We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok place, terrible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok place, terrible staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good location near southern cross train/bus station. The mad travel store downstairs was nice, great people working there. That is the only positive I can say about this dump. The staff were useless and rude, total d^%kheads. One girl just chatted away on her phone while people lined up to check in or out or ask a question at reception, stupid human just went into the room at the back to avoid doing her job. One employee (shaven head) at night said "computers are down I can't help you at all, with anything" the guest who was asking the question was asking directions for something he wanted to do the next day. You have to pay for wifi or computers (I can't understand why comanies have to gouge their guests on this (in south east Asia you stay in a guest house for five or ten bucks and they have free wifi and give you free breakfasts! One kiwi guy (kinda big guy) was useless to most of the guests, I did see him trying to help one guy who paid for his internet but it wasn't working (good job global gossip, terrible company.), the kiwi guy told him to reboot the computer, then he unplugged and replugged the router, then he basically gave up and said he couldn't help. All in all a completely useless staff, unless it was to give a guest hell for breaking one of their "rules", saw a guy have to pay a late fine for oversleeping even though he wanted to stay longer, just terrible.
The kitchen was very small for the size of the place, it is filthy and the most of the burners don't work, making it almost impossible to cook a decent meal.
I hope this place shuts down or changes owners (or at least staff!!). One last thing, in the dorms, the beds squeak like mad, it is almost impossible to sleep through the night, the person above or below you moves even the tiniest bit and it will wake you up. DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel or guesthoue
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    48
    51
    52
    79
See reviews for
Families
0
32
114
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We picked this place on a whim, we just needed a place to crash as we arrived on a late flight and were leaving on an early train the next morning. The hostel is pretty clean, we were in a 10 bed dorm and the room was huge. There was plenty of space for the 5 bunk beds and everyone's stuff, which is a rarity in hostels these days. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. Bathrooms were clean but insufficient for the number of people staying on the floor, so we spent a lot of time waiting for a toilet or shower. Location is decent, 15 minutes walk to the center of the CBD, which isn't too bad. Enjoyed our stay and would consider again on a quick stop off in Melbourne.

Room Tip: 10 bed dorms are really spacious and the beds are comfortable, even on the top bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superiorcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

i got to the hostel at 12:30AM, the power was out so could not check in. the staff working were unprofessional about the entire situation (save one younger male who was working desk- thank you), including about three young females discussing how they were "too drunk to deal with this." Totally understandable that this was beyond anyone's control but could have been dealt with better and at that point those waiting to check in after midnight (about 5 of us) should have been given a free night.

room 205 has a window that is boarded over, with a bunk pushed up against it. the overhead pipes make SO MUCH NOISE whenever people are showering or flushing which is pretty disgusting and obviously goes on all day and night. our room was also full of mosquitos...as it was rainy and cold outside i have no idea where they were coming from and we could not open a window to let them out. kitchen is very small but fridges and food storage are plenty.

i have stayed in other rooms even on the same floor before and they were much better. i think the hostel is just hit or miss really.

positives i would say are proximity to yarra and the station. showers are hot though and for the most part bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I read some really bad reviews on this place but had bed hoppers to use so booked myself in anyway.
If you want luxury this is not the place for you but if you're just looking for a place to rest your head for the night it's ok.
The location is good, right near flinders and southern cross station, this does cause a little noise disturbance but it's not terrible.
The kitchen is small for the size of the hostel but is fairly clean and useable.
Toilets and showers are very clean but are unisex which could be a problem for some people.
The rooms are fairly scruffy and in need of updating. They could also do with a good clean.
Bedding seemed clean though and overall not a bad nights sleep.
Reception were helpful and seemed friendly enough although there was a lot if new staff who did not seem to know what they were doing.
The worst thing about this hostel is security. It's not in the best area and is easily accessible to anyone off the street. My hostel room door was often left wide open during the day and night which made me feel obliged to carry all of my valuable belongings with me which isn't ideal in a big city.
I stayed for 5 nights and I have to say it's not as bad as people make out on here but it's not great either.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toughie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Location to train station was second to none, especially for early morning departures. However, this is where the positives end.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were dirty, the kitchen was too small for the number of people staying here and was also dirty, there was no hot water available in the showers, there was noise all through the night from partying and the streets as the windows did not fit properly, the internet did not work, the staff were very unhelpful, and there was nowhere to store valuables in the room.

Overall I would not stay here again, and cannot recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hostel had definite pros and cons.
Pros:
The communal bathrooms were very large, there were many showers and toilets on each floor and they were always very clean.
The location is brilliant, in the heart of Melbourne
They charge hostel prices, while it may be generally expensive in Australia it was fairly reasonably priced.
Beds were comfortable and I slept quite soundly.
Generally clean

Cons:
It is very noisy. There was a lot of noise from other people staying at the hostel and also lots of street noise from trains and trams (our window looked out onto the corner of Flinders and Spencer street).
The room wasn't conducive to sharing with strangers. I was staying there for a conference and new the other 11 people in my 12 bed dorm, however it would have been uncomfortable had I not. There was little room for luggage etc and no lockers, which wasn't very safe.
Very few power points in the room.
No drinking in the rooms (which I understand and don't mind) but there is also no drinking in the communal areas after 9pm, which is very early.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameronwhiteperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Overall this hostel was pretty good and I would stay here again.
Negatives-
Not very clean (housekeeping came in everyday but only seemed to sweep and empty bins) although the bathrooms were cleaned thoroughly everyday.
Noisy due to train line right outside and the club downstairs but I used earplugs and it was fine.
Kitchen is tiny for the number of people staying.

Positives-
Cheap rooms considering it is in the city centre.
Great location-only a 10 minute walk (or free tram ride) away from the main part of the city.
Transport links are also good-tram stop right outside, a 5 minute walk to Southern Cross station and Skybus.
Staff all happy and friendly.
Wi-Fi- slow but not badly priced. $12 for a week.
TV room with a decent list of dvds to choose from.
I also liked the fact you have to give a deposit to get a pan-saves having to hunt round for one!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loti18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 133 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 133 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#103 of 133 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 133 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads All Nations Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads All Nations Hostel

Property: Nomads All Nations Hostel
Address: 2 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads All Nations Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads All Nations Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing