We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New kid on the block”
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks On William
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just spent three very satisfying nights at Oaks on Williams. The rooms are new, clean and modern and are well insulated from the outside and adjoining rooms. Our king bed was extremely comfortable and the bedlinen is good quality. Rooms to the rear are quiet with no tram or street noise however the views from the front are of the beautiful Flagstaff Gardens park. Every room has a balcony with a bistro style table and chair set. It was nice to be able to open the balcony door, especially when sleeping to allow fresh air into the room.
The kitchenette is well appointed with a large fringe, full size oven, microwave, draw dishwasher and small cooktop as well as all that is needed to cook and serve a basic meal.
The rooms do not have a tradition business style writing desk but instead have a small dining table and two chairs. The staff are friendly and do there best to help and answer inquiries. The rooms are cleaned and stocked daily. The location is handy with, the free city circle tram, a train station and an abundance of trams on the doorstep that all link you with greater melbourne. The Victoria Markets and Elizabeth Street are a stones throw away and have many cheaper eateries for lunch. There is also a very nice cafe at reception for coffee and breakfast. For dinner it is best to hop on a tram and head for Southbank, Lygon Street or Fitzroy's famous Brunswick Road - all about 10 to 15 minutes tram ride away. This hotel does not have some of the smaller high end luxury items such as bathrobes, pillow menu, shower caps or name brand toiletries but it makes up for that by successfully offering a friendly, well priced, half hotel, half bedsit alternative to the big chain hotels. I can recommend this new kid on the block.

Room Tip: View of Flagstaff Gardens Park are to the front of the hotel - these will come with a little more st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hobie1canobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Oaks on William. As mentioned in your review our hotel is brand new, and feedback such as yours serves as a genuine motivation for our staff to continue to offer exceptional service and standards. I am pleased to read that you found our apartments well equipped and that you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel and the comfort of your own private balcony. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for three nights in a studio park view apartment on the 16 floor. Very clean with most things you require for a short stay. Restaurants within walking distance, especially on the other side of Flagstaff Park. A few minutes walk to the Victoria markets which are NOT open every day and during the week they close early. Free trams run from 9am and are great for traveling about. We had a drink or two at Young and Jackson opposite Flinders Street Station well worth a visit on a wet day!

Room Tip: A balcony is nice and I would suggest a park view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank downunder2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel location ideally suited to your needs and our rooms clean and well equipped. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very clean, great location, good size, fantastic facilities, good price. What more can you ask?
On the corner of Melbourne CBD, close to the free tram, close to Vic market, has kitchenette with everything you would want. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeongogangsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. Your feedback is truly appreciated and we are glad to read that we are able to deliver on all aspects of your stay. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to get a lovely room on the 19th floor of this hotel for our recent long weekend stay and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne - particularly if you can manage to get a room on the upper floors as we did.

The room was fresh and modern, with a really cool decal wallpaper of some of Melbourne's buildings along one wall. The full kitchen would have been useful if we weren't so keen to get out and sample all the amazing food Melbourne has to offer for every single meal, so we only really used the fridge and tea and coffee, but it was nice to have all the same. The little dish-drawer dishwasher was a nice touch as well.

There was plenty of space to have 2 suitcases on the floor and not be tripping over them, which is always a bonus, but we stored them in the nice big wardrobe anyway as there was plenty of space in it. A few more drawers for storage of clothes would be nice though, as there were only a couple of small bedside drawers on either side of the bed. But not a big deal and we made do. The TV was recessed into the wall, which meant no wasted space with a big annoying telly cabinet jutting out into the room, and was nicely placed to be able to lie in bed comfortably to watch it.

The bed was incredbily comfortable - quite firm with nice big comfy pillows. And there was a nice wee table and chairs setting and a beanbag-type chair for extra seating options as well. The balcony was great and we enjoyed evening drinkies while admiring the view every night - but strangely enough only one chair to go with the table on the balcony, so we had to drag one of the chairs from inside so we could both sit on the balcony together.

The bathroom was a moderate size and the shower nice and spacious with a lovely rain shower head. However, the basin took up almost all of the vanity space and so there was little room to put toiletries out, other than a wee tiny shelf under the vanity mirror, which didn't hold very much. Effective extractor fan in the bathroom but it still got pretty hot in there after running the shower for a bit.

We didn't hear any noise from other rooms in our room, but we were aware of the odd shudder down the hallway when people had obviously closed their door quite forcefully. We also noticed one particular room that must've had their TV up as loud as it would possibly go each time we walked down the hall to the elevator as we could hear the TV loud and clear through their door in the hallway and we dread to think what their neighbours must have put up with. So perhaps only soundproof to a regular extent.

The best thing of all was the amazing view from our room. We were on the 19th floor and on the Flagstaff Gardens side of the hotel and we could've stood and stared at the view for hours - made for amazing photos of sunrise, sunset and evening lights. I'm not sure I would have been as impressed if we'd been on a lower floor and/or the side of the building facing away from William St.

Location-wise, it's a wee bit of a hike to what we'd consider 'downtown' Melbourne. There's a train station just across the road but it's frustratingly closed on Saturdays and Sundays - about a 12 min stroll to the next nearest train station at Melbourne Central and by then you're pretty much in downtown anyway. Tram stations nice and close by but, depending on how far you're going, by the time you wait for a tram you possibly could have walked to your destination in the same amount of time. Queen Vic Markets is a very short walk away and the nearest supermarket we found was at Melbourne Central, about 12-13 mins walk away. We got the free hotel transfer bus with Sky Bus to get to and from Southern Cross Station when getting to and from the airport as it's probably a little far to walk with luggage. Flagstaff Gardens across the road are also nice for a walk in - particularly after dark when they are full of possums in the trees (bit of a night safari of sorts!).

Would stay at this hotel on our next visit to Melbourne with no hesitation and will be highly recommending it to anyone going there in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors on the William St side of the hotel have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am delighted to read that your recent experience at our hotel was most enjoyable. We all know the importance of a good nights sleep and so we are pleased that you found our beds incredibly comfortable and our rooms quiet and well designed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The location of this place was great, there was no noise polution or anything. I will have to mention that this place is definitely not a hotel. Its a front desk with rooms to rent. There is nothing else in the building to constitute it being an hotel. When we were leaving we found out there was a gym but no one had told us at all. There is no food or eating facilities in the building, so if you are coming in late and want a bite to eat you will be disappointed.

Pro: Its in a good location, the rooms were big and cleaned well. For a little contained apartment in melbourne for a week it would be fine.

Con: No Amenities, No restaurants. I requested a shower cap and was told they were not supplied. No bottled water supplied.

All in all, completely adequate. Did the job it was meant to do.

Room Tip: Bring supplies with you, you get soaps etc but nothing else, come prepared or you will go hungry! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ker_schnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found the location of our hotel desirable and our apartments clean and spacious. Our hotel does provide breakfast and lunch within the complex and evening room service is also provided; I do apologise if this was not passed on to you during check-in. We certainly do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We enjoyed a weekend stay at the hotel recently no we're surprised at how modern, new and well-equipped our room was. A full kitchen and good sized balcony with outdoor furniture made our stay great.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and organised our Skybus pickup with no issues.

The only issue is that the hotel is probably about 10 minutes walk away from the main shopping/touristy part of Melbourne. On the weekend there is nothing nearby the hotel in the way of shops or cafes.

I would definitely check this place out again on my next visit to Melbourne.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Callory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to read that you found our accommodation modern and well equipped. Our staff are available 24 hours should you have any queries and can assist with information on all the best of what Melbourne has to offer. Your feedback regarding the service you received from our staff has been passed on and as always is truly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Oaks on William.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a relatively new complex in a great location, walking distance from Southern Cross or the city centre. Trams run nearby, and Flagstaff Gardens are lovely and right opposite. I got a good price as it was an opening special, but the staff tell me that they plan to keep having special deals for a while, so it's worth calling them or checking their website. Consider upgrading to a high floor, garden view apartment - only cost $15 extra a night and worth it! Spacious apartment with a modern feel and high quality appliances. Only downside is that like many hotels/apartments, the doors are heavy and slam loudly, so it can interrupt an otherwise peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to, or request, a high floor with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayjay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel ideally located and good value for your stay in Melbourne. As the staff have mentioned, regular promotional rates and specials do run offering exceptional value year round. We certainly look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 162 in Melbourne
3,285 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £87 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks On William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing