We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice apartment.”
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #82 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, nice apartment.”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed overnight. Had booked a 2 bedroom apartment but luckily got a 3 bedroom one. Teenage children able to have own rooms what a plus. Great location close to everything in town. Clean & comfortable. Had apartment that was located seven floors up facing the street. Very noisy at night if not a sound sleeper, you could hear people walking along the street talking. They need to soundproof the rooms better because of this. Better signage needed outside to show location, as its a one way street you drive straight past trying to find it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthandfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Dear Ruthandfamily4

Thank you for posting your comments about Punthill Manhattan on Tripadvisor.

The 3 Bedroom Apartments have plenty of room to spread out and are the perfect size for a family such as yours.

We take your comments on board about the outside noise and will be addressing this with management.

Hope to see you again soon at Punthill Manhattan.

Regards

Keiran Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    206
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
76
142
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I recently stayed here with my partner and 2 yr old son in a one bedroom apartment, i was so suprised that something for the price could be so good! the apartment was the perfect size, all the features were so helpful and handy I couldnt believe there was actually a washing machine and dryer in the huge bathroom which also had shower over bath.. really a bath! I have been bragging to everyone since we stayed here its by far the best accomodation we've had in melbourne for under $150 and if you cant be bothered cooking dinner mcdonalds and a 7eleven is just the next street over :)

Room Tip: punthill are on Facebook.com and regulary have deals or punthill provide discounts for booking in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kezwa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Kezwa

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Punthill Manhattan and were able to make the most of our service and great location.

Punthill Apartment Hotels offer a great accommodation option for familys who need extra floor space and flexible in room facilities which allow you to cook your own meals and have a comfortable night in.

And yes - Like us on Facebook to keep up to date with all the latest discounts and promotions.!

Best regards

Keiran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Apartment was decent size and reasonably clean - just a bit scuffed around the edges. Lumpy mattresses but the small lounge room was decent. Front desk was extremely helpful - but not always staffed! There is a basement gym, spa and small pool, but, like the apartments, are clean and functional but not at all glamourous. Location is perfect for exploring Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydney_beach_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Dear Sydney_beach_gal

Thank you for your reveiw on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to say that the Jet/Pool spa at Punthill Manhattan is be replaced this month with a brand new 12 seat spa. The spa replacement is part of a larger property refubishment which includes all rooms. The feedback on the fresh new style of the completed apartments has been fantastic so far.

We take the rest of your comments on board and will address them with management.

Best regards

Keiran Spencer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

wow, not what i expected. We travelled with a group of 10 and had 2 x 3 bedroom apartments, one on the second floor the other on the fifth. The location is excellent, everything is within walking distance and Flinders Lane is quite trendy in itself. Price was reasonable and the apartments were great. On the second night our room had trouble with the air conditioning so we were offered a 1 bedroom on the ground floor and a 2 bedroom on the basement level. Having read previous reviews on these basement rooms i expected something awful, but having experieced the 5th floor (you can hear all the street noise) made us appreciate this extremely quiet, and modern room. Yes the view wasnt great but the sleep we had was!! All in all i cant really fault Punthill Mathattan from the location, price, staff and everything in between it truly was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothingbutthetruth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Whilst this apartment hotel was in a great location and was spacious enough for 2 people thats pretty much where it stops. I stayed here for a 3 day girls weekend.

The beds were very uncomfortable and if you use the pull out bed bring an eye mask as the light pours in from 8am through the see-through blinds

Our room was not cleaned for the 3 days we were there, though fresh towels were given at least (one had a hair on it though!). Bathroom is very large however only our heater lights worked so it made it very interesting putting on makeup!

The lady at the front desk wasn't very helpful, she was a smoker (which you knew by the smell then by seeing her smoke) and she didnt really know where much was (she asked us to point out Brunswick Street on the map then told us to check with the free Tram as to how to get there when the stop for Brunswick was around the corner!).

I'd stay here again for the location, at the Paris end of Flinders and a short walk to the city and down Collins Street for amazing restaurants and cafes. Try Cumulus two doors down its awesome!

I'd still recommend this hotel, just keep in mind that its not a 4 or 5 star property and you'd need a map plus your own pillow for comfort! Its fairly average, I've stayed in better but have also stayed in worse. If you get a good deal it would be worth it, otherwise skip it for the more boutique style places along Flinders Lane or Collins Street's amazing hotels.
.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydney_Traveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We had a great stay at the Punthill Manhatten...after scouring the interent for the right accommodation for 5 nights in Aug/Sept I were very happy with the choice of the stylish, warehouse- style apartments which were in a great location in Flinders Lane.
The apartment was spacious and clean. Friendly and helpful service on our check-in providing us with maps and helpful hints in places to visit.
Want to mention - carpets may need some attention.....but this wasn't an issue.
We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise2010-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in October 2010 in a 3 bedroom apartment. Plenty of room for 6 people. The apartment was clean and was serviced with clean towels etc even though we had a short stay. The full kitchen and laundry would be ideal for those staying longer. The bedroom nearest the street was quite noisy both nights. Overall this was a good value option in quite a convenient location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoniOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#70 of 159 in Melbourne
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Property: Punthill Manhattan
Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing