We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Apartment Location & Comfortable”
Review of Punthill Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punthill Manhattan
Ranked #91 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Pros: Small apartment style
Location close to heart of Melb in Paris end of town.
Quiet end of town away from noise.
Parking station next door
Full amenities in kitchen - oven, stove, microwave, large fridge
Separate bathroom with amenities - Clothes Washer / Dryer
Sofa Bed in living room, separate from main bedroom
Great water pressure and always has heaps hot water!
Roomier than typical hotel room

Cons: Steps / entry to hotel
Key access rather than swipe card
Step in/out bath tub/shower - not great for elderly or less mobile people
bathroom showing signs wear & tear - damaged grout and towel rails
Limited toiletries if you like that sort of pampering - ie, not like a 5 star hotel
Sofa bed mattress very uncomfortable
Charges for extra guests - ie/eg, kids get charged extra per night

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear SFX,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We agree that this city centre property is in a great location; so many eateries, shops, theatres and public transport are an easy walk away. All our apartments at Punthill Manhattan - we have one, two and three bedroom apartments - all have full kitchen facilities in them, which many of our guests find extremely useful and also cost effective because they don't have to eat out for every meal if they don't want to!
Sofa beds by their nature are not overly comfortable; if an extra bed is required on your next visit, please request for a single rollaway bed instead, which can be arranged. Hotels do charge for additional guests when extra bedding and linen are required.
We are so pleased that overall you had a good stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spent 4 days at Punthill Manhattan. It was a great stay it was clean and family friendly. Close to everything restaurants and places to see. The only thing pillows were a bit uncomfortable and tv was not in the bedroom which people like to lay in bed and watch a movie!!
But if that was my only complaint I must of had a great stay..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chezzbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Chezzbutt,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit. Next time you stay, please request firmer or softer pillows - whatever you prefer.
We also have another property a few minutes walk away on Flinders Lane (Punthill Flinders Lane @ 267 Flinders Lane, Melbourne), and we do have a second TV in the bedroom of the apartments at this property.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Having lived in New York for over 2 years, this charming stay was a happy Valentine's nostalgic trip down memory lane.

The high ceilings were very welcome, esp for my wife who's slightly claustrophobic. The apartment also comes well-equipped with Americana art pieces and all the standard trappings (yes, for NYkers exposed unpainted brick/concrete is a premium 'feature') including a combi washer-dryer which would've been very welcome in NY, but the plumbing wouldn't have allowed it.

The firedoor entrance & tiny walk up lobby desk is perhaps the only jarring part of the atmospheric experience. But no complaints: at least there's a keyed elevator to save us from dragging our luggage up 3-5 floors. The bed in 303 was also a tad soft & sunken and I should have complained like an ex-NYker, but why spoil an otherwise romantic experience.

All in all, it was a fun stay, with good restaurants, a spa and an arty cinema barely a stone's throw away. Fed sq and the free tourist tram are also close by. If you grab a Melb visitor's book from the lobby, you might even score 2-for-1 tickets! We'll be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank baaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear baaron,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We are delighted that you had such a fun and enjoyable weekend in Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was the worst, booked through sporting company for the Tennis. Arrive , room to ready. You can wait on hard chairs... Oh sorry lift not working, you can wait a while longer or walk up 4 floors with my 73 yr old mum... Go to tennis, lift still not working .. Down four flights, tennis walk was fine good location. Tennis finishes as midnight . Back up four flights of stairs. Poor mum. Room not finished, concrete beams cracks and holes in walls. Sofa lounge broken, had to put mattress onto the floor to sleep., 10 am checkout as per usual, asked for late checkout, extended to 10.30. Beds hard, huge bath to climb into for a shower, once again not good for mum. Overall not happy Jan.

Room Tip: Don't bother, not nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Linda M,
We are so sorry to hear that the property did not meet your expectations. It was incredibly stressful for all concerned that the lift broke down. It was fixed in one day and we are so apologetic.
Of course the apartments are finished. We advertise the property as warehouse style, with exposed concrete, beams and rough plastering in some areas. This is the charm of the property. We will check all sofas and also wonder whether you advised reception as this would have been attended to immediately.
We would love you to consider staying at one of our other city apartment hotels next time you visit Melbourne - Punthill Flinders Lane or Punthill Little Bourke - as they are both different styles and may suit you much better.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

pros
Helpful reception
Spacious and self contained
Modern and airy
IGA within 2min walk, Coles express 10 mins (for self caterers)
Good value for money if you book in advance
Quiet apt located on higher floors away from lift
Walking distance to tennis

cons
Walls a bit thin, you can hear some noise of neighbours
Air con a bit noisy, panel broken
No pool
Housekeeping (cleanliness) not 100% but nothing that bothered us
This is not the Ritz Carlton, don't expect bells and whistles

Overall we would come back. Big thanks to Steven who ran up and down flights of stairs to get us a 6th floor apt, 1 hour before designated check in. He is very accommodating and went to the extra effort to find us a suitable room

Room Tip: For light sleepers, request a room away from the lifts and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear sarah y,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Punthill Manhattan.
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.
We do have a large spa pool located on the same level as our gymnasium, which is open daily for our guests to enjoy.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a great stay, staff were superb , very friendly and helpful, and apartment was very spacious and comfortable and modern, nice modern décor too. Great location for Australian open tennis and shopping .Able to walk to everything. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayhappydaysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Holidayhappydaysl,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Manhattan.
We agree that the location of this city apartment hotel is ideal for shopping til you drop, as well as attending sporting events at Melbourne Park and the MCG in particular.
We are extremely pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and will recommend Punthill too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while watching the Australian Open tennis.
Its a great location. 10-15 min easy walk to the tennis centre, restaurants and convenience stores near by and big comfortable beds.
There were two of us sharing a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment. The aprtment had a fully self contained kitchen with a good sized lounge area and washing facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only downside was we had a room at the back, the only access to which was down two flights of stairs. When you got inside, the only window looked across a pile of dirt to an enclosed car park, but other than that the room was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#75 of 162 in Melbourne
1,114 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#107 of 162 in Melbourne
195 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Manhattan

Address: 57 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £79 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Manhattan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Punthill Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Melbourne
Punt Hill Manhattan Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing