We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean & lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #40 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I first stayed last year with my family for 2 nights & just recently with my mother & sisters for 4 nights. We arrived early morning checked in & left our luggage in storage. The staff were warm & welcoming, nothing too much trouble. They called when our room was ready & our luggage was in our room on arrival. On both visits I've found the rooms lovely & clean. The location is very central to all shopping; the new Melbourne Emporium, Melbourne Central, David Jones, Myer, Bourke street mall & the lovely arcades. The tram stops are a 2 minute walk & Melbourne Central train station is also extremely close. It would be nice to have the option of single beds in the second bedroom, though not a priority. Overall I would definitely stay at the Somerset on Elizabeth again.. It's great value for a great city location.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Pauline C

Thank you for sharing your feedback with our TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to read that you and your family had a comfortable stay with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, and you enjoyed our clean and well furnished apartments. We feel very fortunate to be located in the heart of Melbourne’s shopping precinct, and hope everyone had a wonderful time exploring the city!

Our Guest Service Team will also be so happy to hear that you felt at home during your stay, as they take great pride in making sure our guests have a most memorable stay.

From all the team at Somerset we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed with our big group in two apartments - the accommodation is surely not worth the price with a stuffy lay-out, basic amenities and old/run down fittings, furniture and appliances. We had rented a bus with a clearance of 2.3 m, so parking was a nightmare and expensive - but i am told this is to be expected in Melbourne.

The location is brilliant in terms of access to the trams,markets, malls and the staff quite helpful. A small chapel view from the room was pleasant in an otherwise run-down neighbourhood.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ramdasshree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Ramdasshree,

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are sorry to read the décor and ambience at Somerset on Elizabeth did not meet your expectations, though it is pleasing to read that you did enjoy our central location to Melbourne shopping precinct and found our Guest Service Team both friendly and helpful.

We do hope if you are ever in Melbourne again you try us again,

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We arrived earlier than the check-in time but we able to get our room. Room is spacious and clean with street view. Although just a one night stay but we felt welcome and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

The location is just superb with a tram station nearby, restaurants and shopping places are in walking distance.

Overall we are very happy with our stay in Somerset and will definitely stay here again if we ever return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Joey K,

Thank you for sharing your Somerset experience with our Trip Advisor community. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed our central location, spacious apartment design and found our staff helpful and friendly. Our Guests Services Team will be proud to know they assisted in making your stay at Somerset on Elizabeth an enjoyable one!

From all the team at Somerset, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed one night and arrived early from the airport. Check in was easy and the room was ready straight away. The staff were excellent and made us feel welcome. The room was spacious and although we overlooked the car park there was no noise. Location is fabulous. Virtually next door to side entrance to Emporium shopping centre which links to Myer and David Jones. So no problem getting to shops even in the rain! Short walk to Coles and Woolies too where we bought some items to cook in the kitchen in our unit. Tram stop is on the corner but we walked to Southern Cross station in about 15 minutes. Would definitely stay here again, feels like home away from home.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Dherman,

Thank you for taking time to provide Somerset on Elizabeth with a review of your recent stay. We are so happy you thoroughly enjoyed your experience, our Guest Service Team will also be delighted to know they assisted in making your stay memorable.

We are also pleased you were impressed with our central location and the easy access our guests have to all of the city’s attractions, whether for shopping or dining.

Thank you Dherman, from all the team at Somerset we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Somerset on Elizabeth is an excellent property in the heart of the city. i was in melbourne for business. Checked into the hotel. Though they were full the receptionist was very courteous and managed to get me an early checkin. this really helped as otherwise would have to kill 2 hours waiting for the room. These are the small efficiencies which attract and retain customers. Its highly central, by the way it was "White Night in Melbourne" and the streets were jammed with people. have never seen so many people in Melbourne except that one night. There was a huge racket outside my window, but it had nothing to do with the hotel. the city council had issued development orders for work to be done even at night and hotel couldnt do anything to avoid the noise. Overall a very good experience,..will come back for more next time.

Room Tip: choose a room away from Elizabeth Street
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balaji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Somerset on Elizabeth is an excellent property in the heart of the city. i was in melbourne for business. Checked into the hotel. Though they were full the receptionist was very courteous and managed to get me an early checkin. this really helped as otherwise would have to kill 2 hours waiting for the room. These are the small efficiencies which attract and retain customers. Its highly central, by the way it was "White Night in Melbourne" and the streets were jammed with people. have never seen so many people in Melbourne except that one night. There was a huge racket outside my window, but it had nothing to do with the hotel. the city council had issued development orders for work to be done even at night and hotel couldnt do anything to avoid the noise. Overall a very good experience,..will come back for more next time.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Elizabeth road.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resort_in_Wayanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Resort_in_Wayanad,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay during the White Night festival at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. It is lovely to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and our friendly Guest Service Team were able to facilitate an early check-in for you. You are correct, there has been a little bit of construction occurring around the property, but we are pleased to say that this is complete.

Thank you Resort_in_Wayanad, we hope you had a safe journey home.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family and i recently stayed here and i just cannot fault it, the staff were great and the rooms came fully equipped and were very clean and comfortable. The view was pleasant and the location was just perfect! We will definitely be returning there!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Laura S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We are so pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay; from our central location, friendly staff and our convenient range of guest services.

From all the team at Somerset we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,884 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £91 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M including popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing