We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean. Top location. Secure.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean. Top location. Secure.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at many hostels around the world this one is best for exploring Melbourne as everything is at your finger tips.

Pros:
Friendly staff
Opposite main station and tram stop
Near attractions
Very clean
Good sized locker, bring your padlock
Near Coles supermarket
Big kitchen
Lots of clean bathrooms
Comfy pillow
Personal light and powerpoint
Shelves in ensuite to put shower stuff
Secure card access
Elevator
Air conditioning on level 3 rooms
Free luggage storage
Sky bus drop you off a few minutes from the hostel

Small cons:
Wash basin in ensuite was very small, but at least soap was provided
Lots of fresh out of uni and school backpackers which is what you'd expect of course, but if you're a few years older it's hard to meet people on your wavelength
No breakfast

Keep it up!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_Bump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Mister_Bump (great name!)

Thank you very much for you kind words and taking the time to leave your feedback. It's much appreciated! We love this hostel and this city and really enjoy sharing it with all of our guests.

You're right - there is lots to love (I think you listed almost everything!) We hope to see you back at United the next time you're in Melbourne.

Safe Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    170
    58
    12
    9
See reviews for
2
40
313
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Big rooms (ours had an ensuite) , lovely old building with high ceilings , good price and in a top location. Relatively clean by backpackers standard and very nice staff to boot. Would def stay again if we come back to melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hey Cindy!

Thanks so much for leaving your feedback and your kind words. I'm super glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back at United Backpackers someday soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I booked an private ensuite room, it's better than I expect. Very cosy and comfortable, love sleeping in it. It's clean but they don't clean thoroughly once you are staying in it. They just clear the dustbins. Probably clear the hairs in ur shower. It's actually good enough but if they can vacuum will be good.. I think some rooms they do. They don't have hair dryer, so if you are like me who has first world problem which was quoted by the staff there, remember to bring your own. If you are expecting to make friends there you can forget it, as ppl there usual in a group. They are not that friendly enough to check you out and befriend you. Or maybe because I'm Asian that's why? Or I look unfriendly haha? Location are perfect! Just right opp flinders street station! Very convenience! Overall I love my stay despite not able to make new frds but that's alright I guess.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Wanderfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks in a 6 person dorm. The hostel is the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in by far in the best location in the city. It is a hostel and you're paying less than $30/night so obviously it's not going to be like a 5 star hotel, which I think some people forget when staying in a hostel (especially tripadvisor people)! They have events like pub crawls, trivia nights and walking tours. I highly recommend the walking tour. Mike from the front desk was a killer pub crawl leader, super fun and personable. The only major downside is that they have limited air con. If you're coming during their summer months, I straight up don't recommend this place. The first night I was there it was 32 degrees that day and there were 5 other people in my room and we were cooking. I couldn't imagine having no AC when it gets to 45. nope. It's also very loud at night in the rooms from the noise from the streets. I feel like there were a lot of long term people there, which gave it a really clique-y vibe, but that honestly didn't phase me at all. Overall, if it's not really hot outside, stay here. It's fun, cheap, great location, smoothly run and clean.

Room Tip: The 6 bed was perfect. It's a bigger room, less clustered than the terrifying 12-bed and easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! i'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and there was lots you loved - we think we're pretty good too! I love to hear great feedback on our awesome staff - and Mike is definitely one of the best!

You're sure right about our location - smack bang in the middle of the best that Melbourne has to offer and yes, sometimes the street can get a little noisy. That's the price you pay for this location eh!?

We hope to see you back at United someday soon!
Safe Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This is a good hostel for sure. It's clean, pretty spacious, air con in the rooms, an alright size kitchen, free wifi, a lift, nice staff, good sized single bathrooms with shower and toilet (can get really dirty with pubes and hairs all over the sink and floor but it's gonna so just wear flip flops in the shower). The only thing I feel it is lacking is atmosphere, and it really is lacking in it... They have free activities in the week but I've not met anyone to do it with because everyone is quite clichy and always go out early rather than drink in the kitchen... Even thought you can drink in here until 12am. I think when the bar is finished downstairs it will be a great place to stay! I'm not extending my stay this time though, maybe I'll come back when the bars done!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank erh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello there,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts about your stay. I'm so glad to hear there was much you loved! I especially love hearing about the nice staff! I think we have the best in the business here at United and we like to go out of our way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, so I'm sorry to hear that you felt it was hard to meet people. Like you said we have loads of free activities every week - everything from walking tours to pub crawls to free comedy nights, all events that you should definitely go on and we guarantee you'll meet people that way!

Our basement is, as you know under construction, and there are big plans for the space - stay tuned!

We hope to see you back one day soon
Safe Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hostel was definitely the cleanest I've ever seen. It's brand new (I think it just opened a few months ago) and all the rooms/common areas are super modern. The location is perfect, right in the city CBD next to Federation Square. Easy access to all transportation (directly opposite Flinders Street train station and the free tram around the city as well as other paid trams). Feels very safe & secure. It's a pretty social hostel - many people hang out in the TV room (which has lots of beanbags, super cool) and people enjoy drinking in the kitchen at night. The one downside is that people can get pretty loud, since the kitchen closes at midnight, it never really disrupts sleep unless you tend to go to sleep pretty early. There's free wifi, which is really nice, but it doesn't work too well when everyone's on it (mostly in the evenings). Overall United Backpackers is a really nice & clean hostel with friendly people and a great location - would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C, but they're a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hi Christina W!

Thanks so much for your kind words and taking the time to leave your feedback - we love hearing about it when people enjoy United as much as we do!

Our amazing clean team work around the clock to keep the hostel super clean and tidy (seriously there is someone here almost 24 hours a day!) and we work hard to create a fun and sociable atmosphere by hosting lots of free events throughout the week (and super comfortable if you do just want to chill in a beanbag)! Our amazing location makes it super easy to get out and around the city - we're right in the thick of things eh? Yep the wifi does struggle a little at peak times - and we are working on ways to improve this as I type!

We'd love to see you back here sometime soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vorselaar, België
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Relatively clean, much cleaner than other hostels apparently. Pretty cheap Awesome staff, great location right in the heart of Melbourne. Free Wifi (which doesn't work to well) They do activities every day, some are more successful than other, but I'd definitely recommend the pubcrawl and citywalk!
All in all I'm very satisfied, the only downsides are the lack of a washing room (the plans are there to build one) and that the result of free wifi is that everyone's constantly busy on their phone or laptop...

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Svenpandelaers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback - it's much appreciated! You're right - our location is right in the heart of Melbourne and the perfect base to explore this amazing city from! Just quietly I think we have some of the best staff in the business and our events program (which is constantly evolving - watch this space!) is a great way to get out and meet people (who aren't taking advantage of the free wifi!)

Like you said - our laundry room is currently under construction and will hopefully be completed soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,438 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Property: United Backpackers Melbourne
Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing