We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown accommodation, but wifi-charge is out of date”
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks On William
Ranked #49 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent place! Location is good, you can hop on the free circle tram just opposite the hotel. Personnel is friendly. Rooms are large and park view is very nice. Brother Thomas next door is a great place for breakfast.

One negative comment. It is 2014. Wifi is free in many public places around Melbourne, like on Fed Square. However, Oaks on William still charges its guests for Wifi-access. I think this is unacceptable and should be changed tomorrow. Please management, this seems like we are ten years back in time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wouter188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Delighted to read that you found our hotel an excellent place and our staff most friendly. We are always aiming to deliver exceptional value for our guests and through feedback such as yours we will continue to improve on this. I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melbourne again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This apartment hotel is close to the famous Victoria Market. This means many people will see produce like they never see in their home towns. having a kitchen (and quite likely a balcony overlooking a lovely park) means that you can put together an antipasta platter to rival the best restaurants at a fraction of the cost and whip up a fabulous meal with the best of seafood, fresh pasta, suburb meat, and a host of other goodies...............there is even a dish washer and large fridge in the apartment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SleepyINParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for you kind review and great to read that you found our hotel location perfect for your travels needs. There is so much to see and do around and Melbourne and the Victoria Market located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is just one of those must see destinations. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed in Oaks on William at William Street Melbourne Victoria on 10 May 2014 till 13 May 2014 in a studio apartment. I made a correct choice as this is my first visit to Melbourne because the hotel itself a new branch with clean, comfort and strategy location. The hotel has lovely staffs who attend to your needs with carefully and promptly. The hotel is surrounded by facilities such as tram trains, cabs,buses, Melbourne Visitor's Shuttle (5 AUD all day long) in walking distance and a fantastic Queen Victoria Market.

The Studio Apartment room was relaxing, clean, with television, hot or cold showers, fridge, cooking kitchen with utensils, microwave oven and coffee maker. I stayed at level 15 and the room was comfort and no noise area so had a good 8 hours sleep too. It had a small balcony which allows you to view the outside buildings or the park in front of the hotel.

I will definitely recommend this room which is reasonable for the price I have paid for, secured because the hotel management has set security card to enter your level and also at night after 10pm the front door of hotel will be locked and can be only opened by the staff or guest who has the room security card.

The hotel was near Queen Victoria Market that opens everyday except for Monday and Wednesday which is a good place to bargain for good items such as leather belt, wool jackets, local chocolates, fruits, souvenirs instead paying high price in malls and you can always walk back to the hotel and keep your thing and go around again. The Melbourne Zoo is also near the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks on William. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel location perfectly suited for your travels. Our staff would be delighted to read that you found there service to be prompt and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit. Thanks again for your comments, they are truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Oaks on William over the Easter weekend and it was AMAZING!

From our arrival to our room. Attentiveness of the staff to the views, Oaks on William has does a wonderful job in making people feel welcome and make guests feel like it is a home away from home. A short walk to the main shopping district, Southbank and Crown Casio made everything easier when staying here.

I highly recommend Oaks on William to anyone who wants to stay in Melbourne CBD

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNatashaLucas82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am truly pleased to read that every aspect of your stay was most enjoyable. Our staff work tirelessly to create a memorable guest experience and your comments are most certainly a testament to there efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just stayed at Oaks on William for two nights. The hotel was beautifully appointed with full kitchen. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room overlooking the park with lovely views and the bed was so comfortable. It is a little further out than others we have stayed at. There is a train station right across the road but unfortunately it is closed over the weekend which is a nuisance. Overall a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMcD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel beautifully appointed. Your comments regarding the hotel and our staff are truly appreciated. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back for yet another lovely stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just back home after my second visit I feel obliged to remove a star. Why? Because the decor is a little too industrial (bare concrete ceiling aint chic, its just unfinished) its a little too far away for the end of evening walk to be comfortable and it wont age well. Other than that and the amazing array of light emitting diodes that would fry the retina of a blind badger at fifty feet (so take some blu tack if you like to sleep in the dark) its still all good, just a little .....usual.
And if I may, Melbourne, Sydney doesn't shut down on a Sunday night, why do you??? Its 2014 kiddies!
Eau De Vie Melbourne: closed Sundays
Whisky and Alement Melbourne: closed Sundays
Nant Melbourne: closed Sundays
Baranows Lounge:closed Sundays
And it goes on and on....
Sydney: open, all the time, grow up Melbourne!

Room Tip: If its a romantic, fun weekend away you want try Medusa, QT or Simpsons in Sydney, much more fun! Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badwolf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review. It is disappointing to read that your recent trip to Melbourne was not entirely enjoyable. The hotel reception desk is available 24 hours and our staff would have gladly suggested several bars and restaurants opened on Sundays and closely located to the hotel. I trust that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future to discover more of Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at Oaks for 2 nights after arriving on a red-eye flight from Perth. Our 2 bed room apartment had magnificent views of the city. Furniture were immaculate. Beds very comfortable. Bedrooms spacious. There were TV's in every bed room and the main living areas with access to Foxtel, so kids did not fight over TV. Staff were particularly friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this place and will definitely stay there during my next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

I am delighted to read that you and your family had a most enjoyable experience at Oaks on William. Our 2 bedroom apartments are the latest addition to our property and all offer exceptional views of the city and plenty of space when travelling with family or friends. It is a great pleasure to read such great feedback and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,467 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,585 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £74 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks On William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing