We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living area The well equipped kitchen - dishwasher, microwave, dryer, washer, and oven/cooktop
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
The Living area
The well equipped kitchen - dishwasher, microwave, dryer, washer, and oven/cooktop
The delightful garden
Exterior
Brunswick Street - overflowing with great places to shop, eat and drink
Edinburgh gardens - great kids' playground, walks, and public barbecues
The (iconic) Fitzroy pool is very close by (5 min walk)
The Fairfield Boathouse - hire rowing boats and canoes, walk by the Yarra river, and eat at the lovely cafe
Melbourne city at night
Carlton Gardens housing the Royal Carlton Gardens housing the Exhibition Building & Melbourne Museum
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Melbourne, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarah g
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I have previously stayed with this accommodation group (@ thefitzgeorge) and again i was impressed.

The Loft is an easy walk to the restaurants of Brunswick street and the beautiful Edinburgh Gardens.
It's your little melbourne home away from home.
Katrina and Irene are wonderful.
We are already planning our return visit.

Thanks again
Loving the Loft

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBSHJ
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely "Loft" - but actually a great 2-bedroom apartment-like setting”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Loft was lovely- nicely furnished, comfortable and attractive art on the walls. Quiet environment. Wonderful windows looking out on back courtyard. Many basic kitchen foodstuffs such as coffee, flour, sugar, etc provided. Fresh bread, butter and milk there on arrival. Just a block off Brunswick St. - great shops, neighborhood pubs, tram line - or take a stroll down Brunswick to Gertrude St for more "posh" shops. We would be very pleased to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and style
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thanks for your lovely review, and for being such a great guest!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara B
1 review
“Cute, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Staying at the Loft was a quintessential Melbourne experience - down a laneway and close to the city, but clean and quiet. Leaving artisan bread and butter for breakfast was a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and comfortable
Liked least: construction noise next door
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-Anne G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and funky place to stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed at 'The Loft' with my daughter and we found it very well situated for transport and cafes/restaurants. It was also quiet, the beds and pillows very comfortable and the kitchen
extremely well equipped. I was particularly grateful for the inclusions in the pantry.
The only problem is the spiral staircase which made moving luggage difficult and would be challenging for an older person.
Outside of that, 'The Loft' is charming, very comfortable and well appointed.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyandja...
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely, comfortable, quiet accommodation in a vibrant area, close to public transport links.
A modern apartment with all daily living requirements made for a fabulous base for a family reunion with our sons and their partners. With the wonderful city of Melbourne to explore and enjoy - arts, history, culture and cuisines.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Bend
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Quiet Nest”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have family who live in Melbourne's inner north, so when we visit we like to stay in that area. The Loft was a great location for visiting everyone, and close to several tramlines for reaching everything. We especially appreciated the well-stocked kitchen and the privacy of the lovely backyard area. We definitely plan to stay here again on our next visit to Melbourne!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estelleco...
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A practical bolt hole”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

If you don't mind being a little further out of the CBD and prefer quiet/safe surroundings, it is well serviced by 2 tram lines. Compact and well equipped as long as you don't mind an upstairs loo/bathroom and a tight spiral staircase (wouldn't recommend for young children or people with mobility issues). If you have noisy sleepers probably not a good option as there is absolutely no noise insulation inside (also from the outside but apart from one night when some neighbours had noisy guests, it was very quiet). The air con/heat pump, washing machine and dryer were a great plus. Free wi-fi very handy too.Best place to eat nearby are in Rathdown Street with nice little boutiques. There is an express Coles nearby but very basic. Cleaning could have been more thorough, beds a bit firmer and info folder needs updating to 2015/16. Finding the actual front door was also a bit tricky (it's actually at the back, in the service lane...) Probably would look for somewhere nearer CBD or roomier next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to trams
Liked least: Stairs,upstairs loo/bathroom and noisy inside.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Thanks for your review and happy new year. If you would like something roomier and closer to the CBD, our other properties fit that criteria! The Loft is well priced being still close to the city (about 2.6kms away) and extremely close to one of Melbourne's favourite shopping and eating strips, Brunswick Street Fitzroy. Thanks for staying with us, and hope to hear from you another time. Our return guests always receive our best rates including a discount for continuing to stay at our accommodations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing