We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #81 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Down a laneway, through a door, up a few stairs, into a very small room for reception, what had I gotten myself into???? A great little place to stay - that's what!! Had a 1st floor apartment with separate bathroom, bedroom and lounge/kitchen. Exposed cement beams and ceiling, funky brickwork, modern furniture, very spacious living area. Central heating/cooling easy to operate. Bathroom large and modern only bad point was shower in the bath setup. Bed was comfortable,queen size. Build in robe, safe in room. Kitchen fully equipped even with a dishwasher!! Great room for couples or singles but would not recommend for family. Staff are friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear jim c

I can only say thank you for such a great endorsement on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased you discovered the 'hidden gem' that is Punthill Manhattan.

Just a quick note to say that if you are travelling with a family we also have 2 & 3 Bedroom Apartment options which have excellent living space and the obvious benefits associated with a fully equipped kitchen.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back at Punthill.....

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    204
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
76
139
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The location of these Apartments in Melbourne is fantastic, you can just walk everywhere, and we did. We parked the car in the car park next door (which is very easy to find) and didn’t take it out for the rest of the stay. The actual Apartments themselves I just loved. The exposed cement beams and brick work, dark carpets, high windows... gorgeous. We had a three bedroom apartment, they face onto Flinders Lane. The bedrooms aren’t overly big, there is only one toilet/bathroom which may be a problem for some, having said that the toilet is separate from the bathroom and the bathroom is huge. The living area was fine, fitted 5 of us comfortably. The only downside is it did get a bit noisy at night, but we expected that, you are in the heart of Melbourne! Foot traffic and noisy folks mainly, having said that it certainly wasn’t an unbearable noise. For the cost, I challenge you to find something as central, nice and cheap anywhere in Melbourne CBD. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear AdelaideMic

Thanks so much for your positive feedback. Sounds like you really made the most of our excellent CBD location and facilities. Don't forget to check our website again for more great accommodation deals next time.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Great situation with closeby access to free tram and city bus, great restaurants, Flinders station and Federation square. Nicely decorated and well resourced for self catering. Very good value. I wouldn't have liked to have to have slept on the sofa bed, and no view from our room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LornaMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear LornaMurray

What can I say..! Thanks for such a wonderful endorsement of Punthill Manhattan.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Manhattan is certainly interesting. The service on arrival was good. Staff were friendly and helpful and our apartment was available even we were there at 9:30am.

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment as we were a group of 3 couples. Having only one bathroom for 3 bedrooms was a let down. However the apartment was spacious and functional and fairly modern, but a bit unusual in that the design called for partly bare concrete walls and ceilings. Just cost cutting in the building finish if you ask me.

We had one door falling off one of the kitchen cupboards and the air-con played up. But the service was excellent and this was promptly fixed (not the door though).

Our biggest complaint was noise. They are located in a noisy part of the city and there was always something going on to wake you up every so often, like trash being emptied, bottles thrown around, noisy revellers etc. Each morning there was a fresh load of chunder either on the footpath near the doorway, or in the doorway itself - nice!

But it was close to everything and there are very good eateries and coffee shops all around. Just a short walk to the mall and other good shopping, trams, the MCG etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_bugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Traveller_bugsy

Our friendly staff do take pride in offering excellent customer service. We appreciate your compliments about our service levels. With regard to the style of the rooms - the bare concrete walls are based on a warehouse style theme in some of the apartments. Not so much a cost saving measure but more of a unique style element. Apologies if your stay was disrupted by street level noise. Its difficult to create a completely sound proof environment in a CBD location however next time you stay with us (we do hope you will!), its possible to request a high floor if this is a concern. Its unfortunate you encountered 'mess' near our doorway created by passing foot traffic. Such unacceptable behavior on the street is impossible to control, but we are vigilant with our housekeeping and attend to these issues immediately.

Thanks for your review.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed for 3 nights here in a one bedroom. Location is great, lots of nice restaurants a few doors away (Chin Chin, Cumulus). Gym in basement was small but sufficient. Apartment had a large living room, but the separator between the bedroom and living room was just a blind - so not practical if you and your partner have different sleep/wake schedules.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Have just stayed for two nights. Very comfortable and well equipped apartment for the price. We had a one bedroom apartment on the second floor and found it very quiet. Don't be put off by the very ordinary look of apartments from the street and very basic foyer and reception. The internal look of the apartment was very attractive and very well equipped. The bed and pillows were soft and comfortable. Bed does tend to have a bit of a hollow in the middle, but was not too bad. Overall made for a good nights sleep. Great location. Close to free tourist tram lots of restaurants and bars and the MCG.
Would not hesitate to stay again. Only hiccup. There is only one lift and my husband and I got stuck in it for twenty minutes till technician came and got it working. Lucky we are not claustrophobic. Made us late to get to a wedding which was a shame.

Room Tip: Second floor was very quiet. If the thought of getting stuck in a lift worries you stay on ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kez1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment following good reviews and pretty photos on the Internet.

PROS: strong & hot shower, washing machine & dryer, fully equipped kitchen, location close to many renowned eateries
CONS: uncomfortable bed with a permanent sag in the middle, limited toiletries, very noisy on the ground floor with no view of anything but a concrete wall, grubby crockery

I definitely would only stay here if your rate is <$140 night, otherwise it's a bit of a rip

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Drsoandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#68 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Property: Punthill Manhattan
Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing