We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Melbourne”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was very comfortable for 4 of us. We also enjoyed the extra perks and the great location in China Town and near the Circle Tram route as well as the very friendly and efficient service from the staff. The apartment was serviced daily unless requested otherwise.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Di V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

We loved our three nights at the Ovolo Hotel. Our one bedroom suite, room 108, was large, clean and comfortable. It's also set back from the main hallway and very quiet. I admit to being a little freaked out about the steep step down from the kitchenette level to the sitting room. If I were traveling with young kids or someone who sleepwalks, I'd want another room.
But the perks...the Nespresso machine in the lobby open and available and free all morning and all day--such a cool thing. The juices, water, beer and wine both in the lobby and in the room mini bar were welcome as we experienced quite the heatwave while in Melbourne. There's a washer and dryer for guests to use up on the second floor and it's free.
Location is convenient--even though we bought Myki cards, we walked most every where we went. And the staff treated us as though we were the only people in the hotel, they were gracious and extremely helpful.
If we ever make it back to Melbourne, we'll stay at the Ovolo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2020trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ovolo for 5 nights and were very happy with our time there. Great customer service, nice perks included in the costs, funky set-out hotel and a great location.
We had no faults with our stay and found the location awesome with some great little places nearby to grab a coffee and breakfast should you miss the grab and go breakfast the hotel provides.
Rooms only have marbled blocks for windows - but really, when all you would see is another building and an alleyway, you only want the light, not the view or the noise!
Thanks Ovolo, was awesome!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel are quieter - though Lt Bourke St is hardly a major road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlos_yogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I stayed here the night before my wedding. The staff were very accomodating, the room was well sized and quiet especially given its location.

Free mini bar, WiFi and Apple TV made it a very comfortable and relaxing evening - just what I needed.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Have to agree with all the other reviewers on this retro/funky hotel, yes the sink is smallish but you are only cleaning your teeth in it! The freebies and wifi etc and the additional extra touches are great. We stayed in a 2 bed suite for 4 nights and found the beds were very comfy, however our disappointment was with the room cleaning which was not their strong point - skirting boards, floors and hidden areas were not cleaned, and remained so for the duration of our stay despite having the room serviced daily. Ensure you are fully informed on their policy of deposit vs payment (seems they like the full payment plus daily bond up front) failure to do so may result in being locked out of your room! Overall, the location was ideal and the perks offered make it a worthwhile accommodation venue

Room Tip: Take a room as far away from the elevators as possible; you will get noise from guests in rooms abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Just spend the night at the Ovolo - greeted by funky music and 2 lovely girls in the small intimate reception. A big nespresso machine for unlimited coffees awaits and underneath is a stocked bar which you can grab a beer or wine from for happy hour between 6 and 8pm. Loved the furnishing - modern but really functional. Mini bar had 2 beers, 2 wines, 2 waters and 4 upmarket softdrinks - free. A snack bag had chips, nuts, choc bar and more. Bed was super comfy. We had room 404 - a studio suite - just the right size with an L lounge and desk as well as the bed. I think the studio room might have felt too small for us. As all the other reviewers say the sink in the bathroom is very small but it wasn't a problem really. They have quite a few room configurations and our room had an interconnecting door (to somewhere) so would be good if you had kids. Couldn't hear any traffic noise but gaps under the doors let a bit of the hallway noise through like the lift dinging etc - but nothing that bothered us too much. TV had full cable channels and excellent reception which is sometimes a problem. Location was really good - very close to Parliament station and trams of course and yum cha in china town! Would be go back again and recommend this hotel - absolutely.

Room Tip: dont think you'll have a view from any rooms - we had a studio suite - 404 (5th floor is top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ains2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had high hopes for this hotel and were not disappointed. The service was great, room was very pleasant and it's an excellent location with good food around the corner on Bourke St and at the edge of Chinatown. Although they are going for an "upbeat" vibe in fact the hotel was very quiet and even felt a little secluded although it is in the middle of the city. The complimentary items were a nice touch, and good to find cool drinks in the fridge each night, but even better was the wi-fi which despite a slightly cumbersome login protocol was reliable and free, as it always should be but rarely is. Staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to get us a cab on a busy, rainy work day. Nice products in the bathroom, and nice tea &c supplied. Quality all the way. I'm planning on staying here next time I visit Melbourne: have been to quite a few hotels that have been quite good in various ways, but Ovolo brings it all together.

Room Tip: The one-bedroom suite was very spacious and not much dearer than a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa_hardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
783 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,501 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#4 of 161 in Melbourne
746 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,585 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £118 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing