We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit outdated ”
Review of City Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Park Hotel
Ranked #155 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit outdated ”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

A bit outdated but clean good sized room but really need to get rid of the chairs they are discusting.
We had the spa room, spa was good but very very over priced $210 is more then I pay on nicer hotels in the city staff were friendly though and free parking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizziedavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    20
    13
    19
See reviews for
9
20
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a central hotel at a budget on Kingsway about 1 klm south of crown casino. On site free parking and clean basic rooms.
Ok for an overnight stay.
Rooms are airconditioned with windows that do not open .
Note Kingsway is a busy road, so if road noise is a concern, ask for a quiet room not facing the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelforsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

City Park hotel is semi-convenient location. Not easily walking distance to CBD but there are trams. We required a room with Disability facilities for our Nanna in wheelchair. The wheelchair wouldn't even fit a metre past the door and shower in bathroom had a step up. Although room was clean and neat - our friends room next door was very outdated and pretty shabby. Hairdryer didn't work. Hotel is basic enough for quick in and out stay and if you are looking for budget. Hotel is right next to busy high traffic road and was very noisy.

Room Tip: Room 305 is ok - but not for Disability access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

stayed here 1 night in the family room with some friends as we planned for a night out. keys that we were given came on a loose key chain which resulted in 1 key (for after hours access) falling off in the room. at check in we were reminded that we needed the keys for after hours access. due the key falling off we were stuck outside at 3 in the morning. called the hotel staff and were sworn at for not remembering to take the key. told them it was a mistake and caused by THEIR faulty key chain. asian lady spoke to us extremely rudely and swore at us and told us we were ridiculous for not remembering the key. we were let inside by another guest therefore did not need to staff to come open the door. out of courtesy we called the staff member back who did not want to listen to why we were calling and continued to swear. we finally managed to get it through to her we were only calling to tell her not to come. overall the WOOORST place we have stayed and have never experienced such bad service in our life. would not recommend this place to ANYONE!!

Room Tip: find another place all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quraysha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as it was convenient to where I needed to be for business. For $125 a night it was money well spent. Large and clean room and inexpensive wifi ($5 for 9 hours)

Breakfast was disappointing though and it does need some work.

However if you are simply after somewhere to lay your head this is ok

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

For the price of the hotel it is not worth it. I got stuck with an online booking and was not able to cancel or modify the dates of the booking.
I would recommend spending a little more on a much nicer hotel closer to the CBD.
Room very old, street noise is awful for light sleepers.
Bathroom old fashioned needs renovating.
I will not be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natdeegs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Wouldnt waste your money had a terrible stay and the Allan and his team have offered no customer service at all in regards to the matter. I mean who would have thought that if you book a spa room and pay for a spa you you expect a spa that actually works.... If I could rate this any lower I would

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maustin2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Quest South Melbourne
#121 of 160 in Melbourne
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bayview On The Park
#144 of 160 in Melbourne
890 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Hotel

Property: City Park Hotel
Address: 308 Kings Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3205, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your City Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing