We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #31 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a convenient location”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We recently stayed in a one bedroom riverview suite at the Clarion. The suite had fantastic views across to the southbank and up towards Flinders St station. The room had everything that we needed for our stay and the bed was so comfortable. We have stayed at the Clarion several times before and have always found it to be consistent in regards to cleanliness and service. It is in a very convenient location with the southbank and the city centre only short walks away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear valued guest,

We’re so pleased to hear that our location and room meet all your business travel needs. Comfort is of the utmost importance, especially while traveling, and we’re happy to hear you found our bed so comfortable. We’d like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    364
    88
    25
    16
See reviews for
236
398
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Last December 2011, my family had a week's vacation at Rosebud in Mornington Peninsula before we drove back-up and stayed two nights at Clarion Suites Gateway in Melbourne CBD prior to our return trip to Malaysia. We were met by the Manager upon arrival at the basement carpark and he was on hand to help us with our luggage, which arrived at our rooms ahead as we checked-in. We must say we were impressed with the speedy service! The reception staff were friendly and helpful in providing useful information and direction for our travel around and outside Melbourne CBD. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite overlooking the Yarra River. The view was fantastic (the night view on Saturday (with fireworks display) was even more impressive), and the rooms were clean, neat and spacious, with accompanying kitchenette. Clarion is located close-by to eateries, shops, banks, and within walking distance to trams, rail, bus and tourist attraction areas. Definitely a great place to stay, not just the location and view. Great value for money too, except perhaps for the lack of free Wifi access and the buffet breakfast (with a little more spread). Thanks, Clarion for a memorable stay, nonetheless. Looking forward to be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtkfoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear valued guest,

We’re so pleased to hear that our service, room and location live up to your expectations. As a measure of improvement we hope to be rolling-out a wi-fi solution this year, and improved breakfast selections, based on a slightly different presentation service method & system. We’d like to thank you for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!


Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have stayed several times at Clarion, which is centrally located, has great rooms, most overlooking the Yarra and Southbank, an excellent dining room.All the staff are genuinely warm, welcoming, efficient and competent and make the stay the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pobblebonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay here. First we’d like to thank you for your continued patronage and are happy to hear positive feedback from your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the future.

Kind regards,
Kyan May - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We loved this Melbourne hotel so much that 18 months later we returned and booked a river view room with balcony. Super clean, extra comfy, easy check in and fantastic location. Cant wait till next time. Thank you again Clarion Suites Gateway

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoes_will_travel_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying with Clarion Suites Gateway again, it is lovely to have you return to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We booked a KingStudio Riverview as we needed the facility to be able to cook a quick meal before going out to an event. The room was lovely and spacious with a nice front view, and all facilities were available. Bed was comfortable. The soundproofing from the street is very good.
Staff were extremely welcoming - the standard of service was unsually high. Parking is very easy. It's rather expensive for the good room, but compared with other places that charge similar prices, it's good value. Locaton is great- quick walk to Flinders St station and Southbank.
Would definitely return

Room Tip: If you can afford it, I would definitely recommend the King Studio Riverview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear valued guest,

The team at Clarions Suites Gateway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Indeed, our Riverview room is the most popular among the guests and definitely a good location for business or leisure. We are looking forward to your return to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Kelly Matthews - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a one bedroom 'suite' for 2 adults and a 2 year old for 2 nights -she slept on the sofa bed in the living room. It was quite cramped (especially as the sofa bed was pulled out) but fine for all we needed it during our city sightseeing trip. There is no way 2 people could have slept on the sofa bed comfortably as it had a huge dip in the middle but our little girl was happy as larry with her large plasma TV at the foot of it. Our bed was perfect. Rooms clean and well equipped but expensive for what you get. Husband used the pool -small and nothing special but fine for kids. We would probably try elsewhere if we visited Melbourne again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weemebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed our bed. If you do consider at staying at our hotel again, a two bedroom suite would be more suitable for a your family as there is two king bed and a sofa bed. It is very important to us that our guests are comfortable and enjoy the time during their stay with us. We are currently replacing the sofa bed mechanisms in the suites to a more robust commercial application, with the focus of offering more comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the future.


Kind regards,
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed here for the Boxing Day Test at the MCG. Booking over the phone was easy and staff were so friendly and helpful. Very easy to drive to and parking was great. Room was a lovely corner suite (room 1321).... Took our 9 mnthbaby and was plenty of space and AMAZING views of the Yarra. Breakfast was lovely, hotel very clean...nothing negative to say...thank you to Florian and Chloe for making the stay extra special.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear Bobby,
Thank you for your feedback; it is always a delight to read such positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Cindy Colliver - Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
1,658 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing