We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Suites Gateway
Nearby Hotels
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$290
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveller rating
612
396
98
27
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
612
396
98
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivercrown casinogreat locationa river view roomone bedroom suitefull kitchenwilliam streetdouble glazed windowstrain noiseflinders stwashing machinesouth banktrain linethe sofa bedshort walksmall balconylight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Family event for which we booked 3 Riverview rooms. Reservation, check-in and checkout processes were simple and painless. (They made us feel welcome at all stages) We honestly had no negatives with any aspect of our stay, the room, location, restaurant, and especially the friendly staff were all excellent. It is located within walking distance of Melbourne proper and the railway station, Southbank is a short walk across the bridge (our function was in the Crowne Ballroom so we were able to walk to and from the event no taxis). View was nice especially in the evening, rooms were well appointed and clean.
A good place to stay, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Get a Riverview room, great night time views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livestats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

Dear Guest,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location and hospitality, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway onyour next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights booked by travel agent. Hotel is very close to Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Casino. Rooms are tired and in need of an upgrade. It was overpriced for what was offered even taking "Melbourne" into account. Daily housekeeping service of the room was poor at best. Mattress was lumpy and had seen better days - with a mountain in the middle!

The breakfast restaurant was very poor. Seems to be run and operated by Chinese staff with little understanding of the English language. I watched one client ask for a tax invoice, told to wait and then ushered outside the door to her waiting taxi! It was actually hilarious! But the service was poor and the food standard (buffet) very rough.

Will avoid in future and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to post this review.
We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations, and we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced.

Thank you for sharing your valuable and mostly constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on the areas which require immediate improvements.

Unfortunately, since we introduced for added guest comfort, a lofty mattress topper, it appears according to some guest commentary that a small percentage of guests do not enjoy this loft feel, therefore, we will continue to monitor this situation and make an informed decision of removal if it proves necessary. The beds are designed and manufactured by Sealy, and relatively new, we are conscious of the importance of a good nights rest. As a matter of interest we completed full refurbishment during 2007.

Our hotel and I would suggest most all hotels enjoy and are proud of their multi-cultural team; we are an equal opportunity employer and welcome all new comers to our shores. Although, we only have one Chinese team member during our breakfast period, it is with regret to hear this characterization of this nationality and the other team members. The richness that a multi-cultural society has brought to our country is immense, and the fluency of the English language is only a matter of time and practice.

Due to the nature of food buffets, and the exposure of food for prolonged periods of heat, there may be occasions when the buffet items are not as moist as we would like it to be; therefore as an option we offer a-la-minute prepared dishes, so that your breakfast may be freshly prepared.

In closing we take this opportunity in thanking you for your patronage, and in the event that your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would welcome the opportunity in endeavouring greatly to restore your confidence in our hotel.
My office is at your disposal.

Kind regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Firstly let me state that the luck that befell us probably won't happen to everyone, but the fact that it happened to us left me with a great impression of the hotel.
I had a booked a 1BR Riverview suite for a night out on the town. When checking in I was told that we were being given a special room, the penthouse on the top floor!!!!! 3BR 2.5 bathroom, huge lounge, dining, kitchen, spa bath, amazing views - too bad it was just the 2 of us!
We just chilled and enjoyed everything. We have never stayed in a penthouse before and unless this happens again, probably won't again, so I can't comment on whether the penthouse is truly luxurious or not. For us it was more than fine, the bed was super comfy and it was all nice and clean.
We had breakfast downstairs at the buffet - that was nothing special, but otherwise our night out was fantastic.
Thanks to Thomas on the desk and all whoever chose us for the upgrade.

Room Tip: Get a riverview room - the night view of the river and flame throwers at Crown Casino are amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Dear hrundi,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and please know that your feedback will be given to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

i have stayed at the Clarion Gateway in Melbourne over 20 times and have received excellent service on every occassion. The location is great and the services even better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Grant G,
We are thrilled to hear that you have stayed with us for 20 over times and thank you for your compliment on our location and services. We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

For $200 a night i was disappointed with bath towels changed evry two days. On one ocassion one of the towels was badly torn. Cleaning was very late in the afternoon. Lifts needed cleaning.Good location.Had to complain about early check in as the couple we went with where checked in immediately and we where told we would have to wait about an hour. After a few comments from me this was resolved but we did not get thwe room we expected.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemaxGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion your expectations were not fulfilled, this is indeed regrettable.

For clarity purposes, if I may kindly respond to your comments so that any potential misunderstanding will be addressed to your satisfaction.

All linen & towelling services are provided by an external service, and I would like to assure you that we will monitor the quality of the towels more effectively; generally in our experience the current provider is very conscious of delivering quality product items to our hotel.

In line with our hotel environmental sustainability program, and as per the notice in the room, towels are replaced if the towel is discarded on shower/bath floor, however, we do understand that some guests prefer replacement during every service, therefore, it would assist to demonstrate this to our team, which will be greatly appreciated.

Although, I understand your sentiments in relation to early check-in before 2pm, it is at times very challenging to facilitate this process, as there would be multiple reasons why another guest is given access sooner.

This is very much dependant on the specific room type booked, and we have 6 room types, therefore, the perception of jumping the queue, so to speak, is not quite valid, more so, if the room type which was booked has been vacated, it allows access to our housekeeping team.

At times guests who do not wish to wait, forgo the room type booked, therefore, another room option is offered, although, I am unaware of what transpired in this particular instance.

In closing we take this opportunity in thanking you for your patronage, and in the event that your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would welcome the opportunity in endeavouring greatly to restore your confidence in our hotel.
My office is at your disposal.

Kind regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews