We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend money on food and shopping not your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is Asian based and offers cheap rooms as you are only paying for the room, everything else including towels, TV, internet is extra - but it works as you only pay for what you need.
Good location, comfy beds and good shower make this a great base for exploring Melbourne
Note there is no fridge

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissalclarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi melissalclarson,

Thanks for your review. Glad to hear you have embraced our concept and saved plenty of money for shopping! That's what we like to hear.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Tune Melbourne again soon.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I have nothing but the highest regard for Tune Hotel in Melbourne. Excellent team there. Despite room size, the team and staff there made our stay a wonderful one. Having laundry facilities was a HUGE thing for us as we could lessen amount of clothes to bring. Front line team are always smiling and ever helpful. Would definitely recommend to stay here. For the locality - price was good. Kudos to the team!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank yvonnel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

HI yvonnel444,

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your kind feedback in regards to our team, I will certainly pass it on.

Thanks for choosing Tune Melbourne

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I actually brought my own towel and toiletries as I thought it was not included. But if you book with Expedia the package including internet comes with it. I really really enjoyed my stay. I don't think the leaking shower was a problem at all...i had a towel mat outside the shower and it just soaked it all up....

Room Tip: higher floors seem quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zarina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi zarina a,

Thanks for your kind words about our bed, they certainly are comfortable arent they!

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Fantastic hotel. Modern, hip, great location,clean, great coffee from cafe down stairs.Rooms are small but you dont need big rooms when you have awesome city to explore. Such great value, we will be staying again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceals77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi ceals77,

Thanks for staying with us. Glad to hear you got out to explore lots of Melbourne!

Hope to see you again soon at Tune Melbourne.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Caught the SkyBus to Southern Cross and they offer a free shuttle to selected hotels, including Tune Hotel. I was dropped off just around the corner with another passenger. Easy check in, electronic cards to swipe in, lovely clean modern room. Excellent value and you pay extra for additional stuff that you want but I was happy to get internet thrown in and toiletries too. The tram is just a stone's throw away and it's an easy relaxing walk into the CBD if you want to give the trams a miss. Easy walk to Lygon Street, Queen Victoria Markets, slightly longer walk to Fitzroy / Collingwood but the location is excellent to get to all things in Melbourne. I like the Tune Hotel concept of paying a base price and extra's for stuff you want rather than a room rate for stuff you might not want. Great system.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Shaun D

Thanks for your review. Glad to hear you loved the location and embraced our concept.

Hope to see you again soon.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I had read some reviews which were unfavourable... Why??? This hotel is perfect. The Queen room was a decent size, and OMG oh so comfortable. Best bed I've EVER slept in. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect for my needs and the best thing right around the corner from Lygon St. Not to mention great for the budget. Thank you!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jensolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi JenSolo,

Thanks for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed two of the things we pride ourselves on most, our location and a great nights sleep in our bed!

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here while at a convention for the weekend. A perfect location and the most fantastically comfortable bed Ive ever had in a hotel. Definitely return here when next in town. Only disappointing factor was despite leaving a sign for my room to be serviced it was not.

Room Tip: Ask that your room is serviced as mine was not daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Sarah A,

Thanks for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our beds so great to hear you had a fantastic nights sleep.

In regards to the room cleaning we do't service rooms on Sunday's. We put signage at the front desk mentioning this, so this could be the reason your room wasnt serviced.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 162 in Melbourne
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,189 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel

Address: 609 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Tune Hotel - Melbourne)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £56 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing