We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Ranked #110 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed here for over 3 months before and had a trip defining stay. It was unreal! People, staff and overall experience. I came back 6 months later for 3 days and it was a very different experience, so my review will be addressing that. The communal area/reception has been renovated and looks great but everything else has remained the same. This renovation has cost the customer a 30%+ increase for essentially the same stay experience, and they stopped the weekly rate which is another notable point. its a lot more quiet now and harder to meet as many good people, wifi is ok but no longer free and the hostel doesn't offer complimentary luggage storage anymore, also the kitchen/dining area has bugs. Seen two (one was a cockroach) on the food prep areas in two days. Don't expect to sleep past 7 am if you're on the construction side of the building, it's beyond funny how loud it is. Also, make a point in avoiding the new manageress, the big lady. She's hugely unwelcoming and clearly hasn't worked much, if ever, with customers.

Now the good points.
Most of the beds are really comfortable.
Location is awesome.
Big communal area and kitchen (pick off-peak times to cook)
Security is good,
The cafe is great but higher priced than many
I like the showers, not everyone agrees but I like them
There is a good cinema room, not great but definitely good.
The roof is perfect in the summer.

You can definitely still enjoy you stay if you prepare for the negatives but I decided to leave for a cheaper better place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review and the feedback provided – It is so important to learn how our guests feel about the Hostel and the facilities, tours and events that we provide. We are constantly updating our Hostel to give you a better experience so thanks for your patience during this time. I see you arent impressed about a few changes - The lockers in the lobby are a small charge and will keep your valuables secure, also we have installed WIFI in the entire building and again this is not expensive given $15.00 for unlimited over 7 days, so looking at it $2.14per day isn't a big ask - Prior wifi was slow and unreliable and only in the reception area, now atleast you can go anywhere in the building and still be online 24/7.
I understand your points about the rest of the building and this will be addressed next year - there is only so much we can do in 3 months. We have concentrated all our efforts on the ground floor common areas, installing a new look and feel Reception, Lobby, Guest Lounge, New Cinema, New Travel Office, New cafe. Next year you will see improved rooms, All new Bathrooms, Airconditioning and much much more. Again thanks so much for the review I really do enjoy reading everyones feedback on there personal experience.
I hope you have had a great time in Melbourne and we look forward to seeing you again soon! – Merry Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Arriving at the hostel we got a warm welcome from a few enthusiastic staff members. They were very kind. We had a double room for a few nights. We used the shared bathrooms, they were clean. The room and the hostel itself seems a bit old. And not very clean. Let say it could use some paint here and there.. Our room had only a cheap bed, and a small rack for some clothing. It was small so barely place for our stuff. Outside there were workers building something. A lot of noise came from that. And they start early in the morning!
Breakfast was alright, not so much choice: toasted bread with peanut butter/jam/pasta or serial. But you can buy some different food if you like or cook it yourself in the huge kitchen.
Lots of activities are arranged by the staff. We did the art and bar tour in the morning. Visited some nice places with great art! And some secret bars. We visited one, just try to remember the place well ;)
So overall an average score. Don't know if I would go there again or try another hostel instead.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Reception was polite, though she didn't take one step to come to me. One lift was out of action and climbing the stairs wasn't an option. Comparing my room with my previous night in a YHA hostel, I rapidly found out the benefits of a lino floorcovering - the carpet in my room was sticky with dirt. The communal showers functioned perfectly, but the mould on the walls didn't leave a good impression. One toilet cubicle provided the workers on the adjacent building site with a clear view through the window. Kitchen area was functional and well- stocked. There were builders working onsite, which mitigates my negative impression. However, i do feel that this tatty state could have been mitigated by earlier action. That said, the location was excellent, brilliant access to central Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lolopix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Discovery Hostel is located incredibly close to the CBD - just out of the door and down the street and you are there. The personell is generally nice and helpful. There is a living room with couches downstairs, as well as a kitchen with fridges. Free breakfast from 7-9 am is definitely a great thing - they have toast and cereal. The rooms are basically just beds and a locker for each, but reasonably clean. They offer free tours on some days, either walking through CBD or bus tours. I did one of the bus tours and really enjoyed it! The guy driving is one of the recepionists, he knows a lot about Melbourne and shows many hidden places and little food markets with cheap food. Make sure to go on one of these tours if you want to meet new people.
What they could do better:
There is no bathroom on ground floor, which means you have to take the elevator (cause there are no stairs to floors 3&4)...
Compared to other floors, the bathroom on 4th floor really sucks.
Only recently they announced that they don't offer weekly rates any more during peak season, which makes the whole experience a lot more expensive.
And: not their fault, but next door is a construction site, so don't expect much quiet once they start in the morning...

Room Tip: Try to get a room which is not on 4th floor and try to get one on the western side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Decent location in the CBD, slightly north of the centre but still very much walkable to all of the sights and personally I actually prefer the slightly quieter location.

I have stayed on a number of occasions and on different floors. All the rooms have been decent sizes and standard with lockable cupboards and comfortable matresses. Bathrooms are generally of a good standard and clean. The 4th floor did seem a bit shabbier in the corridoors and bathroom area which were also a bit colder and noisier due to there being an opening in the wall rather than a window and it also overlooked a working building site but the rooms were still the same good standard.

The kitchen can get busy due to the number of people staying but is a good size and there is plenty of seating. Breakfast of toast and cereal is provided between 7am and 9am. On the ground floor there is a nice cafe that serves great tasting meals for a reasonable price and a well-sized area for sitting/socialising as well as an area with couches and a TV. All the staff are very friendly and helpful.

One slight grumble is that you can't use the luggage room if you arrive before check-in or after you check-out and have to use the pricey lockers instead. Overall this is a good hostel with a good standard and atmosphere that feels more like a hotel - recommended.

Room Tip: 3rd floor seemed the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Discovery was clean, fun, and all that I needed for my stay in Melbourne. The friendly front desk staff allowed me to check in quite early, which was a blessing after my red eye flight. The rooms (bed, sheets, floor) were clean and simple. Free breakfast of bread, peanut butter, jam and cereal did the trick. The bathrooms were cleaned several times daily. There were heaps of free events and services. We hired lockers for $10 a day to store our valuables and luggage at the end of our stay. Overall, I have no major complaints about Discovery and would certainly recommend it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It was a really good hostel with very helpful and nice staff.
We did both the walking tour around Melbourne and the market tour. Both were some of the best things we did during our stay. Especially the market tour where we went to the farmer's market. It was good to see such a different part of Melbourne.
The free walking tour was really good since it gave us inspiration to what to see when walking around by ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sofia170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 148 in Melbourne
623 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#107 of 148 in Melbourne
151 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#18 of 148 in Melbourne
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#29 of 148 in Melbourne
427 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#12 of 148 in Melbourne
809 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#50 of 148 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 148 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £14 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips WiFi throughout the entire building, and if you stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQs and 24 hour reception with great local staff. For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen. Our events program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJs get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a Friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7. Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing