We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Oaks On William

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks On William
Ranked #42 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

- Excellent location, few minutes walk from Melbourne Central and Queen Victoria Market, tram stop just outside, Flagstaff Gardens are right next door
- Lovely room: spacious and clean, comfortable and large bed, microwave available
- Phillips player available for playing music
- Wifi is NOT free
- Gym and laundry facilities available
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Parking costs $20 per day

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulintay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review and great to hear from a senior contributor of this forum. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the spaciousness of your apartment. It would be our pleasure to see you again at Oaks on William on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    558
    135
    22
    11
See reviews for
141
681
111
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Perfect. New, clean, quiet, spacious, comfortable, convenient. Absolutley no issues here. I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of this hotel and recommend this hotel. Inclusive wifi would be nice although I have a data card so it was not an issue for me.

Room Tip: higher floor overlooking the park is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. We are absolutely delighted to read that you found our hotel perfectly clean quiet and comfortable. The team and I at Oaks on William look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

On arrival and booking in, one of the friendly staff advised me that I was flagged for an upgrade to one of the topmost floors and was amazed to find my room had an incredible panoramic, almost 180degree, view of Melbourne city, suburbs and the bay. After dragging myself away from the balcony, I found the room to be so spacious, well laid out and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and again it was wonderful having a coffee on the balcony in the mornings and taking in the view once more. Although I'd stayed in hotels in the centre of the city before for convenience, I preferred to be in this location as it was very quiet. It was so close to all transport with Melbourne Central Station only a few minutes walk. As too was the Victoria Markets which is minutes around the corner. (One of the advantages of Melbourne is that it has a great transport system anyway.)
Needless to say the staff were friendly and helpful at all times, especially with tips for getting around Melbourne.
The only downside was that no breakfast room service was available but the cafe downstairs offered lovely coffee and breakfast with the option of taking it back to the room.
The Oaks on William will now be my first choice when returning to Melbourne.

Room Tip: See if an option is available for a room upgrade. The higher floors do have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for posting your first review on this forum. I am truly pleased to read that your experience at the Oaks on William was most enjoyable. The views from all of our park and one bedroom apartments are breathtaking and I am glad you were able to enjoy this. Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to recreating yet another memorable experience for you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked a studio apartment for an overnight stay and was pleasantly surprised to be given a room on the 34th level. With generous city views outside the window, it felt like staying in something bigger.

The studio is laid out like a typical hotel room, but with the added amenities of apartment living. You get a fully equipped kitchen, fridge, TV, balcony and basic toiletries too. The room felt well-equipped, and all the finishes and furnishings are tastefully modern and in great shape.

Brother Thomas is the connecting cafe at the lobby, and stands out on its own as a nice spot for coffee. The espresso i had was perfect, and is in line with the high Melbourne standard for coffee. I work as a barista in a specialty cafe in Perth, so i like to think i know a good coffee too!

The location is central, but the main shopping areas are a few blocks away. As Melbourne is a bustling and visually appealing city, the walking was not an issue with me.

I managed to book my stay at a reasonable price, and had no issues of any sort during my stay. I would highly recommend Oaks on William to anyone looking for a stay that is well-priced, with an added air of quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward_Xavier_Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. I am delighted to read that you found all aspects of your stay most comfortable and enjoyable. We aim to offer exceptional value and service to our guests and I am truly pleased you experienced this during your stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My partner and l stayed at Oaks on William for a 4 day "staycation" in a studio apartment over the Queen's Birthday long weekend. The apartments are centrally located near the free City Circle tram, other trams and railway stations, Queen Victoria Market, Docklands and other tourist attractions. Only recently completed (I had watched the building being constructed from my office window!), the apartments contain a fully fitted kitchen, lovely en-suite with huge walk-in shower, and a small balcony. Whilst laundry facilities were not in the room, a large self-serve guest laundry was available for use for a small charge. The room contained a full length mirror which is often missing in hotel rooms, and is something l really appreciate. Rooms were serviced daily. All fixtures and fittings were in pristine condition.

We chose the cheapest studio apartment which basically means you get a limited view. Reception staff were efficient and friendly, and a range of newspapers and magazines were available for use in the Reception area. There is a funky cafe next door (Brother Thomas), which serves great breakfasts.

Not all guests may appreciate the decor of the apartments (best described as 'industrial chic'), but we quite liked it. Free wi fi is limited to 30 mins continuous use, per 24 hour period, just ask Reception for details.

Overall we found Oaks on William outstanding value for money, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a visitor to Melbourne, pay the extra for a room with either a city view or view of Flags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to hear from a satisfied guest. Your comments are truly appreciated by all our staff and have been passed on with thanks. It was our pleasure to make your “staycation” a memorable one and we look forward to doing it all again on your next stay with us in Melbourne. Thanks again for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice, new hotel close to the Queen Vic Market. Even though it's in a quieter pocket of the city, it is only 10 minutes walking distance to Southern Cross Station and most of the other highlights of the CBD. The room was clean and nicely decorated. I will definitely stay here again when in Melbourne next.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillipdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Oaks on William. I am truly delighted to read that you found our hotel was a great place to stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed one night at Oaks and didn't regret it. On an upper floor the room was fabulously comfortable and very well equipped with an outstanding view. The 24hr reception is very helpful and knowledgable. It's convenient for the airport too, we just hailed a taxi (no need to book) which took 25 mins to Tullamarine. The Oaks is slightly more expensive than the rest of the bunch in MEL but well worth it. Highly recommend it. Good-value restaurants on Elizabeth St are only 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Manager W, Manager at Oaks On William, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review. Although your stay with us was only brief, I am pleased that you found every aspect of your stay with us most enjoyable. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks On William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks On William

Property: Oaks On William
Address: 350 William Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks On William 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of outstanding shopping, dining and entertainment experiences, Oaks on William is perfectly located within the heart of the legal, education and medical precinct. It is the ideal choice for both leisure and business guests seeking quality accommodation and a prime city address. The property features 220 stylishly appointed studio apartments, all boasting full kitchens, modern appliances, air-conditioning, WiFi access and private balconies – some with views over Flagstaff Gardens, the city skyline and famed Melbourne laneways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks On William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing