We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Ranked #27 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Sevice has always been great at this hotel. We have stayed here on a couple of occasions for weekend getaways as it's central location on Southbank is handy. Unfortunately on our last stay, a bottle of perfume (almost new) went missing from our room. When we realised it was gone we reported this to the hotel. Their response was standard and nothing was done to resolve the issue.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packedbags2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M, Manager at Crown Promenade Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience whilst staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations whilst staying with us and please contact us at your earliest convenience to discuss the points you raised in more detail on 9292-8160.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,465)
There are newer reviews for Crown Promenade Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here on a business trip. This is a large hotel, centrally located on the South Bank, within walking distance of many restaurants etc. It is part of the Crown complex, which includes a Casino and shopping precinct. The room was very good, bed comfortable and the shower was excellent. The internet is good if you choose the high speed premium option. The rooms are modern and the room included a day bed in the window alcove. The breakfasts seemed expensive, but there are shops and cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Higher up is better
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have just returned from an Easter break in Melbourne. Check in was smooth and very friendly. We were most appreciative to be checked in at 10am as we had been caught in a heavy shower of rain whilst walking to the hotel.
We fully expected to check in our bags and then head out for some hours until check in time.
Thank you so much...we were drenched.
Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed with a nice view towards the city.
Room service was very efficient. Yummy food well presented with fries accompanying our meal being super hot. First time this has ever happened. It's only a small thing but it just adds to the great service that we experienced at this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms facing the city have better view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StormgirlA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband & I have stayed at Crown Promenade a fee times & have thoroughly enjoyed every stay. The staff at reception are very helpful & professional, clean & modern furnished rooms, walking distance to many attractions in Melbourne. Looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJSSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at Crown Promenade over Easter. The woman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. Our room on the 19th floor was very spacious and had fantastic views over the river and city. Very conveniently located to the casino via an air bridge, but also an easy walk to the main shopping centre, tram, trains etc. and the Southbank restaurants. There is only one thing that I could fault and that was the time it took to make up the room. We left the room at approx. 9am on both mornings and when we came back to the room at about 3.30pm the room still hadn't been done. It was very inconvenient as we wanted to shower and change and be gone again, but had to wait for the housekeeper to make up the room. I am still going to give this hotel five stars though because I put the slow housekeeping down to a shortage of staff over Easter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetuniaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A fantastic hotel! Alternative to the busy crown towers across the road and the Metropol. First class service and everything is not a problem. It was so good to go to your room without the crowds and just relax. A short walk to all the restaurants or catching the tram to St Kilda. Every staff goes the extra mile to ensure your stay is the best possible. So pleased we chose this hotel on a deal.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just a single night- 26th anniversary, Check-in staff, paid attention to the booking, and cheerfully offered a complimentary bottle of champagne and some chocolates. So it pays to add this kind of detail to your booking!.

Room was very well appointed and the check-in staff also ensured we had a city view. We choose the hotel, as we had a booking for the Colonial Tramcar restaurant, and it is a few minutes walk from the front of the hotel. Very pleasant stay - would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sneferu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
3,880 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,373 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 160 in Melbourne
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,636 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
1,110 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#20 of 160 in Melbourne
3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Promenade Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Promenade Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £134 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Promenade Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, award-winning and thoroughly modern, Melbourne's Crown Promenade offers you a fresh perspective on how good a hotel can be. Located in the heart of the action - Melbourne's vibrant Southbank entertainment precinct and directly linked to the exciting Crown Entertainment Complex, Crown Promenade is also close to the CBD, the Melbourne Exhibition Centre and the city's most famous arts and sporting facilities. Eat and drink in style at Mesh restaurant or Tonic Bar, relax by the pool or take a walk to the 24 hour action of Melbourne's Crown Entertainment Complex. Sleep, eat, work or play - you can do it all in style at Crown Promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Promenade Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown Promenade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing