We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable for short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Suites Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #27 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable for short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a one bedroom 'suite' for 2 adults and a 2 year old for 2 nights -she slept on the sofa bed in the living room. It was quite cramped (especially as the sofa bed was pulled out) but fine for all we needed it during our city sightseeing trip. There is no way 2 people could have slept on the sofa bed comfortably as it had a huge dip in the middle but our little girl was happy as larry with her large plasma TV at the foot of it. Our bed was perfect. Rooms clean and well equipped but expensive for what you get. Husband used the pool -small and nothing special but fine for kids. We would probably try elsewhere if we visited Melbourne again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weemebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed our bed. If you do consider at staying at our hotel again, a two bedroom suite would be more suitable for a your family as there is two king bed and a sofa bed. It is very important to us that our guests are comfortable and enjoy the time during their stay with us. We are currently replacing the sofa bed mechanisms in the suites to a more robust commercial application, with the focus of offering more comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the future.


Kind regards,
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    354
    85
    25
    14
See reviews for
227
387
66
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed here for the Boxing Day Test at the MCG. Booking over the phone was easy and staff were so friendly and helpful. Very easy to drive to and parking was great. Room was a lovely corner suite (room 1321).... Took our 9 mnthbaby and was plenty of space and AMAZING views of the Yarra. Breakfast was lovely, hotel very clean...nothing negative to say...thank you to Florian and Chloe for making the stay extra special.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Bobby,
Thank you for your feedback; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
271 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

The Clarion is probably a mid-tier business hotel. The lobby is not great, the carpets are tired and the hotel needs an update. The room I had was nice, good size and quite liveable. What made the room special was the excellent views to Southbank and the Crown Complex.

I would recommend the hotel for business travellers not interested in paying Hilton/Hyatt prices or even for couples for a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthFrequent_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback, it has now been 4 years since we completed refurbishment and we are already planning a concept of design of our next refurbishment program. Therefore in due course, we will seek recommendations from our guest so that we taken to account guest preferences. It is very important to us that our guests are comfortable and enjoy their time during their stay with us.

Thank you for choosing your stay with Clarion Suites Gateway and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Recently stayed 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with my wife and 2 small children. The room was very clean and well appointed. Having 2 small children, the excellent kitchen enabled us to cook and prepare meals as required. The location was perfect near the Southbank precinct and a short stroll to the City. With Southern Cross Station and Flinders Street Station within 15 minutes walking distance, trains/buses were easily accessible and useful. William Street Cafe near reception was fabulous and provided excellent food. Kids eat free and 15% discount coupons to guests was well received and extremely useful. The buffet breakfast included in our deal for 1 morning was enjoyed. The pool was oustanding and well used. Gym vouchers up the street at an external location was of some interest. I recommend a river view room although our view was ok. We have stayed in a number of apartments in the area and this location was well received by our family.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob-Danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Rob Danielle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarions Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Family event for which we booked 3 Riverview rooms. Reservation, check-in and checkout processes were simple and painless. (They made us feel welcome at all stages) We honestly had no negatives with any aspect of our stay, the room, location, restaurant, and especially the friendly staff were all excellent. It is located within walking distance of Melbourne proper and the railway station, Southbank is a short walk across the bridge (our function was in the Crowne Ballroom so we were able to walk to and from the event no taxis). View was nice especially in the evening, rooms were well appointed and clean.
A good place to stay, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Get a Riverview room, great night time views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livestats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guest,

It is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the location and hospitality, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway onyour next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights booked by travel agent. Hotel is very close to Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Casino. Rooms are tired and in need of an upgrade. It was overpriced for what was offered even taking "Melbourne" into account. Daily housekeeping service of the room was poor at best. Mattress was lumpy and had seen better days - with a mountain in the middle!

The breakfast restaurant was very poor. Seems to be run and operated by Chinese staff with little understanding of the English language. I watched one client ask for a tax invoice, told to wait and then ushered outside the door to her waiting taxi! It was actually hilarious! But the service was poor and the food standard (buffet) very rough.

Will avoid in future and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, we appreciate that you have taken the time to post this review.
We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations, and we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced.

Thank you for sharing your valuable and mostly constructive comments, it will allow us to focus on the areas which require immediate improvements.

Unfortunately, since we introduced for added guest comfort, a lofty mattress topper, it appears according to some guest commentary that a small percentage of guests do not enjoy this loft feel, therefore, we will continue to monitor this situation and make an informed decision of removal if it proves necessary. The beds are designed and manufactured by Sealy, and relatively new, we are conscious of the importance of a good nights rest. As a matter of interest we completed full refurbishment during 2007.

Our hotel and I would suggest most all hotels enjoy and are proud of their multi-cultural team; we are an equal opportunity employer and welcome all new comers to our shores. Although, we only have one Chinese team member during our breakfast period, it is with regret to hear this characterization of this nationality and the other team members. The richness that a multi-cultural society has brought to our country is immense, and the fluency of the English language is only a matter of time and practice.

Due to the nature of food buffets, and the exposure of food for prolonged periods of heat, there may be occasions when the buffet items are not as moist as we would like it to be; therefore as an option we offer a-la-minute prepared dishes, so that your breakfast may be freshly prepared.

In closing we take this opportunity in thanking you for your patronage, and in the event that your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would welcome the opportunity in endeavouring greatly to restore your confidence in our hotel.
My office is at your disposal.

Kind regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Firstly let me state that the luck that befell us probably won't happen to everyone, but the fact that it happened to us left me with a great impression of the hotel.
I had a booked a 1BR Riverview suite for a night out on the town. When checking in I was told that we were being given a special room, the penthouse on the top floor!!!!! 3BR 2.5 bathroom, huge lounge, dining, kitchen, spa bath, amazing views - too bad it was just the 2 of us!
We just chilled and enjoyed everything. We have never stayed in a penthouse before and unless this happens again, probably won't again, so I can't comment on whether the penthouse is truly luxurious or not. For us it was more than fine, the bed was super comfy and it was all nice and clean.
We had breakfast downstairs at the buffet - that was nothing special, but otherwise our night out was fantastic.
Thanks to Thomas on the desk and all whoever chose us for the upgrade.

Room Tip: Get a riverview room - the night view of the river and flame throwers at Crown Casino are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear hrundi,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and please know that your feedback will be given to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing