We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotpot buffet”
Review of Gold Leaf

Gold Leaf
Ranked #1,917 of 4,037 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotpot buffet”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Walked past one day and we returned for the hotpot buffet. It came with a serving of 2 raw ysters and 1 raw abalone each. Ingredients were fresh and quite authentic. Spicy soup was disappointing as it was watered down. Probably toned down to suit local tastebuds.

Helpful?
2 Thank wendeefok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
209 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Went here for a business dinner, in a group of 5, the level of service provided is excellent, it's attentive and very knowledgable. The food is excellent, and I would recommend the Peking Duck, which was excellent. Also a really good sweet and sour pork, which I am usually not a big fan of. This restaurant is a little away from Chinatown and the CBD, but it is definitely worth the trip, I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“BEST Chinese Seafood Restaurant in Melbourne”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Being Chinese, one of the normal complaints of a chinese restaurant is :-
1. Service
2. Authenticity
3. Value
4. Cleaniless
5. Ambiance
6. Tastiness
7. Parking
8. Classiness/Elegance

Gold Leaf Restaurant at Harbourtown Shopping Centre, Docklands, rates 9/10 for all the above. We live in one of the Townhouses above the Shopping Centre and dine/takeaway at this restaurant every week.

Whenever friends/relatives visit from overseas/interstate, this is the ONLY chinese restaurant we will bring them as it has never disappoint!

The Yum Cha is daily, which is awesome, has fantastic variety, good value and very good!

They also have a Takeaway Store downstairs at the food court called Good Taste, which is equally tasty and good value.

And you must not miss the Steam Boat Restaurant facing the Waterfront, which is also part of the Gold Leaf Group of Restaurants. Also, by far, the Best Value steamboat restaurant one can find in Melbourne!

Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best Chinese I've ever been to!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Went on Tuesday night with my boyfriend after looking up the reviews etc. on Trip Advisor, and I can gladly say that it had the best Chinese food I've ever had! We went for Banquet B and for AUD$48 each the amount of food and of high quality was outstanding! If I was staying in Melbourne for longer, I would go again! I advise anyone considering a restaurant for Chinese food, to head to The Gold Leaf!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cassie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yum char yummy!,”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited Harbour City Melbourne on a Sunday and popped in here for a Yum Char lunch with our two teenage kids. The place was packed out but the staff found us a table and the trolleys started making their rounds. Food was all very delicious but the drinks order was a bit of a wait. We did not get a visit feom the rice trolley but were not too worried as we had plenty to choose from. We all enjoyed our lunch and would definitely return if back in Melbourne.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ingy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gold Leaf also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Gold Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing