We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 comfortable nights in UB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
United Backpackers Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 comfortable nights in UB”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked 3 nights at United Backpackers and I think it was quite good.
The staff were friendly, helpful and funny :) I like them :)
I chose 12-girl-doom room and that room was almost full when I came. Everybody in my room were somehow noisy, and a bit untidy :) Rubbishes were all on my room's floor. But it was not UBs' fault, right ? :) Luckily, beds are clean and comfortable.
Kitchen is large with enough equipment for basic cooking, a bit messy, especially at about 6-8pm when everyone come back the Backpackers and have dinner :) Bathroom for girls is small but clean, maybe sometimes we need to wait for others since there are not enough spaces. There is no laundry, for me, it's fine since I bring enough clothes but if you stay there longer, it may bring little difficulty. Wifi is free in kitchen and other common areas ( not in bathroom :)) ) , and it's fast so I can eat and upload my photos taken during the day at a same time :)
For my 3-day-trip in Melbourne, I don't have any big complaint about my accommodation and really recommend others to stay in UBs :)

Room Tip: I'm sorry that I chose Terrible for Fitness centre and Swimming Pool. Actually ,there is no neit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Viet_Anh_Ngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello!

Thank you for leaving your thoughts about your stay at United Backpackers - we're glad you enjoyed your time here! I think we have the best staff in the business here at United - I'm glad you liked them too!

Yep -sometimes we can't control how tidy people are in the dorm rooms (though we try!) or make people do their dishes - though we do have staff in the kitchen from 8pm every night to try to ensure that this is getting done.

Our laundry room is currently being built in our basement - along with our brand new bar and extra communal space - I hope you get to come back and see us again soon!

Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    192
    64
    12
    9
See reviews for
2
42
356
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great staff. Great environment. Amenities are solid, location is best. Free wifi in the common areas -- the only downside to the hostel is that there's no bar there (currently in the works though!) and the wifi doesn't work in the rooms. Otherwise, awesome experience.

Stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbyJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Wow! What lovely things to say - thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts - it's much appreciated.

Don't worry! The bar is on its way - we hope to have it up and running very soon - along with our brand new laundry facilities and extra communal space.

Hopefully we will see you again soon
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked 3 nights at United Backpackers and it was a very good experience. Good value for money, very friendly staff, and very clean rooms and amazing bathroom.
There is a light and power for each bed so you don't have to look for where to plug your phone or your laptop. Very comfy pillows and bed.
The location is also great, very close to Federation Square and everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mary24560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello!

Thanks for leaving your thoughts on your stay at United Backpackers we're glad that you enjoyed your stay!

How good are those bed lights and power points!?! No more searching for the elusive power that can be such a problem in hostels eh? Thanks for noticing how hard we work to keep the building super clean - we have an amazing clean crew who work around the clock to do so.

Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here from 23 - 26 December 2013 in a four-bed ensuite. The hostel had a great location, was near several trams and the train station and was generally clean throughout. The hostel had opened recently while I was there so there were still some teething issues which I think must be ironed out now. The staff were friendly and helpful in providing recommendations.

For a more detailed review and pictures, please read: http://meowsyy.com/2014/04/26/melbourne-united-backpackers/

Room Tip: Choose the ensuite if you have some spare cash. You'll have access to single communal toilets if...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank meowsyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Meowsyy!

Thanks for leaving your feedback - and for sharing your great Vine with us - We love it!

Wow - December seems so long ago now! We had been open only a month when you stayed! I would hope that we have ironed out any of those teething issues by now (and we have!). We think we are the perfect base to explore Melbourne over a few days - smack bang in the middle of everything and with staff that love to share this amazing city.

We hope to see you back at United one day soon,
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here in January when the tennis was on. We stayed twice as went to a festival and then game back before we flew home. The hostel is in a great location, loads of streets and restaurants to explore. They organise various events such as a walk around to show you all the quirky places that are hidden away. Staff were friendly. Free wifi in the kitchen/communal areas. The place is reasonably new and lovely and clean. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hi Wayne T,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay at United Backpackers - it's really appreciated! One of our favourite things is sharing this amazing city (and all its secrets) with our guests - and with our incredible location we are are in the perfect position to do so!

We hope to see you back at United someday soon,
Happy Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A great hostel for backpackers or people spending a few nights in the city.
Good location, just over the road from flinders station, this does cause I little bit of noise disturbance if you get a room on the front but nothing terrible.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hostel was very clean, rooms immaculate. All beds have a plug socket and reading light which is really helpful for the modern day traveller. Lockers under beds are also provided. The kitchen was a good size and lots of storage shelves and fridges. Drinking is allowed in the kitchen until 12am and so it can get a bit crowded and noisy in there in the evenings but I great place to meet new friends.
There was no laundry which was a negative for me but apparently they are in the process of having one fitted.
Overall a great hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toughie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We love hearing good things about ourselves (who doesn't!).

We think we are the best located hostel in the city - smack bang in the middle of all the great things this city has to offer. Our awesome clean team work around the clock to keep the hostel spick and span - thanks for noticing! And just quietly - I think we have the best staff in the business!

Our laundry room is under construction and hopefully will be up and running soon. In the meantime we have access to a laundry just meters away.

We hope to see you back at United soon!
Happy Travels
Jess
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at many hostels around the world this one is best for exploring Melbourne as everything is at your finger tips.

Pros:
Friendly staff
Opposite main station and tram stop
Near attractions
Very clean
Good sized locker, bring your padlock
Near Coles supermarket
Big kitchen
Lots of clean bathrooms
Comfy pillow
Personal light and powerpoint
Shelves in ensuite to put shower stuff
Secure card access
Elevator
Air conditioning on level 3 rooms
Free luggage storage
Sky bus drop you off a few minutes from the hostel

Small cons:
Wash basin in ensuite was very small, but at least soap was provided
Lots of fresh out of uni and school backpackers which is what you'd expect of course, but if you're a few years older it's hard to meet people on your wavelength
No breakfast

Keep it up!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_Bump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JM_travels_sometimes, Manager at United Backpackers Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Mister_Bump (great name!)

Thank you very much for you kind words and taking the time to leave your feedback. It's much appreciated! We love this hostel and this city and really enjoy sharing it with all of our guests.

You're right - there is lots to love (I think you listed almost everything!) We hope to see you back at United the next time you're in Melbourne.

Safe Travels
Jess
Operations Manager
United Backpackers Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,031 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#68 of 160 in Melbourne
4,783 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to United Backpackers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about United Backpackers Melbourne

Property: United Backpackers Melbourne
Address: 250 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Elephant Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — United Backpackers Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and find out why travellers voted United Backpackers Australia's best hostel at the Adventure Travel Awards in 2014! It's no secret we have the best location in town right opposite Flinders Street Station and only opening in 2013 we offer you brand new facilities, heaps of sweet spaces including our funky basement bar and most importantly great value for money. Our hostel is full of personality with Melbourne's laneway culture, funky decor and quirky art throughout. All this is served up with a great atmosphere, amazing staff, cool events, top notch security and the best pillows in town! Us in a nutshell: • Accommodation for 290 travellers over 3 levels • FREE Wi-Fi in common areas • Every bed has its own power-point, reading light and locker • Sparking clean bathrooms cleaned around the clock • Designer kitchen & dining room overlooking Flinders Station with ovens and heaps of equipment, hot plates and storage • Underground Chill Lounge open 24 hours • Lost & Found our cool as, Melbourne style basement bar open 7 days • Funky TV Lounge filled with beanbags & free DVD hire • 24 Reception manned with a rock star reception team of Melbourne locals • Top class security with swipe card access, lockers in all rooms & CCTV • Cool free events to show you the real Melbourne experience • Guest laundry open 24/7 • Free luggage storage We have a variety of accommodation options to choose from so whether you are looking to share a dorm from 4 to 12 beds filled with your newest friends, or to splash out on one of our private ensuite rooms, you will find it at United Backpackers! All rooms have: • Lockers • Bedside light and power point for your charging pleasure • Lots of space • High quality, comfy beds and linen • Choose between shared or ensuite bathrooms • Swipe card access • Heating & fans (private ensuite rooms have AC) • Cleaning servicing the rooms daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your United Backpackers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing