We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somethin Special”

Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #46 of 8,205 Restaurants in Melbourne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Come partake in Melbourne's longest-running Afternoon Tea, with Champagne, silver stands of sandwiches, scones, canapes and beautiful desserts, and specialty tea - a ritual since 1883. Afternoon Tea is set in our historic dining room, One Eleven, and celebrations - from birthdays to anniversaries, bridal showers and weddings - are welcome.
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I took my daughter, her friends and family to Afternoon Tea on Saturday afternoon on her Bachelorette weekend and it was simply Devine! It was everything I thought it would be. There is a reason this place is an institution in Melbourne. The service was very attentive and food, teas and dessert buffet something special. This is a must do in Melbourne for any special occasion.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Suzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Suzie

Thank you for choosing afternoon tea at The Windsor for such a special celebration and for sharing your experience. It is always very rewarding when we leave our guests with such special memories of their time with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for more special occasions.

With thanks and kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 704 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

My daughter, a friend & I visited The Windsor yesterday for High Tea. Wow! What a step back in time. The hotel itself is a demonstration of days gone by and if you do visit try to take the time to arrive early and look around. The displays, photos and stories, furniture and fittings, staircase and lift shafts are absolutely worth a look. Staff are welcoming and friendly, and Vanessa not only explained everything, she listened. In a brief conversation she heard it was my birthday and promptly organised a special birthday plate surprise which blew me away!

The selection of sweet and savoury goodies on offer is simply mind blowing, and when you enjoy them in such a stunning setting, trust me, you will remember it long after the feeling of over-indulging has passed. The only warnings - don't eat anything for three days before. And if you are a diabetic, this is not the afternoon you are looking for. It cannot be recreated with Equal.

The entire concept of proper High Tea has been embraced by these guys, and they do it with style. Wear your stretchy pants, take someone you love, and indulge for the day. You won't regret it xx

1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Denise

What a review! Thank you for sharing your birthday afternoon tea experience and we are thrilled that you all had such a wonderful afternoon enjoying everything The Windsor has to offer. I will pass on your comments to Vanessa who will be delighted that you had such a special time here with us.

We thank you and hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

With kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We had a beautiful afternoon tea here with some family over from holland. The staff were very professional and accommodating to my cousin who has a gluten intolerance. The sparkling was a great additional and the sandwiches delicious. We will most certainly be back.

    • Service
Thank Luci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Luci

We are thrilled you brought family from Holland to The Windsor and that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you intend to come back and will look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.

With kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I took my beautiful mum here while we were visiting Melbourne. We had a lovely afternoon. The staff were all very friendly and attentive and of course the food was amazing! It looked stunning and tasted just as good. I have always wanted to do this and I wasn't disappointed 😊Thank you very much

Thank Kylie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Kylie

Thank you for bringing your mother to share afternoon tea at The Windsor and we are delighted that you finally fulfilled your wish! We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future when visiting Melbourne again.

With thanks and kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Enjoyed the whole experience.Sandwiches were devine, as was the tea. Only thing I didn't enjoy was the coffee (very bitter)

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 754kerried
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette M, Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I am so sorry that you found the coffee to be bitter. We usually have such good comments about the standard of the coffee and we shall certainly check this and we do apologise for your disappointment.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

With thanks and kind regards

Annette Maidment
Food & Beverage Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Afternoon Tea at The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.