We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ovolo for girls weekend”
Review of Ovolo Laneways

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ovolo Laneways
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ovolo for girls weekend”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment, rooms have great natural light and are fitted out with funky yet minimal design. Appreciated the welcome loot bag of goodies and complimentary minibar (juice, water, beer and wine) in the room. Breakfast pastries / coffee on the run in the morning was also a very nice touch. Great location for restaurants and theatre not too noisy which was good so actually got a good nights sleep. Staff were very professional and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. Only thing I would improve is the wine at happy hour and in mini bar - pretty awful (smelt like egg and didn't taste much better) - though when this is all you can fault with a hotel they are doing pretty well :)

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter / less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VeronicaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear VeronicaNZ,

So glad to hear you had a great girls weekend! I hope you ladies got out and about and shopped up a storm whilst you were here.

Sorry to hear about the wine, not ideal and does not sound too appealing. I am happy to inform though that we are changing suppliers for our mini bar stock and putting in some very cool new products from next week. You must return and check them out.

See you back soon hopefully,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    279
    78
    29
    12
See reviews for
176
425
77
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great hotel. Had the 2 bedroom apartment which was roomy and comfortable. Beds very comfortable. Would be ideal for a stay for the Melbourne theatre, on the edge of Chinatown. Beautiful added touches like Danish's for breakfast, yummy. Will stay here again. The only negative was the bathroom sink.

Room Tip: We had asked for higher level rooms, due to other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Marijke B

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ovolo, the pastries in the morning are always a winner, add coffee and it can't get any better.

Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Three middle aged ladies holidaying for four night stay in a two bedroom apartment. Had a very enjoyable stay, very efficient and friendly staff. On the outer edge of Chinatown, there was little street noise. Free minibar including juice, mineral water, wine and beer was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthStep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Perthstep,

Glad to hear that yourself and the ladies had a great time at the hotel.

I hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Ovolo in Melbourne. Well locate and close to great restaurants, cafes and theatres. Really appreciated the complimentary "on-the-run" breakfast and the free mini-bar stocked daily. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chauncey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear chauncey2,

Thanks for the review and great to hear you enjoyed your time at Ovolo Laneways.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom. The beds were so comfy. We got a king and a queen in our rooms. A TV in each of the bedroom and one in the living area. A goodie bag in our room on arrival which had chocolates, chips and lollies. Room had complimentary beer, wine, water and mineral water which is restocked daily. They also had complimentary shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser, toothbrush and toothpaste. Free beer and wine in the lobby everynight from 6-8. Definitely staying here again next time in Melbourne. Perfect spot at the top end of China town

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Whitney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Wperrert

Thanks for the review. Great to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We weren't sure what to expect, but loved our stay. The decor was modern, inviting and comfortable. Service unassuming but helpful. Free minibar was a nice addition, though we had a little trouble logging onto the free wifi at first. We had a 1Br apartment. Very comfortable bed, the shower was heaven.
Though the hotel's location is great, the only downside was parking - the price was good but not very convenient, half a city block away from the hotel itself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MezF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear MezF

Many thanks for the review on the hotel. So very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you return soon.

Regards,

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here on the final leg of our Australian visit. Great rooms, with a nice modern feel. Brilliant location for all the shops and bars in Melbourne. Would definitely recommend it and use it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doharesident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Doharesident,

Thanks for the review.

Glad to hear you had a nice time at the hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday also.

Safe Travels. I hope to see you back soon.

Kelly O'Neill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,872 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Laneways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Laneways

Property: Ovolo Laneways
Address: 19 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Laneways 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See the world in colour! Inspired by the hidden laneways and street art that Melbourne is known for, this 43-room boutique hotel is your perfect opportunity to embrace the culture and enjoy effortless living in the heart of the city. Within the unsuspecting charcoal facade is a realm of hidden surprises. Be prepared to be taken on an exciting sensory journey from the dramatic and smart concierge-style reception, through dimly-lit corridors accentuated by brightly coloured doors and illuminated custom artwork, before arriving at the calming and restorative guest rooms. Six distinct room types provide an uncluttered and trendy approach to urban living with seamless integration of the Ovolo touch – all the little things that make effortless living a reality for the modern, tech-savvy traveller. Smart space planning, diverse furniture and joinery components allow guests to reconfigure the rooms to suit their unique purposes. Designed to impress, Ovolo Laneways also features three penthouse suites complete with outdoor rooftop terraces and supercharged offerings. Whether you are travelling as a group or hosting an intimate party, this is the ultimate “rich friend’s house” for your crowd to celebrate or relax against the backdrop of Melbourne city skyline. Situated at the top pocket of Little Bourke Street surrounded by theatres, restaurants and bars, the hotel is literally footsteps away from all that Melbourne has to offer. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Grab N’ Go breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, gym access? – Yep, all free. *only when you book direct on Ovolo Hotels website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ovolo Laneways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing