We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ovolo Laneways
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oaks on Lonsdale(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
The Crossley Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Rydges Melbourne Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,178)
Filter reviews
1,178 results
Traveller rating
754
295
83
33
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
295
83
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barapple tvfree happy hourgoodie baglolly barfree wififree lollyrestocked dailystudio suitegreat locationfunky hotelprincess theatrecoffee machinethought of everythingbourke streetbathroom sinklittle extras
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
834 - 839 of 1,178 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our Family of Four Stayed here for a few days over Easter . The location was great especially if you want to be near the Theatre district or the Restaurants round Chinatown. Handy enough for shopping as well. The free mini bar is a nice touch but the free grab and go breakfast was really good. The pastries were fresh every day and the coffee machine was excellent. Rooms were spacious with a slightly funky twist. Bathroom is on the small side but quite adequate and the free toiletries were better than the usual.
Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Steveanator,

Thanks for the review.

Glad to hear yourself and the family had a great stay. I hope you found the bunny ears in your room and managed to get a selfie for our Easter Promo. If not, there is always next year!

Hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A stone's throw away from the entrance to Chinatown, this hotel is close to all the major attractions and restaurants. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and they even have a staff picks board which recommends places to go around the city. The rooms were well equipped, wi-fi was good, mini-bar was free, and they offered free breakfast pastries in the lobby. The elevators were a bit loud but I was told they were gonna be fixed soon. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face Little Bourke Street if you want a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Lance Y,

Thanks for the review on Ovolo Melbourne.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to check out the 'Staff Picks' board, I hope the team gave you some great Melbourne recommendations.

You are correct in saying that the lifts are being upgraded, in no time they will be quite swanky. You must come back soon to check them out.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Ovolo is a unique boutique hotel that has it all. Upon arrival you are told about all the fabulous things Ovolo has to offer such as the free mini bar, loot bag and the grab & go breakfast which I must say it quick and delicious. A nespresso machine is by the front door for your coffee fix which once again I must add is free. The rooms are large and funky. A large corner sofa is framed by a colorful rug and a bean bag. Apple TV is available in the room, which you can even sync your iPhone. The bathroom is small but funtionable, every space is filled with high end furnishings. The location is amazing, the top end of china town which is so convenient when wanting to try the fantastic food Melbourne has to offer. There is some slight noise on the weekend nights however that's what you get when your staying in the CBD, it didn't interupt my sleep what so ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Georgia F,

Many thanks for your review on the Ovolo Melbourne.

So wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see you return again soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for the weekend. Excellent location for proximity to Chinatown and live theatre. The room decor was funky but only went halfway, with the non-funky half suggesting that management didn't have the money or flair to carry it off in the way that the QT hotels do. I agree with other reviewers that the bathrooms are not very functional. There was a lot of street noise at night too. The Ovolo website indicated that breakfast was included but this amounted to pastries on the way through the reception area as there is no restaurant or formal breakfast area. It is nice to feel like you are getting something for nothing with the free minibar, but for mine this does not make up for the deficiencies mentioned. Not a bad place but not a hotel I am likely to return to.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise at night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear cathrob1

Many thanks for your recent review.

I am glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and the inclusions but disappointed to hear that you would not reconsider returning to the hotel.

Whilst there other hotels in the Market with design style rooms we like to state that we are 'quirky' as we do not want to pigeon hole ourselves too much, this way we can appeal to everyone. We also want people to feel as though they are in hotel setting but with small points of difference, like the mini bar and wi-fi.
You also mention the breakfast offering and our lack of restaurant. We state that our breakfast option is Grab N Go as we don't have catering facilities on site. The concept is to make yourself a coffee and grab a croissant on the go. I will look to the website wording however and ensure this is how the offering is being portrayed.

I am hoping that with these clarifications of our offerings, style and breakfast you may now have a different idea of our brand and where we sit in the market and can return to check out the hotel on another occasion.

If so...please give the hotel a call directly and one of our staff will be able to assist.

Warmest Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Ok. It's a cool looking hotel. It's also great that the mini bar is free and it is funky. Unfortunately we moved rooms and it got no better. From 10-11:30 you'll have people leaving bars as well as the beginning of the club base shaking the windows. 11:30 - 2. If you are at the front of the building, enjoy drunken shouting. Mostly the 'c' word. At the back (I am currently in room 308) the base from the club next door will really kick in. 2-4 enjoy glass bottles being poured into metal bins by various club and bar cleaners, and finally, 5-7 the trucks stop, rev and reverse, complete with warning beeps. Would not and will not recommend if you want to sleep-a basic requirement from a hotel for me

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Charlie C,

Many thanks for the review on Ovolo Melbourne.

I am glad to hear that you liked the vibe here at Ovolo however disappointed at your lack of quality sleep.

Unfortunate for us, the venue to the rear of our building has been closing it's doors throughout the month of May. It has now officially taken place with noise subsiding, allowing for our guests to get a more peaceful night's sleep.

I do hope that you can return to the hotel and regain faith in Ovolo as a preferred brand.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews