We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #82 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here at the end of March 2012 for a long weekend. Needed a three bedroom place as there were 3 couples staying. Price was reasonable. Asked for all the rooms to be made up as queen beds as two of the bedrooms were set up with single beds. Done without any trouble. Decor is urban warehouse with lots of exposed concrete, but the kitchen and bathroom are nice. Only one very large bathroom in the 3 bedroom apartment, which was a bit of a drawback. Individual bedroom sizes vary quite significantly as well. Beds were extremely comfortable. Everything seemed clean and the kitchen was suitably kitted out if you needed to stay there for an extended period.

Location is good as we could walk everywhere we wanted to go, but the tram line was only a block's walk down the hill. Staff on the reception desk were very helpful, particularly at checkout time as she booked us on the Sky Bus transit bus that collects people from hotels and delivers them to Southern Cross station to catch the Sky Bus to the airport. As we weren't aware of this service, that was great!

Room Tip: Try for a room on a higher level and at the back. Level one at the front was rather noisy in the ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djinn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    202
    40
    7
    7
See reviews for
73
137
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

fab location, we had 2 bedroom and a 3 bedroom apartment so the 5 of us could have a queen bed each. cost is $105 a night each...bargain. clean, bathroom was huge (although spa bath/ shower over was a bit grubby) we had a great view of the MCG, will be bringing my hubby back as he would love that! highly recommended. will be staying again.
i took earplugs, you might need them....i did, as i arrived from london and slept from 11 am for a few hours and heard nothing. my friends in the 3 bed heard a lot of traffic as they faced flinders lane, we did not in 706. beds were brilliant. linen clean. NICE

Room Tip: right by fitzroy park, lovely walk. next door an italian restaurant...great breakfast with a real it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiorakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a rear facing room. We really liked the look of the room - sort of Manhattan loft style, spacious living room and good-sized bathroom (complete with modern washing machine and dryer - excellent!). We arrived pretty early intending to leave our luggage and return at the "official" 2pm check-in time; but the very friendly check-in guy said our room was ready and we were welcome to check in early. This was much appreciated. This hotel has a fantastic location, right in the centre of Melbourne - a pleasant stroll to anywhere in the cbd and very convenient for many of Melbourne's fabulous restaurants and cafes.
Just one gripe - our daughter (aged 17) found the sofa-bed very uncomfortable to sleep on; the mattress was very thin and in need of replacement. Otherwise, an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room level 3 or above and preferably at side or rear of the building - much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebud98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Punthing Manhattan is a great place to stay, in walkng distance to everything we needed to see and do, staff very helpful when needed, room very clean and spacious, had a wonderful time and will be back. Cheers and thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our apartment at Punthill Manhattan on Flinders Lane was excellent. It was spacious, comfortable and very well appointed in all details. The building seems to be a converted warehouse or workshop and the developers have played to that in their renovation. Exposed concrete pillars and beams and cleaned brickwork give a clear hint to the building's past. there are three, two and single bedroom apartments and ours was one of the latter. a good deep space offers adequate space in the bathroom, bedroom and the lounge / kitchen / diner. soetimes the open plan approach to cooking, eating and relaxing space is done to extra facilities out of minimal space but that charge couldn't be justified here. each area almost declares its own space and in no area do you feel crowded. light floods in through the wall width window at one end of the apartment, although the passage of sun dictates that the light blinds need to remain closed to create a pleasing shade.
the kitchen, bedroom and living space are all well equipped. We found the oven to be very good, the microwave and toaster more than adequate and there's a dishwasher to minimise those kitchen hours! Storage space is well thought out and there are quite sufficient utensils and crockery for four, and cookware for a range of options. In the bedroom there'sa generous double wardrobe and there are bedside cabinets either side of the bed. The bathroom has a large mirror wall over the vanity unit and a shower over the bathtub. Water pressure and supply were both excellent. An added bonus in the bathroom is a very useful washer and dryer with clear, precise instructions for optimum performance in both cycles.
Put simply, a couple could easily live in this apartment, and I would feel happy recommending it to a couple with a young family too. Both of our adjacent apartments were occupied during our stay and we never heard any noise from them at all. Excellent value for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caneable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights 23- 26 March excellent location, good facilities and helpful staff would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoneywingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

When 3 ladies want to go away for a girls long weekend/go see a show weekend, it is always difficult to find suitable accommodation. As much as we are BF's we still do not want to share a bed. We stayed at The Punthill Manhatten which is apartment accommodation. Apartment Type TWO BED DELUXE-MANHAT.Q/Q/S/ Location 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne

The apartment was two queen bedded rooms (one ensuited) with a 3rd much smaller room off the living area. We had to draw straws to see who got the smaller room but even though the third person really did draw the short straw, having this separate room and the large living area was still very acceptable. Next trip only two of us will have to draw straws as obviously our friend will be "upgraded" to a larger room.

Being in Flinders Street we were a close walk to transport, shops, Shows.

We can thoroughly recommend this place and look forward to returning for another girlie weekend very soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slenda_Glenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#65 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Property: Punthill Manhattan
Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing