We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap cold with unhygienic facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Melbourne
Ranked #103 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap cold with unhygienic facilities”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The showers were good. We froze as the heater in our room didn't work-staff fixed this. minimal blankets-managed to get more. Cockroaches in the kitchen and the dish washing system is a health issue. The bunks didn't have a ladder and the noise from the construction site next door was unbearable 18 hours a day.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth0274611341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Elizabeth and thank you for your review. I am not happy that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. More doonas are always avalaible from Reception if only you had asked if it was so cold. The heating situation is unusaul as most of our guests find the heating int he rooms perfectly adequate. Having a hostel the size of ours we do from time to time have issues with pests such as roaches however this is managed weekly and daily to irradicate the issue and the few you would have seen would be ones that have come out and would be dead within a few hours from the posions laid and also the weekly pest bombs that are setoff during the night. I am not sure why you think the Kitchen is a hygiene issue - All dishes are washed in Hot water and also put thru our industrial dishwashers each day. We also are inspected on a monthly and quarterly basis from the health department and pass with flying colours each time. I hope the rest of your time in Melbourne was enjoyable and I do hope you will give us another go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    139
    110
    87
    82
See reviews for
14
62
189
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you are not fussy about room fittings, this is your best best. Simple no frills double bed room with one chair and a steel rack and heater. Shared bath is really clean, staff are really friendly and surprisingly rice and spaghetti is free of charge. Lots of activities organised but we did not join, way too tired. Great simpler breakfast for the price we paid, just enough to fill you up. Location wise, extremely close Queen Victoria market. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the shared bath but not too close, a few doors away would be good. Shared bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Quiet big place, so it's good for who are looking for meet people. The room and the bathroom were clean, even those the kitchen can get a little bit messy. But that's ok considering the number of people using at the same time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucho R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

$28 per night for a shared dormitory bed. Bring own towel & soap. Shared toilet & showers. Free toast & cereal with bed and cup of tea or coffee every morning. Experience dependent on cohort of sleeping guest in dorm. If they are well behaved great experience. If not then hopefully the electronic locks on every amenity minimizes your disturbance. Find your own quiet spot in the communal living amenities and stay within your budget. Wifi is not included in price. $10 deposit for electronic key card which maintains your privacy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leads UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I loved this place! Be it staff or guests, everyone was so friendly and super nice! We stayed in a four bed dorm for 4 nights during Feb. The room was a little old and only had a ceiling fan, making it pretty warm at night and stuffy in the day. Though the hostel seemed huge for a place in the city. Staff were friendly and put on great bar nights, movie nights, BBQS and day trips. Again I was only there for 4 nights and every night they had a social gathering of some sort.

Only down side was that is was quite a walk from the centre of the city, though you can easily catch the tram. Long term parking across the road only cost $55 for 5 days (that's if you push the 'lost ticket' option when you go to pay).

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickmikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for taking your time to review Discovery - we are happy you loved your stay here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The staff is totally rude, mainly the 2 girls at the reception! The employees should smile to the guests but there this doesn't happen! The owner need get a workshop with the Xbase backpacker to learn how need be the employees! I was there and the guy that was in the same room brought some girl and started there to have a sex with her! Old rooms! Terrible place! REALLY DON'T GO THERE!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedrohfgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMngr, Front Office Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review of Discovery Melbourne- we value your feedback and are working on preventing these problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The staff were nice and the lobby was nice looking but the rest of the building was like a disused mental hospital. So depressing. Stayed for one night in a double room. Moved on to another hostel afterwards.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jimmmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenMngr, General Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi there Jim,

Thanks for your review - I am pleased you liked the look of our new Lobby - Not so sure how the rest of the Hostel looks like a Mental Hospital - Never been into one myself - We are constantly upgrading our building to improve the experience to our guests and I hope this doesnt put you off trying us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
536 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#46 of 136 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 136 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 136 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#10 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Property: Discovery Melbourne
Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing