We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaks On William
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$290
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,647)
Filter reviews
1,647 results
Traveller rating
776
661
162
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
776
661
162
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflagstaff gardensstudio parkflagstaff stationbrother thomasqueen victoria marketscafe next doorfree tramstudio roomsized fridgeoffice blocksmall balconytram stopper dayfull kitchenmelbourne centralfree wifihardware lane
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,394 - 1,399 of 1,647 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for six nights during the Australian Open tennis and found this place via Trip Advisor. It was much cheaper than most Melbourne hotels who seemed to be 'ripping people off' during the Aussie Open tennis.

Oaks on William is situated on the edge of the CBD but the free city tram is just a very short walk away making it easy to get around the city for no cost.

Our studio apartment was brand new; all promised facilities were available and I'm sure that the kitchen had hardly had any previous use as everything looked new/unused.

Whilst there is no restaurant on site, the cafe next door is great and serves a great choice for breakfast. Most of the time we catered for ourselves but it was nice to have 'breakfast out' one morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JellyBean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us over the Australian Open period in Melbourne. I am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the comfort of our brand new apartments and importantly found that our hotel offered exceptional value for money over a peak period such as the Australian Open. Your comments regarding your stay are truly appreciated and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Oaks the weekend before Melbourne Cup. The location was perfect for us as we had some business to do in North Melbourne and caught up with friends in Carlton. The room was modern and comfortable. Disappointed as I specifically requested a room on the top floor and this was changed at the last minute by the staff on the front desk who when I questioned this were quite rude. Conveniently close to the free city tram stop.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ContentedTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback and great to read that you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel and its close proximity to many of Melbourne’s fine attractions. Disappointed however to read that your request was not fulfilled. Your comments regarding the encounter with one of our staff has been addressed and I can assure you that in future your requests will be met to the highest standards. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Well designed modern hotel apartments with funky decor, light and bright, well equipped, kitchen, bathroom So good to have a sliding door to the balcony to get fresh air instead of only the aircon option. Located close to the city centre, Queen Victoria markets, opposite Flagstaff Gardens. Easy walking distance everywhere. Free bus across the road. Very helpful, easy going and efficient staff. Down to earth hotel. Very clean. Had a great 8 days there with my 2 sisters. Cheap enough to have 3 separate rooms. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadamse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

It is always pleasing to read such good feedback and I thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Your recommendations to other users on this forum are truly appreciated. My staff and I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks on William again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in a studio on 18th Floor with park view. Room had a lovely view, kitchenette was useful (would have been perfect if they could provide some salt). We were travelling with our 6 month old baby, so opted for the baby cot, which was pretty decent. Location is very central, Queen victoria market and melbourne central is very close by and the flagstaff gardens opposite to the hotel is amazing to hang around.Hotel staff is very nice and helpful and will guide you well to go around. Would recommend it for the proximity to melbourne attractions.Only suggestion to the hotel is to provide a baby bath tub, as it is difficult to bathe small babies without a tub.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PragnaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel perfectly located and within close proximity to the many local attractions in the CBD. Our staff are available to assist with requests and queries 24 hours a day and I am delighted to see that they were able to ensure you made the most of your visit to Melbourne. Thank you also for your feedback regarding baby bath tubs, we will ensure this is made available for you on your next stay at Oaks on William.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've just returned from 3 nights at this hotel and had an enjoyable stay. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are very spacious and clean. The beds and pillows were amazing plus you have your own kitchen. Our view wasn't the best as it was of the office blocks next door and if we left our blind open they could see straight in however we were only there to sleep so it wasn't a big concern of ours. As far as location we found it great, tram stops on both corners which included the city circle line and it's easy to walk to almost everthing. We even walked back from Lygon street which was an enjoyable stroll after a yummy meal. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. It is great to read that you found our staff most accommodating and the location of the hotel perfectly suited for your travels. We look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews