We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs profession cleaning but would stay here again lol.”
Review of Elizabeth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elizabeth Hostel
Ranked #114 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs profession cleaning but would stay here again lol.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for about 4 days in late September and the first room we stayed in wasn't great. Had a half a window pane missing so at night it was quite noisy with the wind. Had a skylight in the room which had a fan in to circulate the air but loads of dirt and dead bugs would fall through onto the bunk bed below which was covered every day.
Then as we decided to stay an extra couple of days we changed rooms which was much better, actually had all windows intact, linen was clean, room was clean. However the curtain in the room was absolutely rancid, clearly had never been cleaned and there were about 3 plug sockets that didn't work.
It does have washing and drying facilities on every floor which work well and only cost a few dollars each.
Our sheets were washed regularly as well so people who have said that they weren't changed, the hostel has obviously learnt by now.
But despite all of this, in a really weird way this was one of my favourite hostels in my whole 7 weeks of travelling the East Coast of oz. Made some friends for life in there, got on with the staff so well and it's so easy to just chill in the reception area and drink copious amounts of alcohol which the staff don't mind, as long as you're not noisy after midnight.
I would recommend this hostel but don't expect much from it. It's quite basic but the wifi is free and does work well. That was a massive plus for me.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gazzah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    8
    18
    34
See reviews for
2
18
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we stayed here for one night...thank god. We arrived around 11pmish after travelling all day only to think we had walked into a bar/club. There was some sort of party going on in reception and could barely hear the guy behind the desk. He asked for id and kept my drivers licence...why not take a copy?? Next morning the new guy had trouble finding it....scary. The 'free wi-fi' is only in the reception area which was full of drunken idiots. One guy probably needed medical attention but his drinking buddies didn't seem to bothered. Thankfully we were 2 floors above reception so couldn't hear any of the noise down below. The bathrooms were ok....but not clean. The room was ok but only had one socket...which was behind the fridge. The top bunk had a broken base and sank in the middle...so much so, I was almost afraid to move in the night in case it fell through. Would NEVER recommend or stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Run by scummy Asians who would steal anything from you.

I had to pay a key deposit and was told to issue a receipt and I would get my $30 deposit back.

My receipt was in a sports bag with a friend. So I drove to my friends place picked up the receipt and headed back to the hostel.

I got back to the hostel after all my efforts and I was told by a new reception guy that I was late by an hour and he wouldn't give back my $30.

Hate is an understatement.!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We spent just one night there but never again, people at the reception were not friendly and the kitchen was dirty and messy.
The place is really cold, we had a bedroom with no window, doesn't matter for one night but there was a hole in the roof covered only by a thin peace of plastic.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoDall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenzhou
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

friendly staff, friendly astomesphere. The location is great, at the center of Melbourne. Close to train station and tram station and victoria market.
Room and bathroom was clean. Love the idea of walk-in cool room. Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhengxingda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It must be said that most hostels are 'average', so one can't expect too much when booking a cheap city room, but this hostel is absolutely disgusting. I at least expected a clean bed but didn't get that. The kitchen was an absolute disgrace, there were even birds flying around (and hence faeces on the cooking surfaces). I couldn't use it to cook any meals during my stay. The bathrooms weren't any better. The toilet floors were covered in urine and mud, and the showers - semen. There were 2 male showers to cater for around 30 rooms which made things difficult in the morning. Nothing was cleaned during my stay there and I doubt it had been for weeks before I arrived. The reception staff were useless and had lost my booking. I stayed in a private twin room (was more expensive than originally quoted) which reeked of cigarette smoke (as did the rest of the hostel), my bed linen hadn't been changed since the previous guest, the wifi didn't work, the power sockets didn't work. THE most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept in. I can't find one positive thing to say about this hostel. Spend the extra $10 - $20 and stay somewhere worth your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Absolutely horrendous. The picture was less than appealing online, however we were on a budget and needed somewhere to stay. When we arrived we found the room not in liveable condition, lacking the "working tv and coffee/tea" promised to us. There were white stains on the "washed linen", which smelt like a sweaty man. Down the side of the bed was an accumulation of hair, dust mites and hair clips from previous customers. The pillows were that old that they were mangled into a hard lumpy cloud which was riddled with bed mites. The pillow cases were NOT WASHED. The facilities were absolutely horrific with hair and tampons in the open bins and smelly stained toilets. We paid a miserable amount of money for the night and to be honest I would have been happier sleeping on the airport floor. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR RISK YOUR PERSONAL HYGIENE. A DISEASE INFESTED HOTEL IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanaoooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
413 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#71 of 159 in Melbourne
1,037 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#103 of 136 in Melbourne
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Europa Melbourne
Europa Melbourne
#62 of 136 in Melbourne
30 reviews
Central Business District
Milano Serviced Apartments
Milano Serviced Apartments
#37 of 136 in Melbourne
305 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Hostel

Property: Elizabeth Hostel
Address: 490 -494 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Elizabeth Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing