We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A stone's throw away from the entrance to Chinatown, this hotel is close to all the major attractions and restaurants. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and they even have a staff picks board which recommends places to go around the city. The rooms were well equipped, wi-fi was good, mini-bar was free, and they offered free breakfast pastries in the lobby. The elevators were a bit loud but I was told they were gonna be fixed soon. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face Little Bourke Street if you want a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Lance Y,

Thanks for the review on Ovolo Melbourne.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to check out the 'Staff Picks' board, I hope the team gave you some great Melbourne recommendations.

You are correct in saying that the lifts are being upgraded, in no time they will be quite swanky. You must come back soon to check them out.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Ovolo is a unique boutique hotel that has it all. Upon arrival you are told about all the fabulous things Ovolo has to offer such as the free mini bar, loot bag and the grab & go breakfast which I must say it quick and delicious. A nespresso machine is by the front door for your coffee fix which once again I must add is free. The rooms are large and funky. A large corner sofa is framed by a colorful rug and a bean bag. Apple TV is available in the room, which you can even sync your iPhone. The bathroom is small but funtionable, every space is filled with high end furnishings. The location is amazing, the top end of china town which is so convenient when wanting to try the fantastic food Melbourne has to offer. There is some slight noise on the weekend nights however that's what you get when your staying in the CBD, it didn't interupt my sleep what so ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Georgia F,

Many thanks for your review on the Ovolo Melbourne.

So wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see you return again soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for the weekend. Excellent location for proximity to Chinatown and live theatre. The room decor was funky but only went halfway, with the non-funky half suggesting that management didn't have the money or flair to carry it off in the way that the QT hotels do. I agree with other reviewers that the bathrooms are not very functional. There was a lot of street noise at night too. The Ovolo website indicated that breakfast was included but this amounted to pastries on the way through the reception area as there is no restaurant or formal breakfast area. It is nice to feel like you are getting something for nothing with the free minibar, but for mine this does not make up for the deficiencies mentioned. Not a bad place but not a hotel I am likely to return to.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear cathrob1

Many thanks for your recent review.

I am glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and the inclusions but disappointed to hear that you would not reconsider returning to the hotel.

Whilst there other hotels in the Market with design style rooms we like to state that we are 'quirky' as we do not want to pigeon hole ourselves too much, this way we can appeal to everyone. We also want people to feel as though they are in hotel setting but with small points of difference, like the mini bar and wi-fi.
You also mention the breakfast offering and our lack of restaurant. We state that our breakfast option is Grab N Go as we don't have catering facilities on site. The concept is to make yourself a coffee and grab a croissant on the go. I will look to the website wording however and ensure this is how the offering is being portrayed.

I am hoping that with these clarifications of our offerings, style and breakfast you may now have a different idea of our brand and where we sit in the market and can return to check out the hotel on another occasion.

If so...please give the hotel a call directly and one of our staff will be able to assist.

Warmest Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Ok. It's a cool looking hotel. It's also great that the mini bar is free and it is funky. Unfortunately we moved rooms and it got no better. From 10-11:30 you'll have people leaving bars as well as the beginning of the club base shaking the windows. 11:30 - 2. If you are at the front of the building, enjoy drunken shouting. Mostly the 'c' word. At the back (I am currently in room 308) the base from the club next door will really kick in. 2-4 enjoy glass bottles being poured into metal bins by various club and bar cleaners, and finally, 5-7 the trucks stop, rev and reverse, complete with warning beeps. Would not and will not recommend if you want to sleep-a basic requirement from a hotel for me

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Charlie C,

Many thanks for the review on Ovolo Melbourne.

I am glad to hear that you liked the vibe here at Ovolo however disappointed at your lack of quality sleep.

Unfortunate for us, the venue to the rear of our building has been closing it's doors throughout the month of May. It has now officially taken place with noise subsiding, allowing for our guests to get a more peaceful night's sleep.

I do hope that you can return to the hotel and regain faith in Ovolo as a preferred brand.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our second visit to Ovolo and were pleased to find that the service and atmosphere hadn't changed. We still had all the freebies, eg first class toiletries, fridge full of free drinks which were replaced daily, happy hour downstairs each evening, free coffee machine in foyer all day, free pastries for breakfast etc. Also the excellent attitude and service from the front desk staff was also the same. The only thing that had changed was that they charged an extra percentage for using your credit card. This really irks me. How else are we expected to pay? With cash perhaps! I don't think so. Anyhow it seems to be the regular practice these days.

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the back of the building as the front rooms can be quite noisy when the hipsters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Sue P,

Many thanks for the review on Ovolo Melbourne.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and like the hospitality of our staff, I will be sure to pass on your positive comments.

As for the credit card surcharge we are following trend and implementing this at the hotel due to the terminal fees from the banks. It's unfortunate but I appreciate your understanding.

We hope to see you return soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel in a one bedroom suite for three nights.

PROS: This place was very modern and chic - a boutique hotel right in the heart of the city. Within walking distance of everything. The people at reception were always very friendly and VERY helpful. There are many free newspapers, free maps, free wine/juices/water and free breakfast (pastries) in the lobby every day. As if that weren't enough, when you get to the room....

The one bedroom suite was very roomy, with a separate living room (large sofa, DVD player and flat screen TV), a kitchen and desk area, a separate bedroom (with plenty of closet space, a digital safe, an iron and ironing board and a flat screen TV) and separate bathroom. There were dishes, a microwave, a coffee maker, mini fridge stocked with free wine/juices/water, a free goody bag full of snacks (nuts, mints, gummy bears, etc.), two pairs of free slippers and a free rucksack! WiFi was also free. The bathroom had Malin & Goetz and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, a rain shower head and good water pressure. There is also a free laundry room (free detergent included), but we did not get to use it. Local calls are also free.

CONS: The bathroom design is very badly planned - there is no shower stall door, so when you shower, water goes everywhere no matter how careful you are. The bathroom light and the fan are connected, so when you shower, you cannot turn off the fan and the bathroom gets very cold. Worst of all, the single sink is VERY tiny (couldn't have been more than 12 in x 12 in) with a 3 inch ledge hanging directly over it, so it is impossible to wash your face without water getting everywhere. The elevator made these worrying lurching and groaning noises. We had a street view, so ask for a higher floor, since you can hear the street noise easily on lower floors.

I wish they could fix the issues I have with the bathroom, but overall, I would definitely stay here again despite them. In this day and age when you feel nickeled and dimed to death over every little extra, the freebies galore was so wonderful. The place is a gem!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milril44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear milril44,

Greetings from Ovolo Melbourne.

Thanks for the review. Whilst mostly positive there was a but.....

Firstly, so glad to hear you felt the concept of Ovolo was about giving back which is exactly what we are trying to achieve. I am also glad to hear the service you received was great, I will be passing this on to my team.

Now, for the 'buts'. I will agree that the bathroom can be smallish including the sink. This is something that we are trying to work on with our design team. We have limited space but will hopefully come together with a more functional design.
As for the lifts, the reason for the noise is the current replacement of the lift motor. I will actually be using your review to get the ball rolling on this as myself and the team and wanting this project to be finished yesterday!

Thanks again for the review, we do hope to have you stay with us again, hopefully by this time the small issues will be rectified.

Safe Travels,

Kelly O'Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely staff, nice room, clean,comfy bed. 1 bed suite. Restocked fridge each day, grab and go breakfast was very good and can be taken back to room to eat in comfort, coffee really nice, evening happy hour, great location would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5star199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear 5star199,

Thanks for the Awesome review! Glad to hear you had a great stay!

Safe Travels,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
762 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,481 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
1,191 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
736 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £111 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing