We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Ovolo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the Ovolo!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

One of my favorite hotels that I stayed in during my recent trip to Australia. It is a small hotel, and very quirky, but in a very fun way. I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, and it was awesome! Beautiful contemporary decor, with a really comfortable shower and bed. The location is ideal, right on the edge of Chinatown and adjacent to the Parliament. You are about a 15 minute walk away from the Flinders St. station and the Yara river. Concierges were extremely helpful, confirming two of my tours and booking a Skybus transfer back to the airport. Lots of free perks--the minibar, local phone calls, and high speed wifi are all free!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DoctorWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear DoctorWHK,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for positing such positive comments from your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you were able to take full advantage of our freebies, were able to enjoy your upgrade and that our staff were able to add to your experience in Melbourne.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    269
    76
    28
    12
See reviews for
171
399
72
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I recently stayed with my sister in this lovely little hotel and was really impressed. In a fantastic quiet location, central to all amenties including Parliament Station - great if you are travelling via public transport. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a One Bedroom Apartment which was gorgeous, well equipped with a bar fridge, glasses, bowls and a microwave. We really appreciated the FREE Loot Bag and Mini Bar - amazing and with the free drinks happy hour - it was a perfect start to our night out. It is the little extras WIFI, Coffee, Grab and Go breakfast etc that really make this place stand out from competitors. The customer service was exceptional at all times and not at all pretentious as can often be the case with Boutique hotels. My only complaint is in relation to your housekeeping service, I dropped my glasses on the floor and was confronted with an awful mess under the couch upon picking them up, other than this the cleanliness of the hotel room could not be faulted. This however has not stopped me from wanting to return and I look forward to bringing my family to stay in the near future.

Room Tip: A room facing little Bourke street is just lovely, loads of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryred55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear cherryred55,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive thoughts from your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you and your sister enjoyed time with us and that you were able to make the most of our freebies!

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the surprise under the couch and be assured that the issue has been raised with our housekeeping team to ensure it remains an isolated event. I am glad the issue did not deter you from wanting to return.

Please be sure to contact us directly when planning your next trip to Melbourne so our team can personally assist you.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

When visit Melbourne recently I was looking for somewhere interesting to stay and wow did this fit the bill.

Pros: the freebies! free wifi, free coffee, free minibar, free goodie bag, the free breakfast is great- take some pastries on the way. the malin and goetz toiletries were a huge advantage. The room is wonderfully decorated and they make great use of the space. Located in Chinatown and within walking distance to a lot of places. The friendly staff

Cons: The room and bathroom could use a little more room, however they have utilized the limited space very well! Due to the tight space it doesn't always feel very private.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel. So much thought has been put into every little detail and the quirky features shine through. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wishwellingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear wishwellingtons,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that we now rank as your "new favourite hotel".

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great Melbourne CBD option for those who value:

Free (actually fast) Wi-Fi
Free booze, free snacks
A few creative touches
Huge "creative" table with space to actually work (not one of those old-fashioned hotel desks)
Apple TV & Foxtel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktownluv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear ktownluv7,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for posting your comments from your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you were able to enjoy our unique offering. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for three nights in October, in a one-bedroom unit with our 2-year old son. The location in the Central Business District, near Chinatown, is excellent. This is a small, intimate hotel with quirky little touches like doors painted in rainbow hues. The room itself though was more conservatively styled in an attractive, modern way.

What stood out most was the amenities, in particular the free "grab and go" breakfast that consisted of a good selection of fresh pastries and decent espresso from a capsule machine. It's no breakfast buffet, but for a quick and easy start to the morning it was much appreciated. The free drinks and beers in the minifridge was also a nice touch. We never used it, but having free self-laundry facilities is also a rare but very convenient feature in a central city hotel like this one.

Room Tip: Our one-bedroom unit was perfect because we were traveling with a toddler. We put the crib in the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelonious2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Thelonious2,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our array of freebies and found our location ideal for you and your family.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again some time soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here a while back in a Studio room with my partner and I can safely say that this is still on the list as one of my favourite hotels. The prices are very reasonable (I purchased on sale), but that doesn't mean you miss out on much at all! The hotel offers lots of freebies including a delicious grab-and-go breakfast as well as an unlimited mini-fridge with free beer and wine :D

The room was very nice, fun and a little quirky which I loved. They were also clean and the beds comfortable. The curtains provided good light blockage - perfect for a sleep-in. The hotel puts effort into the little things, down to the hotel slippers (super comfy!) and bathroom amenities, just to name a few.

The location is very central and perfect for sight-seeing around the Melbourne CBD. Staff are also very friendly and helpful.

Strongly recommend if your looking for a cheaper place to stay that doesn't skimp on quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25evelynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear 25evelynp,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for the great review from your past stay with us. It is nice to learn that you were able to enjoy your time with us and found our offering good value. I am glad our location was perfect for your time in Melbourne you enjoyed and that staff were able to add to your experience.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Took a trip down to Melbourne earlier in the year and chose to stay at this new boutique hotel.

Firstly I must say the main selling point for me was the free mini bar, free happy hour and free wifi. I cannot say I have ever been to a hotel that has offered so many freebies. They also have a cute 'grab and go' breakfast each morning ( also free) which is held down in the lobby. So many delicious pastries to choose from and fresh coffee. We opted out of the that though most mornings and walked just across the street to a little Cafe/bakery and had bacon and eggs which was delicious.

The hotel is pretty much situated at the top of the Bourke Street which was great because it's right beside a tram station, just a short walk away. China Town again is only a short walk down the road and that is where we spent most of our nights eating dinner. Also I might add that if you catch the Skybus from the airport to Southern Cross station they offer a free transfer to 'selected' hotels and Ovolo Hotel is on their list- although might I add on the Skybus website it was not when I looked. I put this down to the hotel being quite new.

The room was lovely, bathroom a little small but nothing we couldn't handle. We opted for the studio suite as we were staying in Melbourne for 5 days so we needed a little extra space. The little lounge and tv set up was perfect and the room was mostly quiet. We had a couple of nights when we were kept awake by people outside stumbling home and visitors in the room beside us. The walls are thin but you get that everywhere. They settled down and we slept fine. The bed was comfortable too. ALSO seeing as though we stayed in the middle of winter I must say the room was always lovely, cosy and warm.

I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for somewhere a little different to stay. The staff were lovely, they were helpful and very polite. Also the freebies really do make you feel as though you are getting a much better deal than the surrounding hotels and frankly I'd have to say you most certainly are.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeashaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh N, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear LeashaAnn,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne!

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on TripAdvisor. It was great to learn that you were able to enjoy our long list of freebies and made the most of our location and enjoyed all the hotspots in our local area.

Kind Regards,

Josh Noonan
General Manager
Ovolo Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
893 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
7,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Property: Ovolo Laneways
Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing