We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very comfy”
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

I have wanted to find a comfortable place to stay when I am down in Melbourne and I think I've found it. I guess it helped I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite. Regardless the room was comfortably furnished and modern. Gorgeous bathroom-but the shower leaked. Well appointed lounge room. Apple TV that works. Free Internet. Free goodies and minibar in the room. Just gorgeous. Front of house staff were friendly. Definitely coming back here again, if I can. Warning though, it is in a block in the middle of the theatre district. No natural sunlight, no view. If these are important to you. You may wish to stay elsewhere. IMHO the great other features make up for this.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank robkielty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    277
    78
    29
    12
See reviews for
174
417
76
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

A new boutique hotel at Spring St end of Little Bourke St. Clean fresh contemporary fit out of the room which was spacious, with a very comfortable bed and huge flat screen tv. Lots of freebies! Friendly, helpful staff at reception. Due to its location, the room had little natural light, looking onto a lane way and a big brick wall. Rooms not noise proof. The kids next door woke us at 7am!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Little Bourke St
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimboonDistillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed in the Penthouse for two nights - thought I would try the Ovolo instead of the Crown as it was new and seemed like it was in a good location. I made the right choice. There were two bedrooms (great as couple as we used one to store all our shopping) on either side of the living/kitchen area which was a decent size and had a Pinball machine in the corner which was great fun. The outdoor deck was a decent size and the hot tub was perfect when arriving back to the room in the early hours of the morning. I thought I would struggle not having room service etc, but with amazing places to eat right outside the hotel and staff that were fantastic at suggesting places to go, I found the experience far superior to what I had expected. As mentioned by most reviews, the free drinks, snacks and WiFi are of course a welcome addition.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My family of four loved this hotel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that had a dble room and 2 singles and best of all 3 large televisions. On check out we had to pay for nothing extra. The free mini bar included bottles of water, mineral water both plain and flavored, thai beer and white wine. This was re-stocked daily. If that wasnt enough there is happy hour between 5 and 7 where you can go and chat and have a drink in the lobby. On arrival we recieved 2 goody bags with tim tams, lollies, mints and chips. Breakfast was fine with a help yourself policy to Nespresso coffee, orange juice, apples and huge trays of pastries from the lobby area. Our room was on the fourth floor and had plenty of natural light to the point of being quite warm after returning from a day out. Yes the bathroom shower with its modern design of no door leaks everywhere and yes they are aware of the design fault. But really that was our only problem. The staff were handy with tips on where to eat and drink nearby and a particular thank you to Matt who is amazing. They organised an earlier check in for us and organised a taxi to the airport. This hotel is a less than 5 minutes to the tram stop that offers the free city tram and the 86 that takes you to Bourke St, Spencer St Station, the Casino, the stop for the restaurant tram and to Docklands. The position is fabulous. You are at the end of China Town with heaps of great restaurants and the theatres are in walking distance. We had a fabulous stay and would recommend. Only comment and it didnt effect us is that the bedrooms are smallish and would struggle to hold two large suitcases in each. Not an issue for us though. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are sunny and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

The stay at Ovolo hotel in Melbourne really exceeded lur expections. Great Location with a well furnished and spacious two-bedroom apartment. Wifi, drinks, snacks etc all for free! Also we could stay in the room over the full following day without any extra costs! The reception was really friendly and helpful, and helped with dinner booking and other arrangements.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kakan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Overall, I am quite impressed with Ovolo and the experience is consistent with most of the reviewers to-date. There are a lot of good things going for it, but at the same time there are some issues.

The "good": (i) great location, (ii) good size rooms, (iii) new modern furnishing, (iv) free wifi, (v) all inclusive rate (drinks and light breakfast), (vi) friendly staff

The "not so good" - (i) many reviewers have written about the sink and I concur (one bedroom apartments have the same tiny sink; not only was it small 1/3 of it was covered by the shelf above and it was also placed so low I cannot wash my hands without bending my knees; (ii) housekeeping - on the day we check in we found plenty of hair (of all kinds) over the pillows and blanket which made us doubt if the housekeeping staff actually replaced the linen between stays (the front desk was helpful and simply moved us to another room with clean linen); (iii) there was a lot of cigarette smell in the hall and also coming from the aircon and we think front desk should be more strict in making sure their guests do not smoke in their rooms; (iv) windows - for those facing the back there are no windows per se, just glass blocks that let in natural light.

While I provided plenty of feedback on the "not so good", overall we had a good stay. There are minor issues that can easily be resolved over time and most problems were rectified quickly by the friendly staff.

Room Tip: For those struggling with the small sink in the toilet, don't forget you also have the kitchen s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed at the Ovolo for 3 nights in November. It is a very nice modern hotel with clean and spacious rooms. A little noisy due to location in the city, but it didn't worry us. Staff were very helpful. Check in was easy

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
992 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,745 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Property: Ovolo Laneways
Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing