We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great despite wet weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #43 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great despite wet weather”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and arrived early from the airport. Check in was easy and the room was ready straight away. The staff were excellent and made us feel welcome. The room was spacious and although we overlooked the car park there was no noise. Location is fabulous. Virtually next door to side entrance to Emporium shopping centre which links to Myer and David Jones. So no problem getting to shops even in the rain! Short walk to Coles and Woolies too where we bought some items to cook in the kitchen in our unit. Tram stop is on the corner but we walked to Southern Cross station in about 15 minutes. Would definitely stay here again, feels like home away from home.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Dherman,

Thank you for taking time to provide Somerset on Elizabeth with a review of your recent stay. We are so happy you thoroughly enjoyed your experience, our Guest Service Team will also be delighted to know they assisted in making your stay memorable.

We are also pleased you were impressed with our central location and the easy access our guests have to all of the city’s attractions, whether for shopping or dining.

Thank you Dherman, from all the team at Somerset we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    333
    110
    29
    12
See reviews for
230
234
49
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Somerset on Elizabeth is an excellent property in the heart of the city. i was in melbourne for business. Checked into the hotel. Though they were full the receptionist was very courteous and managed to get me an early checkin. this really helped as otherwise would have to kill 2 hours waiting for the room. These are the small efficiencies which attract and retain customers. Its highly central, by the way it was "White Night in Melbourne" and the streets were jammed with people. have never seen so many people in Melbourne except that one night. There was a huge racket outside my window, but it had nothing to do with the hotel. the city council had issued development orders for work to be done even at night and hotel couldnt do anything to avoid the noise. Overall a very good experience,..will come back for more next time.

Room Tip: choose a room away from Elizabeth Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balaji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalpetta, India
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Somerset on Elizabeth is an excellent property in the heart of the city. i was in melbourne for business. Checked into the hotel. Though they were full the receptionist was very courteous and managed to get me an early checkin. this really helped as otherwise would have to kill 2 hours waiting for the room. These are the small efficiencies which attract and retain customers. Its highly central, by the way it was "White Night in Melbourne" and the streets were jammed with people. have never seen so many people in Melbourne except that one night. There was a huge racket outside my window, but it had nothing to do with the hotel. the city council had issued development orders for work to be done even at night and hotel couldnt do anything to avoid the noise. Overall a very good experience,..will come back for more next time.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Elizabeth road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resort_in_Wayanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Resort_in_Wayanad,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay during the White Night festival at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. It is lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and our friendly Guest Service Team were able to facilitate an early check-in for you. You are correct, there has been a little bit of construction occurring around the property, but we are pleased to say that this is complete.

Thank you Resort_in_Wayanad, we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family and i recently stayed here and i just cannot fault it, the staff were great and the rooms came fully equipped and were very clean and comfortable. The view was pleasant and the location was just perfect! We will definitely be returning there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Laura S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We are so pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay; from our central location, friendly staff and our convenient range of guest services.

From all the team at Somerset we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment in this hotel over Easter 2014 and found it to be perfect. The apartment was well presented and clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Liz_Aussie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Somerset experiences with our Trip Advisor community. It is wonderful to read that you loved our location, found our staff friendly and appreciated the space our two-bedroom apartment afforded you. We think Easter is a lovely time to be in Melbourne, there so many fun activities for the whole family to enjoy!

We hope to welcome you back to Somerset again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Features three room apartment-like accommodations, bedroom plus a combo kitchen-dining room-living room. Two closets, kitchen with sink, 2 burner gas top, microwave, refrigerator-freezer, coffee maker, toaster, plates etc., pan and skillet. Bathroom is large, but with a small sink, and includes a washer and dryer. Quiet with windows closed. Great central location, in the Central Business District, easy way to many attractions, restaurants, shops. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear GreggSt_Louis,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. It is lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Somerset experience, and were able to make the most of our central location and convenient range of apartment facilities including the fully-equipped kitchen and laundry.

From all the team at Somerset, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Family of 4 stayed 3 nights in 2bedroom. Large living area, good kitchen and two bathrooms. Short walk to the mall, tram stop, Flinders Station and Fed Square. Lots of restaurants (inclu Chinatown) and Woolworths walking distance. From 6th floor had views to Southbank and car parks. Would recommend and will stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Janelle C,

Thank you for taking the time to review Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We are delighted to read you were pleased with the design and layout of our two-bedroom apartment; it is always helpful to have that extra space especially when travelling with family. We hope you enjoyed Melbourne's beautiful sites from our central location.

If you are every in Melbourne again, we do hope to welcome you back to Somerset soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Property: Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M as well as popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing