We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & very central - Definitely recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenhouse Backpacker
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This place is very well located - a 5 min walk from train station & is on 5th (+other) floors (yes, a lift!) so well away from street noise. Very slickly run & well organised & secure, they offer city walks etc and have a free evening meal once a week :-) Roof area too! - tho not recommended when temperatures are in high 30's

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Decided to try Greenhouse again on my way back from America and all I can say is I'm still very disappointed and would not recommend this to any traveler.

The "long term" dorm I was put into is tiny with 5 beds. There are 6 lockers, 2 of which are not able to be locked due to the catch being broken (therefore as the longer guest's have first pick 2 people are not able to lock things in safe keeping). The walls are very grubby. The housekeeping staff however are the only staff here who have given any enthusiasm in communicating with me in any way. The staff upstairs ignore the guests and when spoken to have a very poor attitude. Honestly, in the week that I was there I only ended up dealing with two different gentlemen and in the end figured there was no reason at all to even go to the 6th level. The 5 birth long term dorm also only has 2 power sockets, which is pointless with 5 international travelers with mobiles/ipads/smartphones/laptops. There was a 5 plug extention however was taken out due to "not being allowed" - absolutely no explanation until one of us went to the 6th level to ask for it back. There is no sound proofing between the walls either. It sounded like there was a male dorm beside us - which meant very little sleep until past midnight. They say this is a 'budget' hostel - however paying AUD$30-$39 per night for a small dorm with a lot of people is not budget. They need to up their game if they want to keep gaining guests.

Honestly the only good thing about the hostel/backpackers is the location and the fact that the city library is across the road for free internet, as the 'wifi' at the hostel really doesn't work (keeps cutting out/disconnecting/incredibly slow).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghost_of_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi Ghost,
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on you experience. I am sorry to hear you experienced these issue during your stay with us. Can you please send me an e-mail to greenhouse@friendlygroup.com.au as I am keen to investigate this personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at the Greenhouse for 3 nights, in the dorm rooms, I had 5 beds in my room, 2 bunks and one single bed. I found my room very clean and quiet as well, I didn't have any trouble to sleep at night. The view is the wall opposite your room but that's okay, all you want is to sleep anyway. The kitchen was okay, not overly clean, often dishes standing around and the dinig room was okay too, not immaculate but fine to me. Free breakfast was good, nice choice of bread and three spreads and milk. Staff not unfriendly, so I can recommend staying there, it's not even 5 minutes from the Visitor Center and supermarket which is awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mareike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Despite signs designating the bedroom floor I'm on a quiet zone and promises of night porters doing walk-throughs (debatable), I defy anyone to sleep. Do yourself a favour and pay a few bucks more to stay at the Citygate Hotel around the corner. It might seem cheaper to stay here but it's really false economy unless you're traveling as a group. I've stayed in many hostels worldwide and this one looks good on paper but that's all.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan L, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse Backpacker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Clare,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please understand that as a backpacker, we are quite a different product to the CitiGate. Still, if you would like to send us an e-mail with some more information about your stay, I can look into why it was oddly noisy during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an end of season sporting trip. Great location, clean showers and rooms. Our room was a little small and crowded but we werent in there much so wasnt too bad. Some of the floors are designated "quiet floors", so be wary of this if you want to play music and talk loudly.
Good staff who looked after us. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauds86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Big fan of this place,stayed four nights with my wife and four children,and couldn't be happier,clean,friendly,top location,will be back.
Breakfast was good and included in the price,staff helpful,no downsides,stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent experience when catch up with different backpackers. Great location. Dorm clean with personal locker. Simple breakfast to serve on daily morning. Staff helpful and convenience to book tour online or at tour desk. Skybus can be book at reception to airport, but need book one day in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 155 in Melbourne
698 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#18 of 155 in Melbourne
438 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Nomads All Nations Hostel
#82 of 155 in Melbourne
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#14 of 155 in Melbourne
835 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#58 of 155 in Melbourne
130 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
#123 of 155 in Melbourne
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Backpacker

Address: 228 Flinders Lane | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £20 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenhouse Backpackers is located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD with Flinders Street Station, Federation Square and famous cafe filled laneways less than a five minute walk away.Guests are welcomed with inclusions such as Free Daily Breakfast, Free Unlimited Internet 24/7, Free Walking Tour and more. If you are looking for even more tours and trips, see our in house Fully Licensed Travel Agency for expert experience and the best deals on trips around Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Greenhouse Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Backpacker Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing