We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again we were impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Suites Gateway
Ranked #30 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Once again we were impressed”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Once again we had the priviledge of staying at Clarion Suites Gateway in Melbourne and as usual received excellent service We were welcomed at the front desk and upgraded to a deluxe suite on the 9th floor with breathtakig views.We recommend this hotel and are looking forward to staying again in the near future. We give it 10/10 for service in all departments.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Doris,

Thank you for your continued support, it is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel.
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Thank you for the kind words about our customer service, rooms and views. We look forward to seeing you return when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    364
    88
    25
    16
See reviews for
236
398
67
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
the patch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I know,i know here i am again telling everybody about Gateway again but,i just feel that i need to everyone about our latest visit here.My wife's birthday was looming and i wanted to surprise her by staying at Gateway then heading out for some retail therapy followed by dinner and over to the Casino for some fun. I made the booking and told the wonderful staff and management about my plan and the hotel did not disapoint!!To start when we arrived we were told we would be staying in the Crown River View Penthouse suite and after we had settled in a lovely surprise of a birthday cake and champagne arrived,talk about service!!We had a fantastic room service breakfast the next morning and it was fantastic.To Tony and his staff i have to say a big thank you for making our stay very memorable and can't recomend Gateway enough!!

Room Tip: Make your booking early and request if possible a riverview suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePatchDasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your continued support, it is well recognized and most welcome at our hotel.
It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your recent Birthday Celebrations with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Tony & the Clarion Suites Gateway Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here in September 2013 as a couple with 2 children. Apartment was huge and very clean with all amenities you could need. Facilities On site were amazing and well maintained. Location fantastic directly opposite the Aquarium and within walking distance to everything. Parking also at a reasonable cost for CBD. Would stay here again with family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Donna,

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Melbourne and that our rooms, facilities and service meet your expectations. May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely City.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I usually will not write a review before I stay at a hotel/apartment but I will make this an exception. I will be staying at Clarion Suites Gateway in June and I just want to applaud them for their excellent customer service.
I had emailed to inform them of my stay and some arrangements needed for my stay. The manager, Tony was prompt and generous to help me out. He also noticed that I had book a studio riverview and advised me to upgrade to the one bedroom riverview to accomodate my family of 4. I am also thankful of the assistance and assurance rendered by Nathalie who went out of her way to call me from Australia to ensure that my 'new' booking was successful.
My family and I look forward to our trip to Melbourne and our stay at Clarion!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Natila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Natila,

Thank you for your review, we do pride ourselves on our customer service and really appreciate your positive comments, Tony & Nathalie are delighted to have assisted you in making sure your stay was an enjoyable one.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Convenient location and great views from our Deluxe River View One Bedroom Suite. Very clean and comfortable room with a decent breakfast. Close to South-bank restaurants, city shopping and South Yarra DFO. Also trams and train on the doorstep - we were up quite high so were not bothered by any noise. This accommodation has planned renovations this year - accommodation will be difficult to beat if they can keep their prices lower than others in central Melbourne. One issue (and the only one) we went to have dinner in the restaurant but there were people smoking just outside the exit door which was very strong in the dining room - we went to Southbank instead. I mentioned this and they closed the doors but it was already too smoky.

Room Tip: River views and up high to avoid street/traffic noise (although bedroom windows are double glazed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, General Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Janine,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne! We really appreciate your positive comments about our rooms, location and breakfast.
You are correct our refurbishment program is currently underway.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the smoke in the Restaurant, as you can imagine at times it is a real challenge to keep the door closed especially during happy hour times, however we will endeavor to continue in our efforts to try and minimize the effect it may have our valued guests.
We do hope to welcome you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards

Tony Cakmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Early check in (1030) and late check out (1300) to allow our 2yo son his midday nap was not an issue an came at no extra charge.

Our 1bed apartment was next to lift shaft and but no ones sleep was affected - it actually sounded like the distant ocean during the night.

Great range and quality at breakfast.

Very impressed. Would look here first next time in Melbourne.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christhoper Mar... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, happy we were able to accommodate your early check in and late check out requests on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you next visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Kelly Matthews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night and the check in staff were lovely and efficient. The location was perfect and the 1 bedroom apartment was well equipped and suited our needs for the night (nothing spectacular but clean and comfortable). The small touches like the cookies upon arrival and cheese platter were a lovely touch for my family. The breakfast was great too. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Marissa,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. We really appreciate your comments about our customer service and location.
We are very excited to be in a position to advise that after a long process our new proto type refurbished room has been approved, therefore we are programmed to complete this project by end of June 2014.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our lovely city.

Kind Regards
Cindy Colliver – Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
1,649 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,836 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Property: Clarion Suites Gateway
Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing