We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & close to city attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartments @ Melbourne
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a secure, recently renovated self check in hotel close to shopping, transport, pubs & restaurants. The studio we stayed in for 4 nights is comfortable, clean & well appointed with a small kitchen & laundry. We were pleasantly surprised to find a gym on the ground floor. The building is a beautiful old nineteenth century bank building that is a mix of private & short stay accommodation. This building is surrounded by equally beautiful buildings of the same era. The Melbourne Safe Deposit building opposite is especially stunning. An IGA is right next door. There is nowhere to leave your luggage, if like us you have a late flight, but just around the corner inside Flinders St Train Station you can leave your luggage for the day at Travellers Aid for about $7 for the day. The City Circle tram is an excellent way to gain an overview of the city for free. Hardware Lane is a short walk to a vibrant restaurant precinct or you can walk further (if you are energetic), catch a couple of trams or one of the numerous yellow taxis to Lygon St, Carlton for a much larger variety of restaurants. We can't fault the place so we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Robbbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Just spend 7 nights here and couldn't really fault it. Location was excellent, within walking distance to the CBD and southbank and close to all public transport. Apartment was clean and tidy in a big beautiful building, stayed in a room with a double bed and sofa bed. There is no reception and the front foyer is completely deserted however you are provided with clear instructions before arrival regarding how to access your keys and you have freedom to come and go as you please. Room was cleaned half way through the stay. Would recommend especially for the location.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Mellissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Great stay here. Right in the heart of the city. Apartment was spacious, quiet & newly renovated. Will be back.
IGA next door for anything you have left behind.
Only downside was there is no reception to check suitcases when you leave at 10am & have a late flight!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lsmi2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just like all others reviews of this great lovely heritage building, it is a very interesting and quiet place. No reception and one must have e-mail and understood all instruction of entry and key/code collection. Once we walk in the building and found our room, we were satisfy with our choice. My only complaint was about the car-park location was 2 blocks away and not clearly stayed when I pre-pay for 2 days. Cost was $40 per day, we were visiting our clients for 3 days and have 2 large carry bags that have to drag back and forth, wearing heels at the end of the day became very tired. However I still recommend this place, great location, spacious and comfortable, clean and price is more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

After several pages of check-in instructions emailed prior to arrival, I was a little concerned about finding my way, but was grinning from ear to ear when I walked in the foyer, with grand old architecture in inside the former Bank of Australasia building. Room was as shown on the web, but unfortunately faced the side of a building. Very clean, very comfy, stylish & chic decor. Nicely positioned in the CBD, close to shopping haunts and Flinders Lane to catch the free city circle tram. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Drsoandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Spent two nights here in January 2014. We usually stay in a hotel near the yarra. I have to say this apartment complex is far superior. There is no parking on site but we managed to park our car in a carpark 300 metres away for $7 per day over the weekend. The 1 bedroom apartment was spacious but with limited cooking facilities. No oven and only 2 hobs (one of them extremely small), however we dined out both nights so it didn't affect us. As there is no reception here, the resident manager sms'd the information for checking in. He gave us a pin code to open the gate and then the pin code for opening the letter box which contained out keys. Couldn't be easier. The room was really beautiful, set in an old bank it had lots of character and very high ceilings. you can also open the window in the room. We stayed on the 6th floor and had no noise. would definitely stay here again. There is also an IGA/Bottleshop right next door to the hotel and a few bottle shops nearby. Lots of restaurants, cafes and a couple of bars within 100 metres.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor and our children used the sofa bed, it was really roomy and quiet. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend in December,...The location was great, close to flinders street station, tram stops and lots of shopping outlets. Studio apartment was clean and spacious. Only downfall was that the view from our window wasn't too great but overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,407 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments @ Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments @ Melbourne

Address: 394 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £137 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Apartments @ Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing