We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed at the Ovolo for 3 nights in November. It is a very nice modern hotel with clean and spacious rooms. A little noisy due to location in the city, but it didn't worry us. Staff were very helpful. Check in was easy

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    274
    78
    29
    12
See reviews for
172
413
75
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I would like to post this without even staying there yet .If TA approves .
The phone service has been amazing .
I really wanted to stay here as a surprise for my husband and son ,after flights etc budget was tight .I rang and told them there was a good price nine with wot if. they offered to price match it .i asked how much extra for my 15 year old son ,they said that's ok "no extra " he can sleep on the lounge !
All other hotels were charging $50 extra .i confirmed this with an email and I had accidentally chose the studio with no lounge they sad no problem ,we will upgrade you to the studio suite at no charge .WOW , talk about service .I am not going until May but can't wait ,with the free mini bar and breakfast they really are in a league of there own

Room Tip: Email or phone the lovely staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cb1SandyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Ovolo Hotel with a group of friends for Derby Day weekend. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the second floor and had a great time!

The location is one of the main winning points. I typically have never stayed up this end of town and was worried it would be far removed from the action in the real central CBD. Caught a taxi from the train station and was an easy $10 fare. The hotel itself is actually really only a 10minute walk to the main mall shopping areas (so not far at all!) and its own location is fantastic. There are an amazing group of restaurants and bars in the immediate area to try (Siglo, a great rooftop bar is just around the corner) and the theatre round the corner also means there is plenty of activity and things going on.

The hotel was clean and modern with quality amenities. The complimentary mini bar was great for the basics like juice, water and beer and the free muffins/pastry breakfast is a nice little way to start the day. You can grab them on the run on your way out, or take some back up to your room as you get ready.

The only downside would have been the noise form the other rooms, just felt it was a bit louder than the hotels I have stayed at in the past (particularly because we were by the lift as well) but it wasn't nothing too bothersome to really complain about.

I think the thing that makes this hotel stand out is its attention to detail and the little 'extra' things (like the free minibar and breakfast) that really help. You really feel like a valued guest in the hotel when they take care of those little things other hotels don't.

All in all, a fab place to stay on your trip to Melbourne!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I didn't know what to expect as this was the first time I had stayed in a boutique hotel in Melbourne and the first time in this chain. The room I had was a one bedroom suite, it was a good size and the bathroom was large. Free drinks in the fridge, nice touch. The room had not much of a view, basically a brick wall and a couple of windows of the next building, but not unexpected in a low rise building. As we were out all day, this was not a major downside. The good stuff: wi fi, free drinks and pastries at the reception, comfortable bed, two tvs, one each in the living room and bedroom, very friendly staff who were extremely helpful with restaurant bookings, etc. The not so good stuff: sink in the bathroom too small, no choice of pillows, doors are a little thin, we could hear other guests in the corridor.
The price for the room was very reasonable, I'll be back, as Arnie might say.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
368 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

RECOMMENDED: This is a new hotel located near Melbourne's China town and centrally located to theaters and restaurants. This is the first int'l location for this well known Hong Kong management company where they normally operate high quality serviced apartments.

This hotel opened in late August 2012 and their rates are relatively low as they establish themselves, thus the value:price ratio is very good. I anticipate rates will increase so now is a good time to book.

I'm a big downer on Australian hotels, the quality in general is not up to int'l standard based upon my travels. I'm happy to say this hotel ranks a 4* on my worldwide scale.

The hotel is small and the reception is tiny but the staff during my stay were excellent and accommodating. Rooms are studio, large 1 bedroom, 1 bedroom separate, 2 bedrooms and Penthouse. In short, they adjusted the rooms to fit the existing building.

The rooms are "warm & inviting" full of cute little things that will make your visit all the more fun. There is an open mini-bar, free snacks and a complete entertainment system (awesome). Lighting was good with LED low energy but bright white lights. Flooring is a composite wood that is nice on your feet. Bedding was comfortable. Overall I was quite comfy here.

Internet is FREE. This is a my biggest peeve as Australian hotels charge upwards of $25 a day for Internet, bordering on criminal.

As to negatives, I can't recommend the studio room (which I had) sadly the sink in the bathroom was literally the size of a toaster and it was impossible to use without getting the entire floor wet. There is also nearly no storage in the bathroom. Amongst all the positives, this would have driven me crazy for a longer visit. As well, taking a shower (beautiful rain shower head BTW) got the entire room wet as well. Luckily, they provide a large supply of nice towels. Studios are perhaps better for a single traveler.

This is an active area and it was a colder night and I heard no people noise from the street, but at 6 a.m. the trash trucks could be heard. The building is literally surrounded by noise opportunities and together with relatively close rooms, I wonder what the noise level may be like when operating full on a drunken Friday night.

I got a peek at the 1-bedroom and the bath sink was much bigger (& acceptable) so your mileage will vary.

Overall, this is an excellent and welcome addition to the Melbourne scene and I hope it forces other hotels to improve their game.

TIP: Skip the pub next door, awful food

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Not up to expectation. Definitely not the hotel if you have claustrophobia. Glass bricks instead of windows and poor ventilation, even in bathrooms. Free pastries in the morning a nice touch but not enough to make me come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear LAH22,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted through your ratings to see you enjoyed our location, service and cleanliness. Whilst Ovolo Melbourne does have a selection of rooms with glass bricks a majority feature large panoramic windows that allow an abundance of natural light to enter the room. I understand through your review that you would prefer to stay elsewhere when next in Melbourne, having said that I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to Ovolo in the future. Should you wish to give us a chance to redeem ourselves I would be delighted to personally assist you and ensure your room features full external windows.

Kind Regards,


Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

A neat Boutique hotel with a great feel about it. Service was superb and very comfortable. Everything included with free wifi and drinks. Tasty breakfast. Quiet and close to theatre and restaurants.The best shower in any Hotel I have been in Australia

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank muzza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,546 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Property: Ovolo Laneways
Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing