We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #36 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is the 3rd or 4th time we have stayed at Clarion Suites Gateway. Every time we've stayed the staff have been wonderful, nothing is ever too much trouble, reception staff (Thomas, Rebecca & Anesu) are always very friendly and welcoming. We were sent a $50 meal voucher as a thank you for our positive feedback after filling out the In Room Questionnaire. We love the location, walk to Casino, Fed Square & Aquarium just to name a few. Free City Circle Tram runs right past the front of the Hotel. Easy tram ride to Museum, Exhibition Building & Docklands. Few minutes drive to MCG, Rod Laver Arena and AAMI Park. Rooms are always clean, air conditioner was on for us when we arrived (January 2013) as well as homemade biscuits and a note welcoming us back, views from the one bedroom deluxe river view room are awesome taking in MCG, Flinders St Station, Yarra River & Port Phillip Bay. Always something to look at or see, my young children love watching the trains go past and the fire display at Crown at night. Car parking is also a plus, easy to get in and out of just swipe your room card! Would highly recommend Clarion suites Gateway to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Kathryn,

Thank you for leaving a review on tripadvisor and most importantly for allowing us to be of service to you, your continued patronage is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel.
We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff & service, location, rooms and amenities. Thank you for your recommendation it is much appreciated and most welcome. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Wasn't one of the cheapest hotels in Melbourne but not one of the most expensive either but the service is excellent. One of the best we have come across in Oz for a long time. Staff vey friendly and extremely helpful, especially Tom. We had an issue with our aircon and they were on to it straight away with wonderful efficient and friendly service.
Location is awesome with a short walk to the shops and the casino. Was a little far to walk from Ethiad late at night so next time we might get a tram.
Otherwise we would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view as its worth that little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QldBomberFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Lindy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway. We really appreciate your positive comments about our Staff, service and location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

we booked this through wotif secret deals, at 119 aus dollars for a 1 bedroom suite, living area, fully fitted out kitchen, washing machine and dryer combo :), shower, 2 lcd tv"s etc, a great deal. hotel is very clean and quiet. service at front desk was excellent on our arrival. walking distance to casino, southbank, flinders street station and easy walk (if u like walking) 5 to 10 mins to restaurants etc in the city, or get a tram and be lazy. will reccomend and book again if we stay in the city

Room Tip: see if u can get a room with yarra view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romepere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are situated in a great location and with Crown Casino and the shopping prescient within easing walking distance we appreciate that you enjoyed our location, service, amenities and all that Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

great service, excellent rooms, well located in the CBD near the yarra, the casino and the trams, great views from the room, friendly staff, nothing much more to say. I would definitely stay again next time i'm in Melbourne

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Melbourne and that our rooms and service meet your expectations. May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely City.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

It had been about 3 years since I stayed here and the good news is that they have obviously done some work on the bathrooms, as no more showers in the tub - which is a pet peeve of mine in 4 star accommodation.

The room service menu though is still severely restricted and the menu offered in the actual restaurant isn't much better. The good news is that what is available is well cooked and well served. Room service is always timely and meals arrive hot/cold, depending on what they need to be.

The room I had was a one bedroom suite and was great. I needed to work during the stay and the table/work area was convenient. The full kitchen was also handy, as I did do my own thing for breakfast and being able to cook for myself is great.

I had one issue with my stay, which was handled very professionally by Thomas on the desk, making me a very satisfied guest.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, which has a fully equipped kitchen. Perfect if you are travelling for an extended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anasatasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you much for staying with us once again, this is well appreciated.
Your feedback does allow us to assess our service and room quality, in particular your preference for a shower arrangement, which we would like to accord you each time that we have the pleasure of your company. You are most welcome to inform us of your email details so that we may acknowledge your patronage and your preference as indicated.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We arrived here on the first of January 2013 and on check in the receptionist immediately upgraded us to a one bed suite.i must say it was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in and it was a great location at the corner of William street and Flinders Street over looking the River and the Skydeck.All of the staff really went out of their way to be of assistance.
Breakfast was adequate to start the day and we spent the time travelling around on the free trams.
The restaurants on the riverback were great with so much variety.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the river on the 6th floor are good rooms as you overlook the city at night with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Clarion Suites Gateway. We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff & service, location, rooms and amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Clarion is well located only a walk to shops and transport, Degraves Laneway is only a short walk and a great place for breakfast. We stayed for 1 night in a one-bedroomed suite, it was clean and well equipped, definitely a place I would stay longer. It's only a short walk from Spencer Street Station which makes it easy to access from the Skybus Depot. The staff were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Susan,

Thank you for your review, it is pleasing to receive positive feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed our location and service, may we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,233 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#81 of 161 in Melbourne
1,408 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £84 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing