We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent serviced apartment style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Ranked #39 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent serviced apartment style hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here while he was in Melbourne for work - I accompanied him for leisure.

Check-in was easy enough, and we received a room upgrade. We had booked a studio queen but were put up in a two-bedroom apartment. Our room was facing the construction site next door, but we didn't experience any issues with noise. I even took a nap during the afternoon at one point to recharge for evening activities and was not disturbed at all.

The room itself was clean and well-kept with new-looking fixtures. The bathroom was a touch on the small side, with limited shelf space for personal items. However it was once again spotlessly clean, with excellent water pressure in the shower. The kitchen was well enough appointed and equipped for us to cook a simple meal in our room for our last night, and the 'real' size fridge/freezer was a definite plus.

The one big downside for us was that the bed was too soft for our liking. We sleep on a Japanese futon with flat pillows at home, so we're more accustomed to a harder mattress. We did end up taking turns sleeping on the (very firm!) sofa in the lounge area. This is a matter of personal preference though.

We didn't use facilities like the gym or pool, but we were very happy with the free wi-fi in our room, and noted the provision of toiletries, in-room slippers and an iron and ironing board.

Our favourite thing about the hotel was definitely LOCATION. We were right next to Queen Vic Markets (Market Lane Coffee and $3 boreks for breakfast HELLO) and also in easy reach of a convenience store, shops and a supermarket at Melbourne Central, and some fantastic inexpensive eateries. Tram lines were easily accessible for some short trips out to North Melbourne, Fitzroy and Brunswick.

All in all was good value and provided everything we needed without muss or fuss.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KrstnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    1,249
    259
    69
    44
See reviews for
1,107
759
187
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I and my family stayed in room 402 during 10-14 May 2014.

Pros: The equipment in the room was new and clean except a bed in one of the bedrooms. Delighted to have room upgraded to a 2-bedroom apartment. The kitchenette was well equipped. Room size was unexpectedly large.

Cons:
1) The bed sheet in one of the rooms was found full of dust in the first night. I tried to clean by my own but failed. Finally asked the front desk staff to help. Though I was unhappy for this unhygienic issue, but I did appreciate the assistance of that staff for bringing me the clean bed sheet for my own replacement. Please note there's no housekeepers at night so such issue have to be relied on the help of front desk staff and of course yourself.

2) The major problem in this hotel was room safety! I kept disappearing things in the room 402 in 2 nights during the 4-days stay! The things disappeared were:
a) A box of obviously newly opened "Pantene" hair mask conditioner put in the bathroom in the 11 May.
b) The piece of pretty wrapped souvenir chocolate of "The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant " as my Melbourne souvenir stored in the Refrigerator on 13 May.

It's completely ridiculous and causing ppl to get crazy when staying in a hotel but your things are kept disappearing inside the room! Luckily I have already locked the most valuable things in my baggage, but still cannot imagine why my other things will be removed by the hotel. I felt completely disappointed as my priceless souvenir in Melbourne was lost just because I had to freeze it in the hotel Refrigerator. Although I have reported these issues to the hotel, what I got the answers were:
- we would report your issues to the management of the housekeeping manager (immediate response at the night of reporting).
- the housekeeping manager in-charge was in shift duty and no news can update you. And, the housekeepers said they didn't see your said things in the room!! (the next day noon)

They did promise to give me the reply or any news update via email and of course no email was received till now.

Room safety should be top serving standard of every hotel. If the hotel cannot make it, it shouldn't worth the so called top 4-star rating.

If you wish to stay in this hotel, please be warmly reminded that DO lock you things properly in the baggage if you need to go outside, do not put your things in the "Bathroom" nor "Refrigerator" or they will be disappeared! Take my regret as lesson and don't be the next one.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank kandicewsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I took my daughter to Melbourne as a treat for her 17th birthday and was very impressed by the customer service at Pegasus. I had called a few days prior to request an upper floor room as it had been recommended in other reviews I had read.
When we arrived we were given an upgrade from a twin room to a 2 bedroom apartment with views over the Queen Victoria Market.
The front office staff were very helpful and help me to plan our day by assisting in transport information including a Myki card to borrow for public transport.
I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the market and the early morning hustle bustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLBennett050664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We travelled with 2 young kids and although this hotel is set back slightly from the hub of the city, it was still a great location as everything is within walking distance. The Queen Victoria market is directly behind the hotel. The hotel itself was lovely and clean with comfortable beds. Wifi was definitely an added bonus. The heated pool/spa was lovely for our kids. Only issue was that in-room dining was contracted out to a third party and the food was awful to say the least - this was the one day that we chose to dine in as the kids were tired and we regretted ordering in. Breakfast was great as well, although we had the same things everyday. Overall, we loved the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raveshene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located 5 mins away from Queen Victoria market. Was given a room with a fantastic view of Melbourne skyline. Bathroom a tad small. we booked the 2 bedroom apartment. Front desk staff was helpful. Wifi worked fine for us in rooms

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wendeefok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in Twin Studio ( as the Queen Studio was fully booked ) . The room was really clean with a nice little kitchenette . The wifi in our room was good as a whole , the fact that it's free is definitely a plus . The staff were very helpful and attended to our requests immediately. The location is great , you can easily hop onto a free City Tram No.35 by walking through Will's St right infront of the hotel , to La Trobe St. where there is a Tram waiting area in the middle of the street. It was really a great stay , keep it up Pegasus !

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the construction sites . I did that so i had no issue with that .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

One of the features my travelling companion looks for in a hotel is internet access included in the room rate, i. e., no additional cost which this hotel offered. We arrived early evening in late February for 4 nights. After getting to our room, we attempted to access the internet. Neither of us had success. We both went to the lobby to complain. The desk clerks referred us to the night manager. He showed us how his laptop was successfully accessing the internet in the lobby. He also showed us that two or more hotspots were located on each floor. He hinted that perhaps either our operating systems and/or browsers were to blame. We’d both used our laptops successfully in China, South Korea, Canada, USA, Italy, Greece, Turkey, as well as elsewhere in Australia with no problems with either OS or browser. Basically, not Pegasus’ problem. At times during our stay, we could connect to the internet from our room, but within a few minutes would drop the connection. My solution was to carry my netbook to the lobby. When a hotel advertises free internet access, I assume it’s in the room unless otherwise stated, e. g. common areas only. The hotel was well appointed and conveniently located within walking distance of all attractions we visited during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgiaguy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#45 of 160 in Melbourne
1,410 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus Apart'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus Apart'Hotel

Property: Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Address: 206 A'Beckett Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pegasus Apart'Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pegasus Apart'Hotel is a full service, four star hotel featuring one of Melbourne's largest hotel indoor pools, spa, gymnasium, restaurant, bar/cafe, event space on-site car park and a self-serve laundry. Wi-Fi is complimentary for all guests throughout the hotel; this is an unlimited service keeping you connected during your stay. Ideally located at the north west end of the CBD, Pegasus is well suited to leisure and business travellers. Our location provides easy access to shopping and entertainment precincts; legal, medical, education and finance districts. Accommodation is available as a Studio Queen/Twin, Family/Triple, Two Bedroom suites and a collection of two bedroom family suites featuring a themed children's bedroom with interactive entertainment systems. All studios and suites feature a well-equipped kitchenette; family rooms and two bedroom suites also have a dining table and chairs. Executives can make the most of work, rest and play in our SoHo suites. Featuring a bedroom with a Queen size bed, a full size office and an intimate living space - perfect for the professional traveller needing a home away from home! The kitchenette in SoHo suites also feature a pod espresso coffee machine. Executive floors feature a photo collection of Melbourne's architectural, historical and cultural points of interest. An exclusive rooftop executive lounge is also available for SoHo guests. Events and Meetings at Pegasus can be held in one of our two meeting rooms; one extending onto an outdoor terrace. Event space and our Restaurant all feature an abundance of natural light. Pegasus is conveniently serviced by major transport services including the free City Circle tram and the Skybus transfer service from Southern Cross station; the closest railway station is Flagstaff. Our A'Beckett St location is away from main street noise and traffic, making your arrival, departure and daily access a pleasant experience. Etihad stadium is only an 8 minute walk from Pegasus; with the rest of Central Melbourne, Carlton and Docklands no more than a 15-20 minute walk away. The iconic Queen Victoria Market is just around the corner from Pegasus; a great place to buy fresh produce to enjoy in your room. The "start line" to your shopping experience is only 600m away; start at Melbourne Central's Latrobe St entrance and explore Melbourne's great shopping experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pegasus Apart'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing