We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveller rating
965
334
93
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
965
334
93
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar loot bag apple tv lolly bar free happy hour free lolly free wifi restocked daily studio suite princess theatre bathroom sink bourke street little extras harry potter nespresso machine top end yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Ovolo Laneways. The staff was friendly and the rooms were quite comfortable (two thumbs up for the bed), although who knew that bathroom sinks even came in such a small size! The complimentary washing machines were much appreciated.

The hotel provides guests various freebies, such as breakfast, a happy hour, and a selection of candies. While novel the first day, the quality of the offerings were slightly disappointing to us. Overall, however, Ovolo offers a solid, albeit slightly over-valued option in a great location in the CBD.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank jiaotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear jiaotze,

It is great to learn that you enjoyed our service and complimentary amenities.
We appreciate your wonderful comments and constructive feedback as it is the most important tool we utilise in order to continuously improve ourselves.
Please be informed that we will definitely provide you with more consistent and personalised service on your next visit.
Look forward to seeing you again in near future.

Warm regards,

Jake Yang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel was great! Location was pretty convenient - staff was super helpful and friendly.

Stayed in the one bedroom suite - spacious - clean, and modern.
Only negative - smelly shower drains, was a bit of a put off, otherwise all great

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Yayxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Yayxx,

We are glad to hear that our service, cleanliness of room and level of convenience were all up to your standard.
Please be informed that your valuable feedback regarding the shower drain has been conveyed to our maintenance and housekeeping team to prevent similar issues from reoccurring in the future.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Jake Yang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

A hastily planned shopping trip to Melbourne - Ovolo Laneway was quirky, friendly and a bit cheeky from the word go. We loved the colours, the social media lingo used to describe each floor (LOL / OMG), and of course the freebies were unexpected. We had the breakfast $15 per head, but as we had booked through an online site, it was not included, however, the fabulous staff didn't charge us, saying just book direct next time and it will be free (hence their comment that they like the 'f' word :). Its a great location, quiet and only a quick tram ride away from Southern Cross Station, Brunswick, or the Bourke Street Mall, Will definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janethewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Janethewriter,

Thank you for the great review!
We are excited to hear that you had a wonderful stay and loved our Ovolo touch.
Your wonderful comments will definitely be conveyed to our shiny happy team.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jake Yang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Beautifully presented, and tucked away hotel. Great friendly staff who we could have a laugh with and were very helpful with tips on how to get around. Staff Alannah was very talkative and friendly when we went to happy hour. By the end of our stay we affectionately called her Dial 9 as we did call reception a couple of times that afternoon. special thanks to Alannah, Andre and Miss V (sorry, i cant remember her name). they were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.
one down side is the double bed mattress in our room was terrible, but lucky we had another bed to sleep in that was most comfortable. Thanks Ovolo. can honestly say i have never stayed in a hotel as generous as this before. L Pollock from Adelaide

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaanne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear leaanne2016,

What an awesome review!
Your lovely comments have been conveyed to all our shiny happy team members including Alannah, Andrei and Miss V (Vyninka).
We are very proud of receiving wonderful feedback such as yours and definitely motivate us to go the extra mile at all times by putting our guests first and be more creative.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Jake Yang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I am really enjoy to stay at Ovolo Laneways
All staff are friendly and help me a lot for where to eat and where to visit
room inside is very clean and have free drink daily in the mini bar
also have happy hour free drinks and snack daily
I will highly recommend my friend to stay in this hotel

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizac622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake Y, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear lizac622,

All our shiny happy team members are excited to hear your wonderful comments about our service and complimentary amenities.
It is our focus to always put our guests first and provide more personalised service.
We are glad that you loved your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Jake Yang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews