We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel in perfect CBD location”

Melbourne International Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melbourne International Backpackers
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hostel in perfect CBD location”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Large hostel with facilities big enough to suit the amount of people staying. Kitchen always cleaned well and always plenty of tables and chairs. Clean sheets given on arrival and beds probably the comfiest of any hostel I have stayed in so far (proper mattress not a sponge camper type thing) rooms are cleaned every day and bathrooms very big plenty of showers and toilets and also cleaned to a good standard every day. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only things I would point out is the laundry facilities - all machines run off cold water which isn't a big annoyance I know but cold water doesn't clean clothes properly. The price charged for a wash is $3 which is the same as a launderette which provide hot water. Also although there was plenty of toilets and showers I found that half the showers didn't work! I had to try 3 showers before I found one that either didn't spray water out the head joint all over my clothes or make a horrendous noise. Saying this I've been back to this hostel twice and love it. Great social vibe in the kitchens especially at weekends and people from all over the world staying. In great location in the CBD with a supermarket and post office across the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Em_S_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    32
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
1
13
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Molde, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Melbourne international hostell. The straff was really nice and it was overall clean and the rooms where big and nice! The location is perfect, not even a five minute walk from Melbourne central! It's also free breakfast:) Going back there asap!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolzano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I've lived here for 1 month and had a great time here but my rating is between "Avarage" and "Very Good"! I loved the big kitchen and communal area open 24h to hang out with other backpackers.
MIB is located in the CBD and close to everything you need! ... Travel Agencies, Victoria Market, Post, ALDI and Car Rentals!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived quite early, and allowed to left our bags at the luggage room, near to cafeteria (it's at your own risk). Then we went out to QVM. It's about 10 mins walk from this hostel ..

Pretty quite during nightime. You can always chilled out at the kitchen for reading and socializing.Definitely can sleep well at night
.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilwani_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overpelt, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I've lived here for more than 2 months. This would not have happened if I didn't like it.
"Very good" is exaggerated as a rating, but there's nothing between this and average.
The hostel has a reputation for being tolerant to backpackers and their explicit lifestyle. You can drink and have fun, but they make sure it doesn't escalate. The staff are very helpful and outgoing

It's reasonably priced and the best value you can find in Melbourne. I've been to hotel discovery as well. They are decent too, but a bit more expensive and not tolerant to backpackers.

The rooms in MIB are spacious and cleaned regularly.
There's limited free internet available, but internet in the library is free until 9PM on week days so you can manage easily.

The kitchen stands out in my memories of Australia. Not because it has all possible gear, but because members gather in the evening and play legendary drinking games.

I had a great time here, and it will be in my memories forever

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoutC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

MIB is in Franklin Street (CBD). Stayed there for one night in an eight bed dorm and it was generally clean and backpackers were considerate. People at the reception area are a bit noisy but when it was "curfew" time, I was surprised to see them follow the rules! Toilets are really clean and plenty of showers so no need to wake up early and rush.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a double room for 3 nights. Good sized room with wardrobe and small coffee table. The downside is that the room is on the opposite side of the building to the bathrooms. The bed is also worn out and is in need of replacement. The room was clean and it smelt pleasant which is always good.

The reception was very helpful in sorting us out and also giving us the security cards. There is a standard $20 bond which you will get back later on.

Bathrooms are separated men and women. Your are required to use your key card to get into the bathroom which is a first for me but it does make sense. Bathrooms are clean and have good showers.

The building itself is worn down and the hallways are drab. But that adds to the character I suppose. No complaints and would stay here again if I needed.

Location is great with Melbourne central station right around the corner. Plenty of eateries around open till quite late. If you want groceries there is an aldi just across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#71 of 160 in Melbourne
1,043 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#105 of 136 in Melbourne
477 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Backpackers
Flinders Backpackers
#35 of 136 in Melbourne
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
554 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 136 in Melbourne
413 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 136 in Melbourne
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne International Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne International Backpackers

Property: Melbourne International Backpackers
Address: 450 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Melbourne International Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne International Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing