We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Ranked #110 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel was really easy to find. Good location with only like 20 minutes to the main federation square and really so many restaurants and shops to use. The kitchen was big enough for everyone but didn't have enough cutlery or anything like that for everyone and things were often not working. But overall I enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: I would go for one on a higher floor due to the bar being underneath the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel - which was most likely three nights too long. Discovery Melbourne is a way too big hostel with a dirty kitchen (they had someone to do the dishes for several hours) with old utensils and low quality cookers. The small room we stayed in had no decoration at all, only a double bed was placed in the middle of the room. The shared bathrooms were very dark and not particulary clean. The staff is even though helpful and the location is excellent if you are looking for a party.

Next time we are in Melbourne we'll find a different place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EirikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is a very big hostel, feels like a factory, but has everything you need. The rooms are really clean and it has a nice atmosphere. The only improvement is the kitchen, too many insects and dishes and bags and not enough utensils, cookers don't work always and not enough space in the stinky fridges.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lila123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks in a 4 share. Beds were comfy, but there was no a/c & we were nxt to building work. Even so, it was a great hostel to meet other backpackers & get drunk in the hostel bar or on the rooftop. There is also a cafe that sells decent food for a good price & a big cinema room to chill in when youre feeling a bit fragile. The worst thing about the hostel was the kitchen. Its too small for the size of the hostel & no one cleaned up after themselves. Makes meal times very irritating. Reception open 24hrs & staff are helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lufctrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I only stayed here one night, but found the 16 bed dorm a comfortable place to crash for the night. Obviously bring ear plugs so you don't have to listen to people snoring and skyping during the night. I found it to be clean wherever I went. Though I did not use the kitchen. The staff were helpful whenever I needed something. I would certainly return to this hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geelongexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hostel was pretty awful. Let's start with the size. Way too big of a kitchen and common room to actually get to know anyone. The kitchen was soooo gross. No body there cleans up after them selves, and most of the burners on the stoves didn't work. We saw multiple cockroaches and the fridges were so packed we couldn't fit our bag in. We stayed in a 14 person dorm that was also gross. I understand this isn;t the hostels fault, but people were storing food in there making it even more gross, there should be a policy against this. The worst part about the room, the outlet situation. 14 person room, and 4 outlets. 4! Luckily people in our room had power cords but if not no one would've been able to charge their phones.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed here for six nights in the twin room. The beds were great, super comfortable and the room was a good, standard size for two people. Nice, big window to let in a cool breeze through the night. I was most impressed with the fact they seem to have a different event on every day from Karaoke on Thursday nights to Fitness on Sundays on the roof :)
The only down sides are: it can be quite noisy although about 90% of this noise is from the drunk people outside (does Melbourne ever sleep LOL) and the kitchen. Oh dear. The kitchen is gross. There are cockroaches and four sparrows currently living in there. Bird poo and feather's which is just plain nasty. Could I suggest some sort of bug bomb or something? And better window covers to stop the birds coming in.
Loved the chick behind the bar - full of energy and really friendly!!
Great location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the hammer coming from next door - they are building a new apartment bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingnzkiwi274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 147 in Melbourne
623 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#107 of 147 in Melbourne
151 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#18 of 147 in Melbourne
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#30 of 147 in Melbourne
427 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#12 of 147 in Melbourne
809 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#50 of 147 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £14 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips WiFi throughout the entire building, and if you stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQs and 24 hour reception with great local staff. For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen. Our events program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJs get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a Friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7. Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing