We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Located and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street
Ranked #88 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well Located and Clean”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A good little, clean, well located hotel for a bargain price. Tip: try booking direct through the Tune website as opposed to Booking.com. I found they were running a promo on their site and managed to save 40% off booking.com's price (opting not to take add ons, just towels) for our stay.
It was really easy to get around from the centrally located hotel; the airport shuttle will drop you off and pick you up just across the road. Trams into the CBD and beyond stop just 50m from the hotel, or it's a nice quick walk down.
For us, this was a great hotel to stay in because we planned to be out all day and just use the hotel only to sleep, not to hang out. The room was clean, comfy and warm and we slept well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Vida L,

Thanks for your review! Glad you found us at a great price and enjoyed the stay!

Hope to see you at a Tune property soon

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    453
    178
    61
    28
See reviews for
117
362
187
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rutherglen, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The first trick was to find the entrance. Then the there was the issuing of a single towel and one swipe key. Next came trying to work out the entry to the room and how to access power. We consoled ourselves with the fact that we are old! Anyway the towel and swipe key sorted out we settled in. The room was compact but all that was needed for a short stay. The location is excellent and within walking distance of the CBD, Lygon street eateries and Vic markets. Being close to Melb Uni there are many cheap eateries along Swanston street. The Tune is a great choice for a couple. There is a coffee shop, good public areas and laundry. Staff mostly friendly and helpful. We got a great deal through Play Melbourne. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
HI Genevieve O,

Thanks for your review. We only issue one swipe key but we will happily provide a second on request. Your package should have come with 2 towels so I do apologise about that.

Glad you enjoyed the location, it sure is handy!

Hope to see you at Tune Melbourne again soon.

Nathan Copsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location, a short distance from Melbourne's university district. Many cheap food options available within a short walking distance. There is a nice cafe open across the street for breakfast.
I liked the hotel, it is new, and the facilities within the room are new. The price was great per night. I didn't have a good night's sleep, three days in a row, as the room only allowed me to put the air conditioning on between 19-24 degrees. Even at 24 degrees it was too cold, and I could've used another blanket. There was only one power outlet, which was disappointing as I had a few devices i needed to charge. Other than that the shower was hot and the toilet clean. The Wifi was a bit tricky to work out, and the connection not too great inside the room.
I wouldn't stay here again for more than one night. On a cold Melbourne night, the heating needs to be more flexible.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces outward onto the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patasha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi Palagiteine,

Thanks for your review. We have all the rooms set to a standard temperature which you can adjust between, but if you speak to front desk next time we can definitely change that for you.

Regards

Nathan Copsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having arrived in Melbourne at 4am after a 26 hour flight from the UK, I was worried I'd have to hang around in the city centre until 11am or 2pm for a check-in, but for a small fee they let me check-in at 7am! A great and welcome start!

The room was quiet, comfortable and had all the amenities one could wish for in a budget establishment. The shower was lovely, the bed was comfortable, TV was good, and a big bedside table for all your needs.

Basic - yes, but of great comfort.

Stayed for 5 nights while presenting at a conference, and this would be first choice if I came to Melbourne again.

Reasons for 4-star rating instead of 5:

* No housekeeping on a weekend, based on my experience. I put a 'please clean' sign on my door on Friday evening, and by Sunday it was still untouched. This is a minor thing, so 4.5 stars would be accurate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi MWLawson

Thanks for your kind words. Glad we could help you get rested up for your conference.

Your room should have been cleaned on the Saturday, we apologise for that oversight. Rooms are not cleaned on Sunday's however.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you at one of our properties again soon!

Nathan Copsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved staying at the Tune with my partner and 2 kids. Only 2 blocks walk to Melbourne Central Train Station and mall and we were able to walk everywhere. We had a family room which meant we got 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms for the price of one which made our holiday really affordable. Free things like 15 minutes wifi per person per day and free boiling water in the downstairs laundry were a welcome surprise. We took our own towels, soap and coffee cups but they have paper cups if you want to make a tea and have your own teabags. There are also tables downstairs to eat at if you want to eat a picnic lunch or breakfast. There's a Coles supermarket 2 blocks away at Melbourne Central and Lygon street is very close for great Italian food.

Room Tip: Family rooms are good value for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi traveller3212,

Thanks so much for your review! Glad you loved our family rooms, they are very popular! Sounds like you enjoyed our fantastic location as well, thats what we like to hear!

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We made a last minute reservation to Tune Hotel via a package from our local travel agent for 4D3N trip to Melbourne. We arrived way early in the morning after a long flight and straight from the airport we found the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. After the early check in procedure, we received our access card, breakfast voucher and free wifi detail and toiletries bags (Hooray for fresh clean bath towels!)

The room, the bed and the shower were spotlessly nice clean and comfortable. The lights, TV and air dryer, power point were in perfect working order, too. We didn't use the safety box (inside our room) and the laundry (on ground floor), tho.

For our breakfasts, we use our voucher at the small eatery/cafe. We found the staffs are kind and helpful. They have a simple menu such as sandwiches and muffins but they are delicious and suit with our tastebuds. We're also pleased the service the staff provided, especially with my travel mate who's a specific dietary preference. Our only hope in they future they can have more hot food options such as a humble hot soup for the cold winter mornings and fresh fruits.

The location is also a plus. It is really close by to a tram stop, a walking distance to the CBD for sightseeing/food/entertainment/shopping, the Queen Victoria Market, and Lygon Street for shopping, Italian food/cafe and multicultural food options, Woolworths/Woolies supermarket and there's even a KFC nearby on the corner of Grattan Street for emergency/junk food craving option ;).

Overall, it was perfect for us who were travelling light and spent most of our time outside to explore Melbourne! We definitely will come back here for our future stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenkiFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi GenkiFu,

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed our service and facilities!

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Very budget, but clean and comfortable. But plan your arrival to avoid a $22 fee for early check in, otherwise there is a pub on the corner nearby if you would rather spend that on beer while you wait. Found the staff helpful when we did check in. Close to Lyon street if your looking for a late night pizza.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShaunJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanCopsey, General Manager at Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi ShaunJ_10,

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

We do charge for an early check in and late check out. This is obviously optional if you would rather wander the city or enjoy the restaurants and pub nearby as you did!

Hope to see you again soon

Nathan Copsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#111 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street

Property: Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street
Address: 609 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Tune Hotel - Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Melbourne Swanston Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing