop silence.

The staff are really nice. Always ready to strike up a conversation or offer help. Our check in process was smooth. Though we arrived 2 hours before the check-in time, our room was ready and the receptionist took the effort to reallocate our assigned room to one on the “better side” of the building away from the "noisey" construction. Our washer-dryer didn’t work properly when we checked in and although I was about to lose my patience in getting someone to fix it - they did replace it with a brand new one after establishing it wasn’t my inability to work the machine that was causing the problem! One guy from the reception in particular (forgot his name) was super responsive and took ownership to ensure the new machine was installed the very next day. The housekeeping staff are super friendly and very service oriented and do what they can to cater to your housekeeping needs.

The bed is comfortable, not too soft. The rooms are clean and decently sized and comes equipped with almost everything from silverware, plates, cooking things, towels, dishwashing powder/liquid, detergent etc. I agree that some of the furniture and fixtures are a little worn but it’s not too bad. My only real complaint about the room is the A/C controls – unnecessarily complicated! There are two types of one bedroom apartments – though we chose to take the deluxe room, I probably would have preferred the executive room – oh well, next time. The extra space and bigger closets would be nice. The closets in the deluxe room are small if you plan to stay here long and have a lot of stuff.

The gym is well maintained. Though it’s not a Gold’s or a Fitness First – its more than you need in a hotel. There is a jet pool, a Jacuzzi and a sauna – a bigger pool would have been nice.

I travel a lot for work and so have lived in more hotels than I would have liked to – but this one kinda helps making you feel at home. If you’re looking for a centrally located, comfortable and clean hotel while you’re in Melbourne on work or a holiday, I would highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor (7 – 10) overlooking either Elizabeth street to the west or Lonsdale to the south of the building.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear AjayKamat,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your current stay at Somerset on Elizabeth, we are so pleased to read that you are enjoying your time with us so far. We take great pride in providing our guests with a ‘home away from home’ experience, so it is great to know you are impressed with all the comforts and conveniences you would usually find at home. It can be tricky when travelling on business to find time to explore the city you are in, it is great you have been able to make the most of our central location and explore the sites beautiful Melbourne has to offer.

It is also lovely to read our Guests Service Team have made such a positive impression on you. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to our Team; they will be delighted to know they are assisting in making your stay comfortable.

Thank you AjayKamat, if we can be of any further assistance during your time with us please feel free to contact our friendly Guests Service Team.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just had my first stay at the Somerset and was very impressed with the hotel. The location right in the heart of the city is perfect. My 1 bedroom apartment was spacious very clean & very comfortable. The staff were fantastic and being a hotel owner I would have no hesitation in hiring any of the staff I chatted to and witnessed doing their job.
5 stars from is well deserved A++ Somerset :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Southgate175,

We are so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable first visit with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations, so it is always very encouraging for our Guest Services Team to receive comments such as yours, that they made such a positive impression.

Thank you Southgate175 for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. we enjoyed our view up the street. everything was really good. we loved the location. we felt safe. The cleaners were very good even washing our couple of glasses each day and taking our rubbish. Made things easy for us girls. The staff are very good and accommodating. The staff looked after us before we came to Melbourne making sure we had a quiet room, a cot and everything we needed. would recommend for apartment style stay.

Room Tip: just ask if you need anything. we had a room on Elizabeth street and had a good view up the street
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIVETOTRAVEL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear LIVETOTRAVEL8,

Thank you for taking the time to provide Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne feedback on your stay. We are so pleased to read that you loved the view from your room and central location of our residence.

I will be sure to pass your positive comments to the Guest Service Team that you were impressed with their friendly and attentive service.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at Somerset on Elizabeth in Nov 2013. Good accommodation with kitchenette, dishwasher, washing machine, drying machine and a spacious bathroom.

Near to city centre and eateries. Not to forget- Queen Elizabeth Market is just nearby too.

Room Tip: Call reception if there are missing soap, dishwasher powder, washing powder etc in room. Not a major issue as the reception staff are very friendly and helpful.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear WHLiu,

Thank you for providing us a review of your stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne last November. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our apartments as well as our central location.

If you are returning to Melbourne, we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for four nights in a one bedroom executive apartment. The location could not be better for shopping, transport, and for restaurant activity. You can walk to most of the City of Melbourne destinations. Trams run past the door. The foyer is not impressive ( very drab) and the lifts are nothing special. The upper corridors are particularly gloomy and the room decoration was bland and colourless. However the rooms were fairly spacious, the king bed was comfortable and the bathroom facility was good, The air-conditioning worked very well, and could be easily altered to suit individual preferences. The kitchen facility was nothing special. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The best features are the spaciousness of the rooms, and the very central location. However, there is not much charm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noosabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne G, Senior Marketing Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear noosabird,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am sorry to read the décor and ambience at Somerset on Elizabeth did not meet your expectations, though it is pleasing to read that you did enjoy the spaciousness of our apartments, some of our in room amenities such as the individually controlled air conditioning and our central location.

We do hope if you are ever in Melbourne again you try us again, we wish you a pleasant journey home.


Warmest regards,

Joanne G
Senior Marketing Manager
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews