We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days during the week, with my partner.

Things we liked:
- Location - it is in the heart of Melbourne city. Surprisingly, there wasn't too much road noise!
- Valet parking - although $35 per night, it was a good service. As soon as you asked for your car, it was parked out the front.
- Room size - we got a 2 bedroom apartment which was very generously sized.
- Friendly service.

Things we didn't like:
- The toilet started running but this was fixed pretty quickly by hotel staff.
- Some of the furniture in the room was a bit worn (stains/marks on the TV cabinet).
- Washing machine/dryer didn't work very well. The washing powder got all hard during the cycle and didn't really wash the clothes.

Room Tip: I expect the higher apartments would have next to no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julesy_615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Julesy_615,

Thank you for sharing your Somerset experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are pleased to you enjoyed our spacious apartments, friendly and helpful Guest Service Team and valet parking service.

We are disappointed however to read that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. If you don't mind providing the apartment number you were staying in; we would like to ask our Engineering Team to look into the bathroom and washing machine in question; please email our Residence Manager, Florence.Hairie@the-ascott.com as she would like to make sure we follow up on your valued feedback. You may also be interested to know that the décor is currently being upgraded in the apartments, for if you choose to stay with us again.

Thank you Julesy_615, for sharing your comments and we apologise again your stay did not meet all your expectations. We hope you will consider staying with us again at Somerset.

Warm regards,

Shannon Roche
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are repeat guests for this hotel when needing to stay a few nights in a Melbourne, the exec 1 bedroom has a sofa bed and the room is larger than the deluxe room. The rooms are always clean and the rooms contain everything needed for a comfortable stay. Staff have always been helpful and polite. With the new Melbourne Emporium opening the Somerset is really in a good location.

Room Tip: Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kyramykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Kyramykala,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne, we feel privileged we are your accommodation of choice when travelling to Melbourne. It's lovely to read that you continually enjoy our apartment design, amenities and enjoy our Guest Service Teams' friendly and helpful service. We agree with the Melbourne Emporium and also the Strand Arcade now open and located right on our doorstep, there are so many wonderful shopping and dining options to choose from!

Thank you Kyramykala, we hope to welcome you back to Somerset again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The beds and pillows were hard and uncomfortable no wifi no mini bar no biscuits. Only 4 tea bags
This was supposed to be the executive suite.for that price I have had a lot better. wouldn't recommend it . although the reception staff were very nice

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Eddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fhairie, Manager at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Eddie F,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Somerset on Elizabeth, we appreciate your feedback.
I am very sorry that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. You may like to know that we have started replacing our beds and pillows and will continue over the next few weeks.

We do have complimentary Wi-Fi in all our rooms and public areas, I apologize if this was not mentioned to you upon your check-in.

Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, they are indeed always happy to assist with any enquiry.

Again, thank you for your feedback; we do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

These two bedroom self contained apartments are spacious and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful but the best feature is the location. Handy to all of the CBD - walking distance to QV market, all the big stores and most importantly the fantastic restaurants and bars. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank libbynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear libbynz,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay with us at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with our spacious apartments, friendly staff and central location. We feel very fortunate to be located next door to some of Melbourne's best restaurants and shopping attractions, and are so pleased that you enjoyed discovering our exciting city!

Thank you libbynz, we look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was the first stop on our tour of Australia and I wish more hotels had been like this. Not fancy, but a clean, serviced efficiency apartment with washer and dryer, in the midst of upscale shopping malls, near Chinatown, plenty of public transportation and for people who like to walk, many Melbourne sites like Parliament, parks, etc. Charge for in room wifi, but there is a guest computer in lobby with internet connection.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear grip652,

Thank you for sharing your Somerset experience with our TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and felt our serviced apartments, amenities and central location created a perfect start to your Australian holiday. We hope you had fun exploring the beautiful city of Melbourne!

From all the team at Somerset on Elizabeth we hope you had a relaxing journey home.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Pros: central CBD location; helpful and friendly staff; quiet room; good showers (water pressure and heat); large, soft towels.

Cons: hard beds; room heating was a bit hit and miss (it seemed to automatically go into 'unoccupied' mode, including at night, leaving us cold); only liquid soap supplied in the bathrooms (I find this is too scented and dries the hands out plus you had to squeeze hard to dispense the soap, which can be a problem if you have arthritis or similar issue); sofa in the sitting room was hard and uncomfortable; toilet paper was of the budget variety; very little bench space in the kitchen, especially once you place the toaster and kettle on the bench; a few more (and larger) mugs and glasses would be handy in the kitchen.

Overall we had a good stay and would return. The things I have listed as Cons aren't that big a deal (except for the beds and heating!) and I guess that is how they manage to keep their rates so competitive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear TravellersCanberra,

Thank you for sharing feedback with us on your stay at Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the central location of our serviced apartments, and found our Guest Service Team both helpful and friendly.

We are disappointed however to read that there were areas of your stay that did not meet your expectations. Though it is too late for your current stay and we apoligise for this, we always like to remind our guests to contact our Guest Service Team should you require any assistance during your stay; as they would be only too happy to assist with adjusting the temperature in your apartment to ensure you enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep.

Thank you for your comments regarding the kitchen and bathroom amenities, we greatly appreciate it when guests provide us ways in which we can review our product and services. We will take your comments on board when making any future updates to our property.

Thank you TravellersCanberra, we hope you will choose Somerset when you are next visiting Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have been staying at Somerset on Elizabeth for over 6 years or more great location close to the mall and federation square easy walking to the museum , and some great restaruants in Hardware lane. Staff very friendly and helpfull. the rooms are self contained and have washing machine and dryer and a small kitchen area the rooms are like studio apartments

Room Tip: rooms facing elizabeth I prefer can be little noisy if staying on the 3rd or 4th floor on weekends p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear dee j,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your experiences with our TripAdvisor community. We feel honoured that Somerset on Elizabeth is your accommodation of choice when travelling to Melbourne. It is wonderful that you continually enjoy all aspects of your stay from our friendly Guest Service Team, fully-equipped apartments and central location to the cities key attractions.

Thank you dee j, we look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#101 of 162 in Melbourne
852 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
1,945 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne

Address: 250 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#74 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £89 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne is located in the heart of the city's central business district with a labyrinth of lane-ways, restaurants and shopping precincts only moments away. Positioned perfectly for both the business and leisure traveller, Somerset on Elizabeth offers the convenience of location and contemporary living, fused with the highlights of Melbourne's food, arts and entertainment culture. The modern serviced apartments offer 135 spacious one and two-bedrooms, each with separate living and dining areas, fully-equipped kitchens and modern amenities. The property also features a 24-hour reception, business centre services, complimentary wireless broadband internet and a meeting room; as well as a fully-equipped gym, jet pool, sauna and outdoor courtyard. It is easy to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer when staying at Somerset on Elizabeth, with easy access to transport, sporting grounds, and theatres. As well as being ideally located within walking distance to Emporium Melbourne, the Strand Arcade, H&M including popular shopping precincts Bourke Street Mall and Melbourne Central. Somerset on Elizabeth is the gateway to experiencing Melbourne's famous precincts and ever-changing culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing