We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little attraction”

Lightning Ridge Opal Mines
Ranked #9 of 112 Shopping in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Melbourne's Number One Experience! Come in and learn about Australia's National Gemstone. Browse and select from our stunning selection of opals and opal jewellery and check out our Wildlife display - a little piece of the Outback in Melbourne's CBD. We are open Mon-Fri 9.30Am - 5.30Pm and Sat/Sun from 10.00Am-5.00Pm.
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little attraction”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

As I said above great for no one whose been to an actual opal mining town.. But get yourself to cooper pedi and see for yourself what an active opal mining town is like! Hotels in the rocks etc..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buchu444, Manager at Lightning Ridge Opal Mines, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thanks for your feedback! We're sorry it's taken us a while to get back to. Nice to hear that you have been to Coober Pedy. It's certainly an interesting place to visit - dug outs especially! Hopefully you'll come back to visit us one day.

Kind regards,

The team at Lightning Ridge Opal Mines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Owners”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visited the Lightning Ridge Opal Mines while on vacation in Melbourne. The owner and his son were very friendly and patient. They explained and modeled the process of opal mining, explained the grades and types of opals and answered are many questions. They were very trusting in letting us take pieces of jewelry outside to view in natural light setting. As a bonus we met all of their special pets in the office.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buchu444, Manager at Lightning Ridge Opal Mines, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi.

Thanks very much for your lovely words! We had a great time meeting you. It's wonderful to meet people from so many corners of the globe. Next time you make the journey from Japan make sure to come and say hi.

The team at Lightning Ridge Opal Mines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Met the owner/miner and trust me, I now know more about opals than I ever thought possible! He explained the three types, how they are mined, finished and assessed for value. He even introduced me to the collection of critters he has that are indigenous to the area where opals are mined. Didn't make a purchase there, (thought the prices were a BIT high) but you certainly can buy items there. The lovely young Canadian lady working there was great also Worth the trip if you have an extra 15-30 mins to kill

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank brake4bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Go here first before buying an opal. The owner took special time with us and was absolutely charming!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than opals”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The owner Nick takes obvious delight in educating visitors about opals, mining, Cooper Pedy, etc., demonstrating polishing stones and introducing people to his collection of reptiles and spiders that inhabit the Cooper Pedy area. In addition to buying a little jewelry, we held snakes, blue tongued lizards, stumpy tails...fascinating and unexpected.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elsie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buchu444, Manager at Lightning Ridge Opal Mines, responded to this review, 10 January 2016
Sorry that it has taken us so long to get back to you about your stellar review of our store. Thanks for your kind words and for visiting us in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lightning Ridge Opal Mines also viewed

 

Been to Lightning Ridge Opal Mines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing