We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid range hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good mid range hotel”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Crown Promenade is good given I paid $180 per night. Fast, efficient and friendly check in service, spacious, clean and quiet standard room. The only downside was the bath towels which were small.
Breakfast in Mesh was average but reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,255
    864
    174
    38
    45
See reviews for
378
884
88
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The checkin and checkout were efficent if not overly warm. The room was large and the bathroom was very nice with an oversize shower! the downside was theyt do not supply shower gel for the shower, only a bar of soap! The room was very clean. The hotel is not well located to the business district though and with the bad attitude of the Melbourne cab drivers, expeect a 20 to 25 minute walk. Very good for Southbank and the Convention centre though!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We arrived from England and stayed for 6 days in October . The hotel room was spacious and very comfy. This was useful as we kept a mobility scooter in the room. In particular, the staff in reception were extremely helpful. When we arrived, we asked if we could have a higher level room overlooking the Yarra River and this was sorted out straightaway. We must give a mention to Rubin at the concierge desk who was absolutely fantastic during our stay, as nothing was too much trouble and he was extremely attentive to all our needs.

The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of choice for both the continental and full breakfast.

We only had time to use the swimming pool on one occasion. It has a lovely jacuzzi area which was very good for my wife (as she has walking difficulies) in that she could easily get in or out and it was not too hot.

The hotel is perfectly positioned for sightseeing and is only a few minutes away from the Yarra River where there are plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A vast interlinked complex. The service and our room were excellent. We arrived during Melbourne Cup week and there was lots of glam on show. The Crowne complex has a good variety of restaurants - from world class chefs all the way down to Macdonalds (sorry Macdonalds). There is a huge casino at the heart of the complex and we found it difficult to find a bar for a quiet drink. We dud succeed though - a small wine bar beneath one of the restraints that overlooks the river.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peroni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in November. First time I have arrived at a hotel and no one has taken my cases upstairs. We were just pointed to the lift.
Room was clean small though, no baths in the rooms only showers. Bed was lovely very comfortable and the pillows were like sinking into big marshmallows.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Good location

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I recently stayed at Crown Promenade on 10th floor for 1 night for a business conference at the Crown. I stayed at Crown Metropol on 15th floor for 2 nights before that also for a business conference at the Crown. Either is fine and whilst the Metropol room was a little bigger and the bathroom a little fancier I wouldn’t bother paying the extra for it. The two hotels are no more than 300 or so metres apart (at a guess, it was only a few mins walk, really easy). For full review of Crown Metropol see separate review.

I always find writing a review more difficult where the company I work for has paid for the accoms and food than when I’ve handed over my own cash. I will write this from the perspective of IF I paid for it would I be as impressed…

Check in is on ground, road level. Super friendly and went the extra mile to ensure I understood where all the facilities were (including the conference I was attending in their promenade room).

Need your card type key to access the elevator beyond the first floor. The first floor is where you go across via an internal walkway to get to the casino, village cinema’s, food courts, etc.

The room is average size (a little smaller than Metropol but not enough to worry about) and was also, like the Metropol, extremely quiet and I heard no internal or external noise.

The room was spotlessly clean and the shower glass shone so full credit to the cleaner.

Toiletries nothing special (full of SLS, etc) and certainly not a patch on the beautiful Bliss products at groups like V hotels. Loo paper was VERY cheap kind. Bed was perfect support for me, a great night’s sleep, king size. Good lighting.

Bathroom was roomy enough with a large glassed in shower. Toilet is not separated like at the Metropol. Better lighting in the bathroom here though.

I can’t comment on breakfast as I had to leave very early and didn’t worry about it (but the food supplied on arrival at the Promenade room early in the morning was yummy).

Parking is $18 for 24 hours in the public parking of the casino (but if you leave you have to pay another $18, etc) OR Valet Parking was $30 for 24 hours and valet will collect your car as often as you like within the 24hrs for that one price. I used the valet parking and it was really good.

The room was about $300 a night and whilst I really enjoyed my stay I’ve stayed for a LOT less in other places in Melbourne which have been just as nice and with just as many creature comforts and amenities. The same goes for the Crown Metropol – it was about $350 a night; again lovely but expensive when compared to other equally nice, cheaper places.

Based on both experiences I'd perhaps choose the Promenade over the Metropol even though it is billed as 4 star & Metropol as 5 star. Promenade staff seemed to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, General Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks for detailed feedback about your recent stay at the Crown Promenade Melbourne, it was pleasing to read that you enjoyable time with us. Our Team will appreciate that you found them to be “Super friendly and went the extra mile”, as they are always striving to exceed our guest expectations. Our Housekeeping Team will also appreciate your kind words that the “room was spotlessly clean and the shower glass shone” as they work tirelessly to ensure the room cleanliness and presentation standards are maintained.

Thanks again for the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was my first time at the Crown Promenade, I usually stay at Crown Metropol, but due to several conferences happening at the time of travel, it was booked out. Upon entering the room, I began to draw comparisons with Metropol. The room, albeit well appointed and comfortable had a "cheap" feel to it. The cheap plastic alarm clock and the rough cotton bathrobe left me feeling a little let down. Having said that, the service and staff were excellent - something you would expect from the Crown portfolio of hotels. Location wise, it's fantastic. Right in the heart of Southbank and 10 minutes walk away from the DFO at Southwharf or the city centre. All in all, I found Crown Promenade to be a comfortable, clean and central place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,765 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,261 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 159 in Melbourne
1,437 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Property: Crown Promenade Melbourne
Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing